We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

caravan very good comfy and warm central heating double glazing worth paying a little extra, site clean and tidy swimming pool like a warm bath overall a nice site only thing wrong is crazy golf needs updating and painting if you have children needs more for older children 10/14 need a car to get around but plenty to do and see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcc20187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    189
    157
    74
    73
See reviews for
392
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

When we got to the park i was pleasantly suprised to see what a nice setting it was in and what a lovely childrens area there was, ideal for our 2 year old boy. The apartment was very clean on the first floor easy for all of us to get to! I was however shocked to see the z beds in both the rooms and sleeping the first night was horrible as slept very little! The entertainment was good and my son enjoyed going some nights. Torquay is a wonderful place to be loads to do. ie aquarium at plymouth fantastic, living coast, exploring babbacombe, dawlish warren for walking and amusement for children. Overall I personally wouldnt go back to this parkdean site as restaurant expensive staff half asleep! For a budget holiday it was okay but dont disappoint yourselves and go to this site in torquay its just not worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

dirty caravan through out, nets and curtains mouldy, lino ripped up in kitchen, carpets covered in dust and hairs, mass of blood on duvet, shower leaking like a waterfall. Site is old hat needs serious modernising. Restaurant was the only good part to the site. Having our baby with us made this holiday worse as he had to breath in damp mould and sit on the black not pink settee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Myself, my partner and my 18 yr old son stayed here from 3rd Sept to 7th Sept.

Whilst the apartment was exactly what I expected, minimal, basic etc, it was reasonably clean. The only downer that put us off was a very overflowing ashtray that was left behind the door on the balcony, but apart from that, a quick wash and wipe down and all was just fine.

We had travelled down by car, and planned to just use the apartment as a base to visit many different places, we didn't really use any of the on site eateries or entertainment, but did visit the swimming pool, which we all enjoyed alot! But once again, basic, but ok.

At first, like another reviewer thought we couldn't lock the balcony door, but once we'd figured out the 'system' of pulling the handle up, whilst turning the key (oh and pushing on the base of the door) it worked fine.

The staff were friendly, and whilst we didn't have much need to interact with them, they always were approachable and friendly.

What else can I say, it was a very cheap, basic holiday base, and did the job wonderfully.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were a party of four adults four kids in one caravan,we arrived and reception staff were polite and friendly,off we went to the caravan yes i will admit there was a wierd smell in it but we opened all the windows and it went,we made up the beds and put some dinner on in the oven i would have been better off starting a camp fire outside, the cooker took ages and so did the grill think they need updateing,
We ate out most of the time for evening meals,can recommend the IN ON THE GREEN in painton and THE SPINNING WHEEL also in painton.
We didn't use the on site eatery so can not pass comment,we did use the swimming pool and jacuzzi which was ok,we looked at the crazy golf but didn't bother as was very overgrown and un kept,the kids enjoyed the playground and we went up to see the entertainment a couple of times but found it to be quite expensive,but the entertainment was of a good standard.
The caravan was quite clean when we arrived but we were there for a week and no carpet sweeper or mop bucket in the caravan meant that we had to try to sweep it out!! could have done with a carpet sweeper really,beds were adequate,and facilitys were too,over all not a bad place yes its hilly but most of torquay is just take your time round the lanes,we went out every day and most evenings,we shopped in nearby sainsburys and asda as the onsite shop was a lttle over priced,but if you are looking for a short break this was just fine, cheap and chearfull it is what you make it.......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally4981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having booked to go in August (Booking last christmas) we read the reviews on trip advisor & decided to upgrade our caravan from the 2 Bedroom "Riviera" to the 2 bedroom "Marldon". We did this via phoning the Torquay Holiday Park & telling them of our concerns about the amount of poor reviews the park had. The lady on the phone assured us the park wasn't as bad as the reviews but did agree that some of the caravan's were dated, we asked to upgrade but were told the park was full even though the website said otherwise. Not being satisfied with this we phoned the head office who after the extra fee for upgrading, upgraded us to another caravan, again we told her of our concerns to which we were told the caravan we would be staying in was only one year old which instantly put us at ease.
Upon arriving at the park we checked-in only to find that the caravan was old but had been refurbished, we thought this was quite sneeky of Park Dean, however it was clean & basic. We don't expect to much from caravaning holidays but we do expect cleanliness (which it was) & at least the beds to be made up on arrival not just having the bedsheets thrown in the doorway for you to do it yourself, afterall if you were paying £750.00 a week to stay in a hotel the beds would be made for you, if they had have been made up they would have noticed that we were pillow cases short which we had to go & fetch.
The site & caravans all look dated & the entertainment area is ok but not fantastic, you are very isolated at this caravan park & have to use your car to go everywhere. It states in the brochure that this is a 4 star holiday park, at best it's a 3 star.
We will not be stopping at this park again & i wouldn't advise anyone to, you can get far better value for money & location stopping at the Premier Inn on the sea front.

Room Tip: If you do go here ask for a caravan at the top of the hill close to check-inn because if your carava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night break (should have been 4 but couldn't stand it any longer) and i will never ever go back.My friend and i arrived on 3rd Sept and was sent to our apartment on the 3rd floor,within 5 minutes we had gone back to reception.The place smelt terrible,there was more cobwebs than i could count,the beds looked like camp beds and the mattresses were old and dirty in fact the whole place was dirty.The furniture was falling apart and the door leading on to the small balcony did not lock. We were told that there was no other apartments available and when i said that it looked as though nobody had been in there for months they said that someone had been in there that morning but the biggest laugh in fact it left me speechless was when i told them about the lock on the balcony door they said it didn't lock because it was an easy escape in case of fire so u can be murdered in your bed but at least you won't be burnt alive.We ended up having to pay another £90 to be moved to a caravan which wasn't much better but cleaner.There was nowhere close by to eat so had to eat on site and every meal we had was cold.We left a day early because it was horrendous so i would advise people to avoid this holiday park at all costs

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audreycurley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing