We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so relaxed”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

returned on thursday from a few days at parkdean torquay, what can i say we had a lovely time it was so relaxing i feel as if i have have been away for weeks, We stayed in saddle tor 14 and it was really good . full central heating , fully equipped kitchen , separate shower room and toilet , flat screen tv and dvd ,,, one of the best caravans we have ever had maybe i could even say the best,, no faults i could see spotless camp and helpful friendly staff .. went 10yrs ago and it was good but now i have nothing but praise for it,, and the added bonus was it was a sun holiday ,, we have already recommended this site to family and friends and will definatly visit again

Room Tip: the saddle tor caravans are situated near the top of the hill and near all facilities so they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    202
    162
    75
    78
See reviews for
416
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked a 3 night break & worried as you do after reading the reviews; but were pleasantly surprised - found the park easily, parked the car easily plenty of spaces, checked in easily, got a drink in the bar cos it was early evening & we deserved that after long journey, apartments were the easiest option, parked right outside, Lounge was spacious & clean, bedrooms clean & everything clean clean clean...NO smells at all !! & NO noise, Pool excellent, Arcade brilliant, staff & security perfect, really lovely views, PLENTY of seating - even when full !! NOT stressful at all - just really easy living !! Ahhh.... it was bliss !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

only paid £68 for 4 nights and this was excellent value for money. booked through the sun holidays and have done this previously a few times. compared to others I have been to this one was great. the caravan was spacious clean. big tv and central heating throughout the caravan. I had read the reviews on here previously and was expecting something awful and dirty and falling to pieces, so I was completely overjoyed when I walked into my caravan. the park itself was ok. small pub club house which I didnt really go into much. shop shut at 5 but there was a coop and tesco 5 mins in the car and an asda just a little further. the park is very hilly we were on the bottom and there is an extemely steep hill to the car park. didnt bother me too much but it would have been a bit much for some. the park is also quite a way out from torquay centre and no beach is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexxyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just been for a 4 day holiday from mon- fri. We have two small children, one if 5 months and the other 2 years. We initially paid for a babacome caravan at £103 but upon realising that there are hills we decided to call and see if they could locate us closer to the top as with two small children we have two prams!!

I called, they were very helpful, they offered us an upgrade at an extra £20 and we had a meadfoot caravan. It was the second caravan from the top in saddle tor! It was in the best location ever!! We couldn't have asked for a closer caravan to the reception, entertainment and pool! So tip here.. If your worried about location on site due to disability or prams ect - call them and see what they can do for you! The hills are not bad if your fit and healthy but if you have the slightest problem it could change your experience so call them! They are very helpful and £20 for an upgrade was well worth the money.

Our caravan was clean and neat, I am very hygiene conscious having two small children and working in health care so subconsciously I had been on the look out for hygiene issues but I found none.

Yes there was the odd tear and burn mark in kitchen, and yes there are signs of general wear and tear but it's nothing to spoil your holiday! Unless your the type of person who cannot stand a raised seal or an uneven tile! If your looking for utter perfection then stop here and book the savoy in London and generally pay for what you expect! We paid £130 in the end and had a perfectly acceptable caravan that was comfortable as a base after a long day.

No offence intended to the people who have placed negatives reviews but it seems to me that some people may be expecting 5 star services for 1 star prices... And like I say you pay for what you get.

If you are looking for a good value caravan with good service and good entertainment then you have no worries!! If your happy with basic clean and friendly then this is the place for you!

If your looking for chocolates on the pillows, towel animals and soft fluffy robes then forget it.

This is not the type of place where you will find any if the above, the caravans are well lived in but clean.

The park is hilly and if this may pose an issue for you then call and they will help!

The prices for food in the restaurant are fair for pub grub, you will not find lobster and caviar on the menu!

The children's park is excellent for all ages and the seating around the park is perfect to keep an eye in your little ones.

The shop is slightly over priced but there is an asda less than 5 miles down the road.

The children's entertainment from 6:30pm to 8:30pm is good! Keeps the little ones busy.The shows following that were also good so no complaints there- but this will be down to individual taste! The only bad thing from my perspective is that they have bingo straight after the children's bit and they expect you to keep you're children quiet for the hour! This is quite difficult to do with a two year old who wants to continue dancing and running around!

The pool is great for a swim or to play around with the children, no complaints there, it's quite warm in the changing room but the pool is average temperature. I wouldn't say it was very warm like some have stated, but it's not cold.

There are plenty of things to do in surrounding areas, Payton zoo and pennywell farm are ones to visit if you like animals or have small children. Torquay itself is stunning with the pier and beach to visit.

The arcade and children's soft play are ok. Good for entertaining the children.

The takeaway is quite good for something to take back to the caravan but it does close at 10pm - so if your going to watch the end of the show I would plan to cook when you get back!

The little shop in the entertainment area is great for Sid and lizzie toys and sweets for the kids!

All in all this was a fantastic holiday, the staff can't do enough for you IF YOU ASK!

And a few points to leave you with as stated before.... Pay for what you expect, if you want £130 worth of accommodation this is great!

If you have a problem tell the staff and it can be rectified, because if they don't know they can't help you!

Consider the hills and call them to find out where you are situated before you get there, then you can decide if this is manageable for you.

Always carry your entertainment passes just in case - as they do ask to see them until they know your face!

Don't try and take your own alcohol into the bar as they do ask to search your bag before you enter.

I would say that this is better than cheap and cheerful. It's nice for what we paid and we were very happy.

Do not be put off by bad reviews as everyone has different opinions on what they expect. Just be realistic on what you are paying for and you won't be dissapointed, and if you are dissapointed then let it be known and it's likely to be resolved!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A really clean site with very helpfull staff.stayed here over the may bank holiday having some good weather helped to show the camp in its true light.the only downside is the caravan that we had was at the bottom end of the site meaning a visit to the shop or club we had to use the car.but a really peacefull relaxed holiday on a good site .will go back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dukieboyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Brilliant place , very modern caravan with all extras, clean lovely entrainment
For family's. Lovely towns very near by.booking very easy and suporidinhly cheep for what caravan had to offer.I would advice to visit this place as it is definitely worth the money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annija0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked a last minute mon to fri break with our 2 and 3 year old daughters. I wasn't expecting much when we arrived, the fridge wasn't working and the gas had ran out, even though it should have been sorted before we arrived, it was dealt with quickly and as previous reviewers have said, if you are polite to the staff, they in turn will try to help you all they can. I found them to be really friendly and helpful, which makes a change to the haven lot! The kids entertainment was good and our eldest enjoyed it, for them I think the best part was the pool and playground they loved it.
Within easy distance of Torquay, Brixham etc. I would recommend it, especially if you have children and don't want to spend a fortune.
PS we found the food in the bar good and value for money, especially the kids meals and lunch menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allfor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#34 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#103 of 150 in Torquay
94 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 24 in Paignton
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing