We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like fish you will love this place”

Number 7 Fish Bistro
Ranked #5 of 347 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like fish you will love this place”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Torquay has some real jewels in the form of excellent eateries and Number 7 is no exception. We were very lucky to walk in off the street and secure a table as a number of would be diners were turned away soon after our arrival - clearly this is a popular venue and booking is recommended.

The restaurant is fairly small with a nice intimate atmosphere and although there is no view of the adjacent harbour, it does not detract in any way.
Now for the food, well If fish is what you are looking for then look no further, it delivers at every level! The waiting staff are very attendant and as an added nice touch they bring fresh fish to the table on a platter to both show what is currently available and explain how it is cooked and presented.

On our visit we had squid for starter which was quite exceptional...could it get any better?...well yes of course, mains dishes were delivered to the same high quality as did the rest of our dining experience. Notably all delivered with very good service times.

Price wise? It seems a bit harsh to mark Number 7 down a shade on this but at £80 for 2 and with only one glass of wine on the table it does rather come in towards the top, so if you are putting a bottle on the table budget for around the £100 mark - Having said that it was an enjoyable meal and paying a little extra for such a good overall experience is worthwhile - I would certainly go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,060
    171
    43
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in Torquay for 3 nights and as sods law would have it found this restaurant on the last one. Food Wine Staff and Restaurant were all excellent. £70 for a 2 course meal for 2 with a bottle of Wine. What more can I say.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived without a booking to a packed restaurant but the were very helpful and found us a table for about 30 minutes later. We went for as walk and they phoned us when a table was ready and it was worth the wait!
The food was excellent and the service was efficient and friendly. I will visit again and even make a entourage to eat here again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were directed to Number 7 by our hosts at Marstan, Craig and Ian. What a terrific place! The staff were so pleasant and helpful, and the food was marvellous. It has the feeling of a comfortable eating hall, and that's what you will do. An additional advantage is that there is a car park directly opposite, unless you are up for a climb up Torquay's steep hills after a lovely dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A great fishy experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A beautifully decorated fishy themed Bistro type restaurant.

It was fully booked when we visited and had a great atmosphere.

The fish was cooked to perfection for both starters and mains.

Sticky Toffee pudding dessert was lovely.

Nice wine selection.

Not a fine dining experience but the service was enthusiastic, quick and friendly.

Will be back again soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 7 Fish Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Number 7 Fish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing