We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With improvements could be a good hotel”
Review of The Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Regina Hotel
Ranked #51 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for seven nights on an Alfa break. Booked two rooms. One room had brilliant views across the harbour and beyond and as a consequence was bright and sunny, the other overlooked walls, scaffolding and therefore was claustrophobic, miserable and dark. This great contrast typifies this hotel. Some features are good, other features are poor.

Let's be positive and start with the good features. The location is first rate, being next to the harbour, adjacent to the shops and handy for all Torquay's wonderful attractions. The staff are first rate, they try hard to ensure that visitors are welcome and that their service is polite and thoughtful. Our waitress Ludi (one of identical twins at the hotel) was brilliant. She successfully remembered our breakfast order from day one and served us superbly. The lounge is most pleasant and is bright, airy and well located. The beds were comfortable. There is entertainment of an acceptable standard on four or five nights.

However, thought needs to be made by the LeisurePlex management into major improvements to ensure that the Regina fulfils its commitment to provide the best for all its visitors.

Internally the decoration is tired. Corridors are particularly in need of attention. The sun terrace is dreadful, with dead plants, litter and cigarette ends dumped in forlorn plant pots. Mould had been allowed to become embedded in the edging of our ensuite shower.

The practice of having an exact set time for breakfast (some days ours was an amazingly early 8.00 a.m.) and evening meal (ours was 6.00 p.m.) is outdated and needs to be reviewed. Despite the good service, the quality of some of the food served left a lot to be desired. The breakfast sausage were appalling, a low quality budget brand, the bacon was only slightly better - one thin fatty rasher. The coffee was horrible - again a cheap brand. Evening meals were once again politely and courteously served - but the quality and quantity of food was poor. Small portions of low quality convenience food is the order of the day. Starters lacked not only lustre but also generosity in portion size. This theme continued with the main course. Two potatoes and a quantity of frozen veg accompanied a small serving of meat or fish. Sweets were likewise uninspiring and did not match the optimistic menu descriptions. The rice pudding was particularly obnoxious. The best choice is to opt for the chef's special - this was generally much better in quality and quantity than the regular fare. Fortunately the ice cream was okay.

Because of the allotted very early breakfast time, guests leave the entertainment room before the artiste has finished their second set. This is a shame for the artiste who is left playing to a very small audience.

In our room, whilst the bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp, the aged brown blanket provided had an elderly appearance. I haven't been in a hotel that uses blankets for decades.

Because of the excellent hotel staff, the brilliant location and the lovely weather we had an enjoyable holiday. However, with a little more commitment and financial input courtesy of LeisurePlex management into internal decoration, dining arrangements (and so importantly the quality and quantity of the food served) and the tired blankets, the Regina Hotel could be a jewel in the crown of the lovely Torbay resort.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank RonSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from an Alfa Holiday to this Hotel. Our room overlooked the marina which was lovely. We were travelling in a party of six and unfortunately one couple on the party was placed on the second floor.. although they were offered a change of room the room offered did not have anything like the view they had..so they chose to stay in their allotted room. Also they were not able to be seated with us for meals but put on the table next to us with another couple...so if you are travelling in a party please confirm with Alfa that you would like rooms/dining together or that you are "Linked" they call it. The food was acceptable and the service very quick. The bedding was very crisp and clean. Two of the bathrooms in our party were tiny to say the least and the other had no hot water for three days until the heated towel rail was switched on!!
The tours were good and we all managed to have an extra tour on our free day. One trip to most definitely go on was the one to see 'Spellbound' at the Babbacombe Theatre. Brilliant!!!
All in all the Hotel could do with a major revamp, but the position is brilliant and its flat and easy to walk round the harbour.

Room Tip: We had room 16 and 17 overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Yes the hotel is wonderfully situated and the staff are great but surely the food is not up to a decent standard. If you have paid a not inconsiderable sum for your holiday you should expect the standard of food higher than that which is being served. I am no cordon bleu cook but do expect fresh vegetables with a meal and meat to gave been carved from a joint and not vacuum packed catering joint. Also how can half an iceberg lettuce, one sliver of red and yellow pepper, 2 pieces of tomato, one slice of cucumber, four small rubbery new potatoes and reconstituted meat of your choice be called a salad? I wont even go there about chefs coleslaw! (we think its made from pickled cabbage.) Try The Ocean Hotel on the Isle of Wight (Alfa tour) and try their food. No comparison. Also who wants to drink warm water from a dispenser in the dining room!
The staff are excellent and we had Ludi too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaret_evans005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went on a 5 day coach trip with Alfa to this hotel which is well situated overlooking marina. Our room was really hot due to the extreme temperatures but we fared better than those on the front of the hotel. The food was excellent and our waitress Ludi was extremely efficient and so was her identical twin sister who served us on another occasion. Its nice to see the manager 'hands on' working in the dining room when the need arose. Any problem that we had was sorted straight away. We have two good days out and our driver Neil (Redline Coach) was very pleasant indeed. The only downside is the bars and entertainment area. The bar doesn't seem as inviting as some of the other hotels but otherwise it was a very good holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed there for a week in july a holiday through alfa holidays the hotel is very well placed right by the marine the staff are friendly the food is nice and there ia a good menu choice.The room was near the kitchens which were noisy in the mornings

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had wonderfull time in Torquay,went for 8 days on 14th July,weather was hot,hotel,staff,food excellent,Mally are coach driver was great and very knowledgeable of the area.
We pre-booked our room 29 but was told it might not be avaiable,but on arrival the room was ours.
Splendid view across the marina,must go to is the penquins,otters seals and birds across the road and left,we also went by local bus to the Zoo at Paignton well worth a visit,trip on the ferry to Brixham £2 return beautifull place with lovely harbour and small shops.
We had trips included and found Teignmouth & Sidmouth beautifull.
We hope to return

Room Tip: Room 29 harbour view well worth the extra plus it has two windows(front & side) lets the air ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patespellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

well what can we say.we had a great break at this hotel.we arrived to a warm welcome.our cases were soon taken up to our rooms.we had two doubles and a single which were very clean and roomy including the single.very good room service every day.the meals were excellent,plenty to choose from daily and plenty of it!!!.all the staff were very pleasant and hard working to keep the hotel running.it was always busy in the restaurant but we never had to wait long for our meals they were on the ball all the time.!! nothing was too much trouble.cannot comment on the entertainment as with the hotel being on the harbour we went out every evening as the weather we has was so nice.4 very happy people!!!! we shall be without a doubt returning again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#35 of 85 in Torquay
774 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#60 of 85 in Torquay
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regina Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $80 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel - Torquay - (3 Alpha grading - AA three star). Wonderfully situated on the harbour side with the principal shops and theatre a short stroll away. Part of the Regina is interesting as the home of the poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Relaxing bar lounge, air conditioned restaurant and lively bar with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Limited parking at the hotel but plenty of commercial parking close by. Lift serves many rooms but the hotel consists of several Georgian and Victorian buildings and there are many changes of level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regina Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing