We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice family holiday”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff on arrival were very helpful, park was nice but quiet hilly, so I was glad we were near the top. Caravan was nice and roomy and clean. Boiler did fail one evening but staff came to sort it out very quickly so wasn't too much of a problem. Club was ok and entertainment was good. Breakfast was included in the cost of the holiday and was also good. Overall the holiday was great apart from the rain, we really enjoyed this park. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Thankyou again for an enjoyable holiday Parkdean :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mullins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    201
    161
    75
    76
See reviews for
412
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have just returned one day early from a one week stay at Parkdean Torquay.
My first impressions of the site were good, this was were and reinforced by the real friendly and efficient welcome.
We stayed in The Riviera Caravan which to be fair was very close to the excellent amenities, i.e. Club, Arcade, Pool ,shop and ample parking, generally the site was nicely kept and clean.
Then we entered the caravan, and noticed stains on all the carpets ,wall paper pulled off in the bedrooms and damaged towel heater in the tiny shower room/toilet,and general poorly maintained.
I put my hand on one of the shelves in the kitchen, and was horrified to find a layer of greasy dust, which we found on all the flat surfaces throughout the van .We decided that if this was the standard of the cleaners, then we would prefer to clean it to our own standard, rather than run the risk of being moved to a less convenient van.
Over the next six nights we tried each bed in the van, two doubles and two singles, as the week progressed we felt less likely to complain due to our holiday coming closer to an end .
Eventually we decided to leave early, due to my suffering severe back ache, and both my wife and I unable to sleep on the most uncomfortable beds. I realise and was informed on departure
that had we complained then we would possible been offered another van.
I feel that It these vans were inspected regularly, properly cleaned and maintained, and more attention paid to the bed situation, the holiday would have been much more enjoyable.
I can only reiterate that The staff in general were excellent, as was the service, but I would suggest that the cleaning and maintainence staff may, be either under staffed or under budgeted.
I would suggest that a good team are being let down by management. I would stay here again but would not settle for what we settle this time. Well done staff, Management wake up and support your staff before you lose them and many more customers.

Room Tip: Try beds before bedtime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here as part of newspaper promotion but also paid (£21 a night) to upgrade the caravan. The caravan allocated was at the lowest point of the site which meant a stiff uphill hike to go to any of the facilities. The caravan didn't meet expectations and when this was queried, I was advised that the upgrade covered a hairdryer, heating in the lounge (wouldn't ignite) and heating to the bedroom (didn't work) - a real rip off. Restaurant looked like a works canteen and had a limited menu as did the carry out in the main building. On a positive note the facilities for young children were very good. Also the staff were helpful but not overly concerned with feedback about the caravan. Not at all handy for Torquay which I measured as 4 miles to the seafront. Having travelled from Glasgow and being so disappointed, we left a day early and spent a much more enjoyable time in a caravan in the Cotswolds. (see separate review)

Room Tip: Avoid being allocated a caravan at the bottom of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klondykekenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The only nice thing about this park was the way out. The restaurant was filthy and when our meals were brought out we had to ask for the table to be wiped clean of food! The chap then asked what part of the table needed wiping..to make matters worse he then squirted cleaning fluid over table and food!
We were given a apartment that looked like it was the set of Hi di hi,filthy.We then moved to a caravan that was cold,damp and had dead bugs on the ceiling,no hot water in shower,seats smelt of pee, dirty bedding from last occupants left outside all week! Plus several bites! Needless to say we left the pool alone. List is endless.

I'm not really a complaining type of person,but this was disgusting beyond words,I'm a biker and used to roughing it ,but this experience was something else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We came here via a Sun holiday booked by my mum so not sure what to expect.

Reception staff were lovely and we had a caravan situated at the top of the site in Lyn Tor. Caravan was nice with heating and was clean.

We had terrible weather complete with torrential rain but still had a good time. The park is small but ideal for younger children. The evening entertainment in particular was very child friendly and my daughter loved it. We used the pool and the park as well.

Didn't eat on site but it seemed reasonable.

Was a fab base as lots to do in the surrounding areas. We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from a weekend newspaper offer. I was a bit worried due to previous reviews but we have had a really lovely weekend at Torquay holiday park.
The Van was spotlessly clean and quite new and had everything that we needed. The site is lovely and excellent location and the check in was very good. Definately would have wasted our money had we asked for an upgrade before arrival.
For the money we paid it is far better than expected and we will try and return next year.
None of the caravans at the site looked old and site very well run.
Hope the newspaper offers continue..

Room Tip: Vixen tor area vans had a very big car park next to vans so easy parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a 'sun' holiday £9.50 per person, if I'd paid full price for this caravan I would be very disappointed! Upon arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming, which was good and we got to check in early, which was great as we have a toddler and was great to get sorted. At first the caravan looked ok, checked to make sure everywhere was clean which it was so we unpacked. The caravan was very rough around the edges, the seating area was the worse, everytime we sat on the sofas they felt damp and it was horrible I didn't complain as if we had to move it would if been a pain with our little boy as we would of had to repack. The ceiling light in the kitchen had the biggest dead beatle in. The bedrooms were good and adequate for what was needed and they were clean. The tv was old, and very small and the fire looked dangerous, with rust patches so we didnt use. The shower was good, but our towels never dried out as the van felt damp. The location of our caravan was at the bottom of a very steep hill, to tackle with a pushchair was unthinkable, so we had to drive to the club house. The pool is ok, and the water warm. The kids entertainment was good but the music in the bar was too loud and you had to shout at each other over it. All in all I wouldn't go back and was quite disappointed, especially after many other great 'sun' holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shezzie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#35 of 87 in Torquay
550 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing