We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Reviewed July 16, 2012

sun holiday, so we weren't expecting much. The cleanliness of our caravan (Vixen tor 1) was outstanding. We had no complaints about the caravan, other than that it was smaller than previous caravans we have holidayed in. The shower was difficult to come to grips with, it was either boiling hot of freezing cold. There are many hills on park, which can keep you fit when youre walking to the bar! The food on park is poor. The patio bar staff are rude and do not pay attention. The drinks are way overpriced, £2.20 for a slush or milkshake. The arcade does not have much variety in the machines, and you never win much. The evening entertainment was amaing, so entertaining and funny. There were three entertainers JJ, Jared and James who were on every night who enjoyed the entertaining more than we did! The bingo was fun, but a waste of money. There isn't much to do on park during the day especially when you have teenage children, so we didn't stay on camp between 10 and 4 each day. There are plenty of places to visit nearby, Torquay, teignmouth and Paignton. I would really recommend living coasts (Torquay) and paignton zoo. They offer a double ticket, which is given at a discounted rate. Not the best parkdean I've stayed at, but it was okay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spoonfulofjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Came to this park expecting a fantastic holiday as described on the website, but was absolutely disgusted with the holiday.

We got the keys to the caravan which was saddle 15, and as soon as we walked into the hallway there was mud all over the floor and it looked like it hadn't been swept for 2 weeks. Then we opened the door to the lounge area and that's when the smell hit us... it was absolutely disgusting the smell was like smoke, moth balls, dirt, and mould all rolled into one, absolutely grotty and disgusting!

Upon looking in the kitchen we had to wash up everything before we used it where it was not clean, there was hairs in the shower, and the bed was soo uncomfortable and contained bugs, absolutely disgusted. Came here for 3 nights, only stayed the one night because of the filth. Stay clear of this park you will not get a good holiday specially after travelling 200 miles to get to the park!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice tidy park, bit hilly we had parking with our park home. Swimming pool very good clean and tidy, very well organized with swim lane separate from kiddies bit. Park home very clean. Don't know who is writing bad reviews must be on differnet park!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just got back from a 5 night sun holiday at Parkdean Torquay which I can only describe as appalling. Upon arrival we were slightly early and despite check-in being 4pm we were given keys to the apartment at 3.30pm, was this a good thing though I'm not so sure.

So we drive down an extremely steep hill to the end of the site where we were arrived at our caravan vixen 31. Well... I cannot comprehend the state of this apparently 'luxury' caravan. It has never been luxury in its life. It was smelly, dirty and rundown and instantly I rang head office to complain. So we were offered an upgrade to an apartment for an additional £20. At this point I would have paid an additional £50 to upgrade... Now in all fairness the head receptionist was very nice and gave us the 'upgrade' for free (probably knowing it was definitely not an upgrade!).

The apartment 215 we were given was no better than the shabby old caravan albeit more spacious.. It was old, dated, smelly, dirty and quite frankly needed gutting and starting again. There was a cupboard door missing in the kitchen, a broken shower of which nearly scolded us (dangerous for children), beds that resembled jail beds, a broken fire place, fag nubs on the floor? and dirt marks all over the walls. Combined with it being a hell hole, it was extremely noisy as the walls were paper thin.

The site itself has nothing more going for it than a costcutter and crazy golf, the entertainment was cringe-worthy (okay if have kids, but NOTHING for people without children) and to be honest we may as well of saved on the 5 hour drive and booked in at Butlins- Skegness!


I would not recommend this site to anyway, not even for a cheap break... as it is very disappointing when you work hard all year to waste your weeks holiday in a run down, smelly old apartment sleeping on a pull out sofa bed, listening to people pass urine in the middle of the night. Quite frankly it awful, in the middle of no-where and I am currently processing a formal complaint via head-office.

So do yourselves a favour and choose Butlins for a rubbish caravan holiday!!!!!!

Room Tip: just dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah-marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

After reading the stories we were a little nervous how the week would go, we arrived early and tried to check in but our accommodation was not ready but we did ask if we had a caravan or apartment but they couldn't tell us what so we decided on paying a £20 upgrade as I agree with the reviews about the apartments not looking too good plus the nipper loves staying in caravans.When we got the key to the caravan I went in still expecting something not too good but it was clean,tidy and was on par with other Parkdean sites I have stayed at so was very happy. Yes the park is hilly but then the Torquay area isn't exactly flat and for those moaning about the distance to Torquay then next time do some homework and find out where the park is compared to the local town or village. The entertainment was great for the kids as all of the troupers joined in with the kids and for an hour or two you don't see them as they are away on the dance floor, after this there is the expected bingo and then onto cabaret acts, we was given a different show each night with outside acts coming in and this mixed it up a little. The bar prices are a little high but then you expect this coming to a place like this, the food in the bar is what you expect with it being fast food but there is a patio bar away from this and the food here was good. There was a group of 10 or so kids in on the one night but the security handled this great and it was all kept away from the entertainment area where kids were. All in all a great place to bring the kids, all the staff we friendly and helpful, I would have given it a 5 but the apartment blocks do let it down and a little paint here and there would certainly make a difference.

Room Tip: Keep away from the apartments if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just spent a 5 day/4 night holiday at this park, the staff were very courteous and check in was very quick, they were very helpful with directions to certain places we wanted to go with a printed instruction sheet. We had a Riviera Caravan that was very clean and comfortable. The site itself was very clean, it is a good central place if you want to visit the tourist attractions. We were a bit disappointed with the swimming pool opening times as we have a child who rises relatively early we found the time of opening at 10 quite late compared to other parks we have visited, they also shut the pool at 6 which we thought was just a bit early. The entertainment was good would definatley visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

we have just came back from a weeks holiday in torquay, it was our 1st proper family holiday away with our boys and one we will never forget, it was amazing. We stayed in an apartment over looking the park which was really nice, clean, freshly painted and clean sheets. Yes the park its self was quite away from Torquay itself and we needed to get a taxi into town or where ever we went as neither my partner or me drive but we accomodated for that and they were pretty cheap.

The entertainment was brilliant and the troupers were fantastic with the boys and other children, The park itself doesnt have much to offer theres a swimming pool, crazy golf, the park and the amusements, the crazy golf was a bit dated but the boys loved it. But then if you look around whats about Torquay then there is plenty of things to do to keep children/adults amused all within 30mins, we didnt really spend much time actually at the park as we was out in Torquay doing different things i.e dinosaur world, paignton zoo, kents cavern.......

Overall i would rate this park highly to people with young kids and we have already booked up for next year as we all enjoyed it so much. Definatly recommend to anyone wishing to visit Torquay!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz29_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 25 in Paignton
639 reviews
7.4 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 25 in Paignton
884 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park

Address: Torquay Holiday Park Kingskerswell Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 8JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was the Vistorian's who coined the phrase 'the English Riviera', likening this stunning 22 mile stretch of Devonshire coastline to its French equivalent. And with its balmy weather, sub-tropical plants, gastronomic delights and colourful waterfronts, it's easy to see why. So where better to spend the summer than at Torquay holiday park, close to all the Riviera's finest attractions. * A lively park in a country hillside setting * Stunning views towards nearby Torquay * Close to Brixham and Paignton seaside resorts * Blue Flag beaches just three miles away * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torquay Holiday Park Hotel Torquay
Parkdean - Torquay Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing