We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As Original Legends”
Review of Legends at Steps

Legends at Steps
Ranked #33 of 357 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Legends at Steps Restaurant is owned and run by husband and wife team Gordon and Jo McCrindle. Gordon and Jo have been running "Legends" for over 12 years. Gordon is the chef who specializes in cooking mouth watering steaks. He has an expertise in homemade sauces to go with the steaks ranging from "au piovre to rossini, and his very own blackbean sauce". All of Gordons dishes are cooked fresh to order and Gordon takes pride in every dish that he cooks. All dishes are accompanied by Fresh vegetables and potatoes. The menu is varied and lots of choices other than steaks. Jo, works front of house and will greet you like a friend or family member. She can answer all of your questions regarding the food and restaurant, and works along side some lovely friendly waitresses. The restaurant itself is divided into to two areas, a bar area and main restaurant area. The bar area is a small but intimate space, a nice area for couples, and the main area can cater up to 26. Candle lit and cosy this restaurant is a lovely place to go for romantic meals or with friends.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked a table for Wed 9th Oct 2013 for my wifes birthday.I ordered two starters two main meals 0ne small bottle beer and one small wine. Cost £50.00.
First impressions was the menu not as extensive as original Legends as for starters I wanted Piri Piri King Prawns ( not available ) and the main menu was a lot smaller.
The food itself was very good with large portions served by a pleasant waitress.All in all much prefered the original Legends and not sure if I would return to Stepps.

John & Sue

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suej0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo M, joint owner at Legends at Steps, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

I'm really sorry you didn't find what you were looking for on our menu. We have indeed taken two main courses off our menu from the "old" Legends, but we have added two more. And i'm sorry you couldn't find king prawn piri piri, we have still got it on the menu i think maybe it's just worded differently. If you feel you would like to try us again, and we hope you do, and you don't find what you need from our menu if you ask our waitress she will do her upmost to help you...if we have the ingredients in the kitchen we will make it for you.
We have altered the menu very slightly, and kept the most popular dishes on, simply as we have a smaller kitchen, and to keep food as fresh as possible. we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

281 - 285 of 680 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am a local businesswoman. Three friends and myself went there last month for a birthday celebration. We booked for 6pm. A board outside was advertising 8oz rump steaks at a special price. Three of us decided we would order the special rump. When we ordered we were told that they were out of rump steaks but offered us sirloin for the same price. We took up the offer. When the meals arrived, the parsnips had to go back because they were so hard we could not cut into them, they were microwaved and returned. 2 out of 3 of the steaks were too chewy and fatty to be sirloin so a large proportion was inedible. When we told the waitress she said she would tell the chef. No comments came back from the kitchen.
The sweet board arrived, we chose not to have any but a lemonade without ice was ordered which was served warm and flat. When we complained we were told that if we had wanted ice it would have been ok - Really?
I asked for the bill which came to £74.55 (we had 2 bottles of wine). I told them I was only prepared to pay £50 because of the poor food. I left £50 cash on the counter and was about to leave when the manageress/proprietress tried to rip the bill out of my hands and said she would not let us leave until we had paid in full. She launched into verbal abuse, in front of other diners in her restaurant, saying that Devonians were all the same and out to get something for nothing and that we do it all the time. She targeted one of my friends saying she remembered her from being in her previous restaurant in Torwood Street and accused her of causing trouble then. In fact, my friend had never ever been in that restaurant. Her rantings did not end there, when we were outside of the restaurant she tried to block the path of my 82yr old friend saying she would not let her go until she gave her name and address. All this in front of other diners and as we walked along Fleet Street she followed us hurling abuse. How very unprofessional!!!! Oh! and very sticky tables. Don't waste your money. Don't go there.

3  Thank Bernice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 11, 2013

I feel i must respond to this review so we can tell our future customers our side of this story.
Firstly you were asked by your waitress was everything ok with your meals and you mentioned nothing about the steaks to her. Nor do we have any recollection of parsnips being returned to "go in the microwave"..in fact when the waitress checked on you, your only communication was to ask for more vegetable.
However when she did clear your plates it was only then that you said your steaks were poor. The waitress passed on your complaints to chef/owner but there wasn't a lot we could do as you had all eaten the steaks. If you had voiced your concerns to the waitress when she checked on you we would definately of offered to change your steak or given you money off, but to eat everything then complain doesn't seem fair.
The lemonade you ordered was asked for without ice as you said you were adding to your wine...the pinot grigio bottle which you said was too dry although it was your second bottle.
Our tables are cleaned thoroughly after every sitting, so there is no way they could be "sticky".
Yes of course this angered the management when you strongly marched up to the bar in an intimidating manner, and throw £50.00 on the counter!..(a 25% reduction) But to say we abused you is utterly outrageous!
It seemed to us and other customers who were in the restaurant-one of whom was a retired policeman that your intentions were dishonorable from the on set.
This review is not only unfair but very inaccurate.
We are just glad that we have a very loyal following and good reputation in Torquay with customers who appreciate good food and service, and we will continue to try our very best.
With Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having had a number of great meals at this small cozy restaurant over the years , we were looking forward to another on our 3rd visit to Torquay this year. We found that the ownership had changed hands since our last visit and to our dismay the experience had also changed.
We booked a table on their last night before they closed for a week in september and maybe that was part of the reason for the disappointing experience.
Upon arrival the restaurant was just about full and we were shown to our table and given the menu which was different from the offerings of the previous proprietor.
The waitress seemed extremely busy but rather disorganised rushing to and fro and serving the diners in a jumbled adhoc manner.
An uninspiring menu we tempered with the fact that we had really enjoyed our previous experiences here so we continued with our order.
Two soft drinks plus a beer were ordered and we had to return the soft drinks as they were poured from nearly empty plastic supermarket bottles and were flat. The replacement were hardly better. Why restaurants cant supply coke from a proper glass bottle or at least a can with ice and lemon is beyond me. And the 60p supermarket plastic bottle certainly earned a huge margin for the restaurant but a bad impression in the end.
Steaks were of good quality and cooked as asked but the vegetables were ghastly. It seemed that the oven fries were still hard as were the brocolli and other veg very under cooked.
Whilst waiting for the bill, a comedy act ensued with another table who were a party of 6/7 who were trying to pay their bill by cash and splitting it to individual amounts.
The waitress could not do simple maths namely add or subtract and to cap it all they had no change in the till. Surely the restaurant must realize that not everyone pays by card?
All in all a very limp experience summed up by the very limp dead rose that was on its own in a small glass vase on our table and in a similar state to all the others in the restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hakanfan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not only was the steak good but also the vegetables (beans, parsnips & broccoli and a choice of potatoes), good sized portions. Popular restaurant, so if not booked in advance go when first opens at 6pm

Thank mag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a great time there. Nice place and view. Perfect service. Relaxing atmosphere and music. And, of course, delicious meal. Recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends at Steps also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera

Been to Legends at Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing