We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab afternoon tea as always”

Restaurant at Orestone Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Orestone Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 347 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant at Orestone Manor is set in a lovely Georgian building with views over the gardens and sea beyond. We offer informative, efficient,friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. We offer a Fine dining and Set price menu as well as Light bites, Lunch, Afternoon Teas and Sunday roast Lunch options, using the best quality locally sourced ingredients. The new Brunel Lounge Bar is fully stocked and we specialize in Cocktails Most of all Friendly and Helpful Staff. Family run.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fab afternoon tea as always”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tea on the terrace in the sun shine. Cakes to die for, the best scones ever, understated but perfect service. It's such good value and truly scrumptious. Perfect. We had cocktails too

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniemop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    39
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Dined five nights in a row and enjoyed every single sitting. Can't say that about many places. Wine, food and service superb.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chillseeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Port & Starboard Club Titanic Evening”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

On Friday 28 February we held our Chairmans Dinner at Orestone Manor. The Port & Starboard Club is a "gentlemens supper club" with a nautical background and is based in Teignmouth. Members share a love of good food, fine wines and excellent company and meet regularly to dine together. It is fair to say that the members are quite exacting in their standards.
I booked Orestone Manor following recommendations and local research and had an idea that a 9 course menu based on that served to First Class passengers on the Titanic would be quite fitting. I discussed this with the Orestone team who entered into the spirit of things and produced a brilliant menu.
Our evening was superb in every way. The food was excellent - well presented and of great quality, the staff were friendly and attentive and the atmosphere (including background music from the era ) was very enjoyable.
Feedback from members has been 100% positive and I have no reservations whatsoever in heartily recommending this establishment.
Clive Stephens
Chairman
The Port & Starboard Club

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orestone, Owner at Restaurant at Orestone Manor, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your Review and for taking the time to write one. As you may appreciate with Restaurant food and service there are so many little things that can go wrong so its really great to hear that our efforts to give our guests a trouble free experience have been appreciated, Especially
considering we may have been inviting trouble with the Titanic Theme! We enjoyed the experience of putting it on.
From the crew at (HMS) Orestone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers Dinner Evening”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

6 of us went to the Fawlty Towers evening which was really good. Great location, great service,very good food (especially as entertainment was the main theme) and the actors playing the Fawlty Towers team were really good.We all enjoyed it and judging from the laughter so did everyone else.
The Orestone Manor have provided us a brilliant venue every time we have wanted a good evening/celebration or just a great Sunday lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank issyTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orestone, Owner at Restaurant at Orestone Manor, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, The Fawlty Towers evenings are great fun, and we love to work those evenings and as you say the laughter suggests everyone has a great time. Moonstone Theater company are a great team who put it on for us, we even had a real life Proposal of Marriage during the evening. I think most thought it part of the act!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We're regular diners at Orestone Manor, though this was our first new year's eve event. The effort the team put into the decoration and design (Russian winter theme) was imaginative (fire burners and blocks of ice with a red carpet in the approach to the entrance; candle light throughout the venue; drapes and decorations and a dash of Doctor Zhivago too....) Most impressive was the friendly and professional service. The consistent quality of the food and service are Orestone's strongest points, though the location and cleanliness of the hotel and restaurant is excellent too. All together, a lovely event, well priced. If only other venues in the area could come anywhere near the Orestone in terms of food and service... Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomedenvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Orestone Manor also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Restaurant at Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing