We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what is that smell!”
Review of Exmouth View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmouth View Hotel
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“what is that smell!”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

went on a coach trip with husband and 16 year old daughter. The hotel looked shabby from outside but wasnt too bothered,wanted to see our room! Milka met us at the door and told us our room number,as we walked into the hotel hall the smell hit us immediately,in fact it made me gag. We went upstairs to our room which was in fact a great size but the decor and bathroom let it down somewhat! to have a shower we had to hold the shower to stop the water flooding the very tiny bathroom which would have then wet the carpet to the room,the shower curtain had been cut in half so didnt reach round the shower! we coped just! meals were okay,not much choice and very stodgy but breakfast was quite good. however the foul smell took our breaths everytime we went down the stairs I imagined it to be the fusty,mouldy smell of the rooms which need a complete refurbishment but it certainly is offputting,the owners try to mask the smell with airfreshners but nothing can mask that smell,we held our noses each time we went downstairs! be warned!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at the Exmouth View and hopefully we shall return again next year.Milka and David cannot do enough to make sure you have a good holiday,they will book tickets for the theatre and if you are not very mobile they will take you there in the car, this is good service and much appreciated. The hotel is very clean and the food good and plentiful. The staff are very friendly and are only too pleased to help with any request. We would recomend the hotel to any one who wishes to stay in Babbacombe, and indeed we have already done so. The hotel is on Babbacombe Downs and 20 metres from a bus stop to take you into Torquay and then onto Paignton and Brixham. If you wish to walk it is a few minutes to the Model village, Bygone Days, The Cliff Railway and the village of St. Marychurch. See you next year! Just for David UP THE BLADES.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Hotel very close to Babbacombe Downs, sea view from the dining room & off road parking. Decor very 1980s & some decorating needed. But rooms clean & cheap - £40 for a single in the Bank holiday week. But best of all is the service - very friendly & fab breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The hotel is very well located and the staff is very nice.
However, I would not recommand it because the room and the bathroom were old and a bit dirty. The breakfast could be improved.
Private Parking

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank F_and_L_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

took a group of 49 recycled teenagers to the hotel and had a great time. milka and david are the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble.service at meal times was excellent their system works well.anyone who has been and had a moan really ought to stay at home they are obviously proffesional moaners. it is ideally situated as well,for the downs or for buses.milka next time we come i will make sure you have front row seat for the entertainment you missed.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tingtong37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We were a group of over 30 German adults who have been away for a week together every year for the last 5. This was about the best holiday of them all, everything just went off wonderfully. Dave and Milka are super hosts, can´t do enough for you and changed times of meals to suit our own plans! Even a 4 a.m. breakfast was no problem!!Extremely helpful and always happy :-) with a great sense of humour.
The rooms were all different but most of the group were satisfied. The food was great and all the staff very friendly. We can thoroughly recommend the hotel and we will try and come back again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel with my partner. We didnt expect it to be top class but our room was disgusting. One yellow sheet one blue one and flowered pillowcases, and the bed itself was ready for the tip. To add to this there was one single wardrobe no dressing table, no shelf in the bathroom so nowhere to put anything. To top it all there were three widths of wallpaper hanging off the wall.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tilly060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExmouthView, Owner at Exmouth View Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
We are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel.
The colour scheme of Blue & Yellow, although not to your liking, is the colour scheme also adopted by Torquay as a whole. (please see the council logos, football team etc..)
Unfortunately, while you were staying, you did not give us the opportunity to address any of your concerns, although on arrival you were advised, along with the rest of the group, to let us know if you were not satisfied with anything.
We endeavour to please our guests and help them to enjoy their holiday. Unfortunately, we only managed to do this for 49 guests out of the 51 on this tour.
I do hope that in the future, if you have concerns when stopping elsewhere, you give the owners / management the opportunity to resolve your issues prior to your leaving unnecessary negative feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
794 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmouth View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmouth View Hotel

Property: Exmouth View Hotel
Address: St. Albans Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind on your holidays in a relaxing atmosphere in our family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Exmouth View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmouth View Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing