We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Legends at Steps

Legends at Steps
Ranked #43 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Legends at Steps Restaurant is owned and run by husband and wife team Gordon and Jo McCrindle. Gordon and Jo have been running "Legends" for over 12 years. Gordon is the chef who specializes in cooking mouth watering steaks. He has an expertise in homemade sauces to go with the steaks ranging from "au piovre to rossini, and his very own blackbean sauce". All of Gordons dishes are cooked fresh to order and Gordon takes pride in every dish that he cooks. All dishes are accompanied by Fresh vegetables and potatoes. The menu is varied and lots of choices other than steaks. Jo, works front of house and will greet you like a friend or family member. She can answer all of your questions regarding the food and restaurant, and works along side some lovely friendly waitresses. The restaurant itself is divided into to two areas, a bar area and main restaurant area. The bar area is a small but intimate space, a nice area for couples, and the main area can cater up to 26. Candle lit and cosy this restaurant is a lovely place to go for romantic meals or with friends.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We were dining the same evening as this party of six. We were close enough to hear the response to their complaint,which wasn't voiced until they received their bill. They were told if they had commented at time,the steak would have been replaced. They were offered a very generous discount which was accepted. In our opinion the situation was dealt with professionally and with discretion. At no point was anyone rude or abusive to anyone in this party.
Well done legends.
Amazing steak.
Amazing service.
We will be back.
See you soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo M, joint owner at Legends at Steps, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your comments, and look forward to seeing you again soon, with kind regards Gordon and Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    93
    27
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst ever steak I've been served”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife organised a well deserved meal out with our friends (6 of us in total), we've been told that the old legends was the place to eat. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely young lady that was happy to see us and sat us down and took our order. When the starters came out they were average and edible, we then came to the mains which 5 of us had steaks and 1 of us had a roared lamb dish. The steaks weren't edible no matter how we tried to cut then let alone eat the they resembled rubber. Crispy on the outside but red and bleeding on the inside. I ate 1 small bite thinking it was no good and like you do tried another which after a good two mins of chewing I had to give up and spit it back out which was the same story as the the other 4 steaks, the toasted lamb dish was burnt on the outside like the steaks and again chewy on the inside ( I've had better kebabs). We pulled the waitress to one side and asked quietly to speak to the chef which she went off to get, we were the greeted by the other waitress who turned out to be the wife of the chef. We quietly spoke making her aware of our uneaten food and why only to be told that there was no way that the food was that bad as her husband has cooked steaks for 30 years and we were obviously liars and looking for a free meal. We pointed out if we wanted a free meal we would of eaten the food ! She was rude and abusive and turned the situation into a loud augment when we just wanted to pay and leave. We ended up apologising to the other customers for her attitude and language after being threatened to call the police in us. In short if I hadn't eaten for a week and they were paying people to go in and eat I would rather starve than waste any more of my life in there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo M, joint owner at Legends at Steps, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Well I am absolutely flabbergasted at this review to say the least! To be honest i was very worried about your party on entering our premises. You were all loud and ostentatious to say the least, and if wasn't for the fact that you had a booked i might not of served you. On sitting down you made remarks about your waitresses weight, and asked her question after question about the menu as if trying to catch her out and to make fun of her.
You were served your starters and main course and the waitress asked on both occasions was everything alright with your food, to which you all said was fine. Only when she was clearing your plates did you voice your opinion on the steaks. At this point the waitress felt it was better if i dealt with the situation. I asked you all what the issues were and you said ALL the steaks were chewy and inedible. Now, you all had different steaks..t-bone rump and sirloin...so you can understand our confusion when we had been a very busy restaurant that night and had no other complaints about any of the steaks. Anyway during our conversation i had said i wished you had voiced your concerns during your meal and we would of been able to rectify any problems to which i got a shrug! You also said during our conversation that you just wanted us to know the problems and said you did not want discount of any sort. I then voiced your concerns to the chef/joint owner and between us we decided to take some money off your bill as a gesture of good will. Some 5 minutes later i was asked to come to the table again as this in your eyes was not good enough and you all wanted more off your bill..even though 5 minutes earlier you had said you didn't want anything at all! You even suggested leaving your name and address so it could be dealt with by the courts!...I can honestly say in 12 years of running Legends we have never come across any customers like you. And being in the license trade yourself, landlord of a well known public house in Barton you would think you would know how to behave! Oh, and by the way, can you give us back the napkin ring somebody from your table stole?!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Yet again another fantastic night, great food in a lovely environment with superb service.
Thank you for making our birthday dinner so special.
See you again soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staff got my booking wrong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Im a regular customer at this restaurant and booked in advance for saturday night even had a phone call to confirm my booking for seven oclock for four people to then arrive and be told it was booked in for seven thirty for two people.The staff made this mistake as they put the booking in wrong and would do nothing to rectify this mess up and we was told we could have a table for just over a hour which would have been impossible to order and eat a 3 course meal and relax with a bottle of wine. We had baby sitters and paid for a taxi down im not impressed and unfortunately will now not return the place also smelt musty not a nice smell when you want to eat.I am not usually one to moan and expected more from the staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo M, joint owner at Legends at Steps, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I felt i had to reply to this inaccurate review. It was me that took the booking over the telephone, and i'm not going to say i don't make mistakes, because every human being does. But i do believe this was not an error on our part. To not only get the amount of people wrong but also the time, does not seem like something i would do. We have our diary in front of us when you phone the restaurant so your details would of been wrote down immediately. However, when you did arrive at 7pm rather than half past, with two more guests, the waitress did her upmost to help you. She politely informed you that we were unfortunately fully booked that evening so it was impossible to change your table from a table of two to four. She offered you a table that was available until 8.30..which would of given you one and a half hours, not one hour as you stated. We feel this would of given you enough time to enjoy a meal with friends. I am very sad to read that you are regular customers yet still decided to review us on one bad experience.
Also the restaurant is cleaned every single day so for it to smell of anything but food is beyond me. I have spoken to the staff and they are absolutely mortified as they felt they went out of their way to rectify this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WoW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Husband fancied a steak and this Bistro came up on internet - What can I say! Fabulous meals - steak done to husbands taste which he enjoyed with selection of potatoes/vegetables. We had a 3 course meal for £16.95 and was not ripped off for wine! Would definitely go there again - amazing atmosphere! Really nice staff!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolf092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends at Steps also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Legends at Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing