We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Judge for yourself !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant

The Elephant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Elephant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Elephant is a bright, informal restaurant which overlooks the beautiful Torbay harbour. It was the first restaurant in Torquay to be awarded a Michelin star which it maintains today. We aim to source all our ingredients locally and sustainably, many from our dedicated farm in Brixham. Please feel free to ask our front of house team about anything you are unsure of. Run by chef proprietor, Simon Hulstone and his wife Katy. Food is cooked by a talented team of chefs and served by friendly, professional team of staff. Diners can enjoy a delicious à la carte menu and set menus featuring local and sustainable fish, meat and vegetables, sourced from the surrounding area, in an informal and attractive setting. For an extra special culinary treat opt for the tasting menu. Expect friendly and knowledegable service without the formalities. All our dishes change regularly depending on which locally grown and reared (many sourced from our dedicated farm) ingredients are at their best.
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
196 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Judge for yourself !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Just read the review titled "poor food" I have eaten at the Elephant on many occasions and this review is just vindictive rubbish which I hope trip advisor will remove. Why would anybody even consider ordering hot milk in a restaurant of such calibre. And if you don't complain at the time please don't come on this site with such vitriol . All I can say is read the other reviews about the Elephant and try it for yourself. You might well find poor food in and around Torquay but you certainly won't at this establishment

Helpful?
1 Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Many thanks for your contribution, Everybody has their opinion and expectations and we cant always match all of them but we are always happy to listen to comments if they are constructive just sometimes I wish guests could bring it too our attention whilst on site (if they ever were)

Many thanks

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    176
    62
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has to be one of the best restaurants in the bay. It caters for everyone needs. Fine dining, good service, lovely menu. I will be returning :)

Helpful?
Thank Best_things1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
And we look forward to welcoming you again.
Many thanks

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fine-Dining and Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We decided to try the lunch time, 3-course set menu for November. It was fine-dining quality with first class service in a relaxed atmosphere - all for £12.50 per head. The starter in particular displayed the chef's creativity and skill, while all the food was a joy to eat. It is a relief when you are celebrating (birthday on this occasion) and the restaurant manages to live up to its good reputation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thankyou for visiting us and choosing to celebrate your birthday here. Hope we dont have to wait till next year to see you again.

Kind regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were told this restaurant had a MIchelin star, I do not know why!

A poor menu, with many substitutions, strange combinations of,for me , unedible food, so hungry I ordered hot milk at the end of the sorry evening and luckily the cab driver found a shop selling chocolate so I didn't have to go to bed on an empty stomach!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Owner at The Elephant, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thankyou, we would be really interested to know , when you dined ? what you ate ? and in which restaurant you dined in (our Michelin starrred restaurant closed for the season on the 10th of october ) ? Why was nt your grievances bought to our attention when you were on site so we could sort them for you ? And why would milk fill you up ?
Our Michelin starred restaurant only serves a set 10 course tasting menu so there would of been no substituitions !! We are confused by your review. But then you also review streets so obviously you have way to much time on your hands. Just enjoy yourself and step away from the PC .

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We live in Torquay and have often passed The Elephant and wondered what it was like. So we decided to "give it a go! Well so glad we did, it is slightly more expensive than the normal fare on offer in Torquay. But the service, presentation and of course the food was excellent, we went mid-week, even then it was busy. If you ever find yourself in Torquay for whatever reason, and you want a exceptional meal, do not hesitate make your way to the Elephant Resturant. You will not be dissapointed !!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank respond2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElephantRestaurant, Manager at The Elephant, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Very happy that you decided to give us a go. We hope to see more of you in the future.

Kind regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing