We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views with modern facilities”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pat0187
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing views with modern facilities”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We would definitely stay here again. The apartment was well furnished with modern facilities. The floor to ceiling windows provided amazing views. Great location, close to the town centre and the beach. The host was easy to contact and responded to messages quickly. Lovely place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central Apartment- Beautiful view”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Mews is a 10 minute walk from town, you can choose from a few different routes to suit, all of them do of course involve hills or steps given the position of the building :-) You can always take a taxi back up the hill if need be. The owner was quickly on hand a couple of minutes after our arrival to hand over a complimentary bottle of wine, after which we did not see or hear from him during our 2 week stay (a good thing, as it's nice to feel as if the accommodation is yours while you stay).

That lounge window is really something to behold, the pictures just do not do it justice and it allows for fantastic views in all directions over the bay, park and so forth, you really could just sit in front of it and stare out for hours at a time (I did..). We were lucky with the warm sunny weather however even on the odd wet days it was lovely.

Entertainment is certainly up to scratch, large flat screen smart TV with Netflix and Youtube access via a Roku box, standard freeview channels and more. Flatscreen TV's are also located in both bedrooms.

The cupboard especially in main bedroom is very spacious as is the room itself. You can access the patio either through a door from the hall next to 2nd bedroom or the large glass sliding door within the 2nd bedroom itself, the views from the patio rival those from the lounge Window so you can pick and choose depending on your mood or weather. The main bathroom and 2nd bathroom are both ensuite to the rooms and there is an additional small toilet off the landing outside the main bedroom. The rainfall shower in the 2nd bathroom is great, plenty of pressure and hot water just what you need to wake up to in the morning! The Jacuzzi bath in the main bedroom is powerful and fully featured, shame it isn't a little larger for us long legged sorts, but great nonetheless :-) Would probably benefit from some instructions as the controls are a kind of unique, no doubt the owner would be happy to help if you come unstuck though so not a problem IMO.

Kitchen is modern and has everything you should need. The automated lighting is also a fun feature, who needs switches when technology can do it for you (hall, kitchen and bathroom back-lit mirrors are automated)!

Parking is directly in front of the main door which is ever so convenient although as the area is shared with the Apartment there is not a massive amount of room to open car doors, I suppose it's comparable to the dimensions of wide bays you would find in a multi storey, and better than having to park in the street, worked out well for us anyhow.

If you are having food delivered do try to provide detailed instructions to the restaurant etc. Mind you even having done that some delivery people still had issues finding us until we spoke to them on the phone.
Used local Yeti delivery company a couple of times with no issues, recommend them as an option.

There were a couple of lovely cats who popped over a few times during our stay via the patio, I presume the owner's? Friendly little things, perhaps you could add a "Cat rental" package for the apartment where guests would pay to borrow the cats for the day :-)

Only other thing to mention, before I decided on this accommodation I had some doubts after seeing the negative reviews for the Mews and Apartment on TA (which appear to be from members of the same party), but really there is nothing to worry about, the standard of the property, cleanliness and what it offers overall is either on par with or better than any of the other (rather more costly holiday rentals) in which we have stayed over the years.

Do book yourself in I am certain you will enjoy !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
332Debbie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location (although plenty of steps to get into town)and well appointed apertment. Beautifully clean. Internet worked without a hitch.
Couple of tiny points: no shaver point (although we went and bought an adapter and left it there for future guests) and no soap provided. Other than that we had a lovely break and the view from the lounge and bedroom was great. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaq G
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb property”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As you walk in you just know this property is more than can be described on any holiday website.
The views are stunning, feels like there is nothing between you and the sea scape across the bay.
The quality of decor is top notch.
The added touches of preloaded music and movies should cater for those cooler nights when with glass in hand you watch the world, and boats, go by.
For us the owner was pleasant and wished us a safe journey home.
I would return in the future without a second thought.
To the owner a great job at making a holiday home so much more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: The intermittent wifi
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick T
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Outstanding town house”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is not an apartment in that it is over 3 floors - upside down style with hall , large kitchen diner and huge lounge with vast picture window offering stunning views over Torbay , master en-suite on floor below and another en-suite floor below that with large furnished sun terrace.

All gleaming and spotlessly clean with high quality seriously comfortable furniture throughout.

A gem in Torquay and one of the best finds in our 30 years of self-catering in South Devon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Wi-fi did not work
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric L
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fan Blinking Tastic”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 (2 boys aged 12 and 15). We stayed in Riviera Mansion, The Mews for a week in February 2015. We booked via Bluechip Holidays and chose this apartment based on the Bluechip Holidays photos, description and reviews of the property.

Wow were we pleased. Quality fittings throughout, maintained to a very high standard, fantastic attention to detail and colour coordination, clean, contemporary, comfortable and stylish with fantastic views - from Torquay marina to Torquay beach and around Torbay, past Paignton, to Brixham and beyond. About a 20 minute walk to the marina, harbour and all the restaurants and shops of Torquay - 10 minutes to Torquay beach.

Particularly loved the view especially the sunsets; the LED mood lighting, Jacuzzi bath (with LED lighting), shower head (with heat sensitive LED lighting)...I could go on, but it would spoil some of the surprise for new visitors ;o) A fantastic property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Views and very high standard of decor
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoFasterH...
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In my view; simply Excellent”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this as a surprise for my family and when they entered the lounge their reaction was incredible; breath-taking and unbelievable. Enough said!

The property is well located in Torquay; easy to access by road; private parking and within walking distance to both Torquay beach (and the new restaurants and bars there) and also the shopping centre in Union square. The consequence of a view is that you are on a hill and therefore the walk will include steps/steep roads but now the Rock Walk is open make it part of your healthy holiday!

The apartment itself is well above what you might expect on the holiday rental market; the fixtures and fittings are very high spec; the furnishings are very high quality and the little features that are well documented in the earlier reviews are very welcome and ensure a luxury feel to what ever you do.

We stayed in quite a lot and just watched the view!

I had no problems at all with communication with the owner; the property was clean on arrival and everything functioned as I hoped during my stay. I even managed to get the coffee maker to produce some coffee automatically in the morning; extra points from my wife!!

Enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing