We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly hotel”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly hotel”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I arrived late due to roadworks, however we were met by Jeff, who provided a welcome tray of tea and biscuits. From meeting him, I found him always to be friendly. Over tea, he provided a map of Torbay and took time to point out the many places of interest in the area.
Our upstairs bedroom was quiet well equipped, clean and positioned at the front of the house. The en suite bathroom was similar. A good choice of food was available for breakfast. This was cooked to order during the three days we stayed at the hotel. The english breakfast was excellent. Jeff went out of his way to ensure that we were satisfied with the food.
He was always willing to discuss local restaurants and attractions, together with the best way to travel to them.
His local knowledge was excellent and he took time to make sure we were happy during our stay
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well situated, with a short walk to the promenade. A bus service is available virtually outside the front door.
We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverleo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    55
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
347
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed recently for one night on our way back from Cornwall. Greeted by our host Jeff who made tea and provided a map and directions to the nearest sports bar and various other points of interest. Very comfortable room. Everything bright and clean including use of the lounge which made it all very homely. Lots of interesting books to browse through, both in the lounge and another area on the first floor where you could sit and read. Breakfast was wonderful, so much choice. Easy walk to town/seafront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just returned from a three-night stay at the Abbeyfield Hotel. This is a bright, friendly 7-bedroom B&B just 5 mins from the Riviera Conference Centre. Our room was comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean. Jeff, the chatty host, is a qualified chef and produces an excellent full English breakfast to order, or continental if you prefer. There is also a small bar and he will do evening meals or early breakfast if you need it. A spacious sitting room is also available if you want it. We were charged £75 per night for our double room with an enormous bed and pleasant view of the garden. No. 32 bus stops just round the corner, and will take you to the town centre and the harbour in about 10 mins and on to Babbacombe if you wish. Otherwise your can walk to Torre Abbey in 5 mins or the sea front in 10. Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at the excellent Abbeyfield. Jeff & Sandra are perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was faultless, tastefully decorated bedrooms and all spotlessly clean. A varied choice for breakfast but you have to sample the full english! Would definitely recommend and would certainly return again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Came down for one night for a big football match. After a long journey we were warmly welcomed by Jeff who settled us in, gave us info about the local area and even took the time to research and chat about our football team which was a nice touch. We were in room 1, with a massive bed which I have to say was the most comfortable bed I've ever stayed in when away. Big bathroom with nice shower. The whole hotel was clean, felt new and well looked after. The breakfast was delicious and even went away with some local jam. Will definitely use Jeff and Sandra again if we are down this way. Perfect for what we needed. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewainscoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We chose this B & B as we were arriving by train and it is a short walk from Torquay station also because of excellent reviews. We were not disappointed and enjoyed a very comfortable and relaxing stay. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and Jeff and Sandra were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and recommending local eating places. Breakfast was excellent (perfect poached eggs made to order) We would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just had a nice relaxing weekend at the Abbeyfield guesthouse. To say it is a B&B is doing it an injustice. The attention to detail and the high standard of care from Jeff and Sandra made this a really enjoyable stay. The bedroom we stayed in was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was plentiful with options for continental or full English, and all freshly prepared with a proper cup of coffee. Would have absolutely no doubt in thoroughly recommending the Abbeyfield if you are thinking of visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darylp648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing