We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we stayed at the Regina Hotel”
Review of The Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Regina Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and i together with our friend visited the Regina hotel for five days from 22nd September. We had never visited a leisureplex hotel before. On reading the reviews before going we wondered if they were true, however we found The staff were excellent, helpful and cheerful - no matter what time of day. In the dinning room, which was very busy at every meal time, Bartek the manager was very helpful too.He spoke excellent english. he made sure his guests were in no way kept waiting for meals. He did change our breakfast meal time without telling us or driver Lawrence.

The rooms ( we had back rooms) were very clean, plenty of towels, tea coffee and milk.

Location,- on the harbour very near the shops.

Just small touches were needed, like odd bits of decor needed doing, but not too drastic. For the price we paid and considering that its a two star hotel - overall it`s excellent value for money.

We would recommed it and are planning to go back.in the years to come

Thanks to all who made our stay a joy.

Pity about the lift being out of action for 5 weeks .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank m1key69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for The Regina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 231 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Regina Hotel, Torquay, is a Leisureplex Hotel. Holidays for these hotels are commonly taken with Alfa Travel as coach tours with inclusive excursions, or as self-drive package breaks. They provide value for money holidays that are especially popular with retired people.

Our holiday was taken as self-drive vacation along with family who were staying there on a coach tour. We’ve stayed at Leisureplex hotels, and travelled with Alfa, so we knew what to expect. Regina is common to all of the Leisureplex hotels in terms of its set meals, bar options, and evening entertainment. All of these were very agreeable with no fault. Indeed, the hotel appeared to be well managed with the staff working very hard.

It’s the hotel building itself that reduces the quality somewhat. The hotel is composed of what appears to be two conjoined older buildings. The interior is in locations quite confusing, and it can actually be hard to find your room! General décor and fittings are tired by modern standards too. And people with limited mobility need to be aware that the lift is still not working and efforts to repair it have not been successful to-date.

All in all, reasonable good, providing you know what to expect and are okay with stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tytanium045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from self drive break in september. Upon arrival was told lift was out of order but would be repaired that afternoon or the next day...it wasn't. was told it had been out of use for a week but later learned it had been out for a month. wasn't repaired during the whole stay which made it very dangerous for guests including myself as I'm blind and was on the second floor. Food very good and entertainment was very good Hotel was clean and tidy and is ideally positioned on the harbourside. Due to mix-up was allocated a room at back of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JOHN h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from 8 day hol with Alfa. Had a great time.Hotel was par for the course - not brilliant but adequate, clean and tidy with good, hot and pleantiful food served by excellent staff.In fact all of the general staff were very good -attentive,helpful,pleasent and nothing too much trouble. The location is ideal - opposite the Marina, close to some great pubs, the shops and attractions, yet is quiet. Our driver, Colin, was brilliant and helped make the holiday with his great sense of humour, helpfulness, flexibility and will to please- top man, hope to have the pleasure of his company again. The only downside was that the lift was out of order for the entire stay and with many elderly guests was a major problem with long queues of people forming on the stairways.This was obviously a safety issue but the duty manager seemed oblivious to the potential danger,without raising his head from his paperwork and without comment, let alone any sort of apology, he merely waived his hand at the out of order notice then pointed at the stairs as if to say Tuff. Get on with it. Not what I would expect from Leisureplex. However this will not put me off holidaying with Alfa with whom I have had many great holidays.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms seem to be a little more spacious and the views are great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

8day holiday with Alfa, driver Colin was wonderful, nothing too much trouble, lovely man. The hotel was quite basic but the seaview room was quite clean, and the food was lovely and plentiful. Our waiter Daniel was lovely, a credit to Leisureplex. The only sad thing was the lack of a working lift. There were many elderly people who were finding it very hard to climb all of the stairs. When asked about the lift being repaired the manager did not seem too concerned.

Room Tip: Make sure of a front of hotel room unless you do not mind a view of a wall.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

we stayed at the regina hotel torquay august 2012 and found it to be a friendly hotel where all the staff were polite and helpful . the decor in some areas is a little shabbyand dated but the food was good and decent portions too . it is ideally placed across from the harbour and marina . entertainment 5 nights a week tho we only tried it one night . tv in room was the smallest we have ever seen but you dont go away to watch tv do you. room was kept clean and bathroom adequate unless you are of a large build . to improve money needs to be spent to improve the decoration, paper and paint . the rest was good for two star hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

just returned from a weeks hol staying at the regina torquay. we went with alfa coach tours.
the hotel is in a great position, right on the harbour. we had a seaview room which was very spacious, and kept very clean. the food is good not like some peoples comments.if you want 4 an 5 star book somewhere else but for what we payed it was worth it. our waiter peter was brilliant nothing to much trouble for him, he was always smiling and you could have a good laugh with him. the entertainment was ok. the only down side while we wre there, they closed the lounge bar, which was not fair for the people who did not want to watch the entertainment. so it made some people go elsewhere. I would go again.

Room Tip: seaview would be best option
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.2 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
755 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#60 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regina Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel - Torquay - (3 Alpha grading - AA three star). Wonderfully situated on the harbour side with the principal shops and theatre a short stroll away. Part of the Regina is interesting as the home of the poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Relaxing bar lounge, air conditioned restaurant and lively bar with dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Limited parking at the hotel but plenty of commercial parking close by. Lift serves many rooms but the hotel consists of several Georgian and Victorian buildings and there are many changes of level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regina Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing