We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully presented”
Review of The Elephant

The Elephant
Reserve with TopTable
The Elephant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 360 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Elephant is a bright, informal restaurant which overlooks the beautiful Torbay harbour. It was the first restaurant in Torquay to be awarded a Michelin star which it maintains today. We aim to source all our ingredients locally and sustainably, many from our dedicated farm in Brixham. Please feel free to ask our front of house team about anything you are unsure of. Run by chef proprietor, Simon Hulstone and his wife Katy. Food is cooked by a talented team of chefs and served by friendly, professional team of staff. Diners can enjoy a delicious à la carte menu and set menus featuring local and sustainable fish, meat and vegetables, sourced from the surrounding area, in an informal and attractive setting. For an extra special culinary treat opt for the tasting menu. Expect friendly and knowledegable service without the formalities. All our dishes change regularly depending on which locally grown and reared (many sourced from our dedicated farm) ingredients are at their best.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

The staff were all very friendly and the food was beautifully presented. The wine list was good. Overall a good meal.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuxuriousNomad_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Thank You

look forward to seeing you again soon

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2017

I'm rating The Elephant a strong 4.5 out of 5, so very good indeed but not quite excellent.

The menu, food and quality of the wine was top-drawer, The cost is appropriate to the quality so expect to pay a fairy large amount for an evening out - We had a starter and main each and then shared a desert. I had a couple of drinks but my wife was driving so only had a soft drink and the bill came to around £125.

The service was mixed, insomuch as it could have been a little better in the restaurant. We didn't have a dedicated waiter/waitress which would have improved things I think, as we weren't checked upon in good time for any course. One of the waitresses had her nose in the air too which made us feel a little uncomfortable. That said, they noted my wife's allergies from the booking so were aware of them on the evening which was good.

The selection of wine was very good but the beer was limited to a couple of naff foreign lagers. I think that top restaurants are really missing a trick in only concentrating on the wine list. They should be offering at least a couple of decent bottled beers, such as craft lagers and ales and be able to recommended these to complement the meal. The quality of the ingredients and skillful preparation was however exceptional and shone though in all courses.

Overall the experience was great and I'm just being picky and making recommendations for improvement. We would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write and I take your comments back to the team. I can reply on the beers though and we don't just have foreign we have Bays brewery which is 2 miles up the road from us , we also have
Bays gold - Ale - paignton
Devon coast - Ale - Teignmouth
devon rock - Lager - paignton
orchard pig - cider - Glastonbury
windfall cider - paignton
Red rock - pale ale - Teignmouth

we also have Peroni and Budvaar

hope to see you all again soon

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere. Friendly staff. We had the tasting menu. The food was cooked and presented beautifully. All locally sourced. Will definitely return. One thing I'd change is that I'm not the designated driver so I can enjoy the wine that was paired with the menu!!

Thank Charlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Thank You for taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

What a terrific meal we had here last night, it wasn't cheap but the food was cooked really well and it was packed with gorgeous flavours? All served with a smile, nothing was too much trouble.

Thank wdfndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

Many thanks for a lovely evening . We are local and have wanted to try this place for a while. It's just a too long taxi ride from home and the prospect of staying in Torquay was daunting . Any way we did it we stayed in the imperial which is just a short walk away from this amazing eatery. Our stay at the hotel was terrible but the elephant made up for that.

We had the tasting menu and every single course was divine. . We will definitely be back soon and we are just looking at your site to see when you have the chefs in hosting. We will need to stay again so if
You can recommend some where to stay that would be a bonus

Thank barnicleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing