We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to an evening at the theatre ”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #44 of 360 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and crème brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
A TripAdvisor Member
224
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great restaurant in a stunning location.
On a sunny evening with a glass of wine looking out across the bay there is no finer place.
Although part of a chain of restaurants this branch has a unique feel about it. The menu is varied and the food is excellent. We have eaten here on many occasions; usually before going to the theatre.
The staff are very friendly and very efficient.
Highly recommended.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your reveiw, i'm really glad you enjoy your visits with us and look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to eat if you're looking for somewhere with attractive sea views. However, the layout of the place could be better thought out. I really personally don't like feeling like I'm having my meal with the table next to me as the tables were very linear.

The menu had a good range of choice and reasonably priced too; especially the fixed price menu offering 2 courses for 15.95 if ordered prior to 6.45pm

The service was friendly and very efficient; probably a little too much as it felt like only 5 minutes since ordering until the mains came out which gave it a bit of a rushed feel. However, I cannot fault the meal which was cooked perfectly. I would recommend as one of the better places to eat in the area.

Thank Jen_WUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your reveiw, i'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely restaurant in a prime location and a beautiful view. Lovely food with friendly staff. What more can you ask for!!! But make sure you book a table as it is quite a small restaurant (bistro). It was also quite cheep for lunch it’s about £11.95 for 2 corses,£13.95 for 3 corses and £9.95 for 1 corse. They even made this mini ice cream thing which was a nice touch for my birthday (there’s a photo of this below) and it was free!!!

Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. Looking forward to coming back!!!

Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Leanne,


thank you for choosing to spend your birthday with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your day and look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to this restaurant, pre-booking essential! Had a pork main course which was lovely. Arrived with a side of roasted potatoes and vegetables. Then I had chocolate and hazelnut mousse for dessert. Both from the set evening menu. So £15.95 for two courses. I asked for a non alcoholic cocktail but you didnt do any. The service wasnt that great. The waitress was new i think she asked if we wanted desserts before our main had arrived and took a while to actually take our order but food was delicious when we had it

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikki066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nikki,

thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, i'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit but sorry to hear there were some issues with service when you visited. I have shared your feedback with my team and we are working hard to streamline our service and increase training for our newer seasonal team members to help bring them up to the high standard we aim to achieve.

I hope to see you again soon

kind regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this restaurant is just to die for. It is set over two floors and has a great outside area, the view of Torbay is just superb, cleverly sheltered by large glass panels outside you can sit and drink up the view whilst keeping the breeze at bay.
Having gone to this restaurant early using their offer, we had a fantastic great value meal, I think this is popular with pre theatre goers, a great way of populating the restaurant at quiet times. We had all preordered, and to be honest, there was a little confusion at service.
The food was nicely prepared, tasty and more importantly hot. Drinks were reasonably priced and the restaurant had a nice buzz about it.
Will I go back, yes indeed.

Thank Toffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Toffski,

thank you for taking the time to leave such a great and detailed review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon,

kind regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing