We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was such a perfect little B&B for our 3 day visit to Torquay. Jeff was welcoming and very informative. He recommending places to visit and gave us directions to get to town etc. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom in the standard room we stayed in was very spacious. We didn't really make it to breakfast as we had lie ins so can't comment on that. The location is perfect to get around by foot or a short taxi ride. I would definitely stay here again. Great value, good service and clean!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    59
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
359
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Only stayed one night here - when disappointed by another hotel in Torquay. However, my welcome was warm and genuine.
Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Jeff was the perfect host and breakfast was one of the best I've had in quite some time.

I will return and would advise others to try here if you're fed up with coporate faceless places.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very nice B&B with 7 rooms. Kept in very good condition and exceptionally clean. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. Can understand why guests keep returning to this establishment. Well done to the hosts Jeff & Sandra!

Room Tip: Room 2 on first floor, large zip & link six foot bed, if you like a big bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A lovely warm welcome by both Jeff and Sandra with a choice of tea or coffee on our arrival, and that attentive service continued throughout our weekend stay. We stayed in Room 2 which was spotless and decorated to a high standard with a view of the pleasantly well looked after garden, the king size bed was very comfortable resulting in a full good nights sleep. Jeff was very informative of the local area, giving us plenty of local places to visit and eat to make the most of our stay in Torquay. The breakfast was great with a wide range of choice to suit all; the cooked breakfast was delicious satisfying us throughout the day. Would definitely recommend.
Good location for a lovely walk into the town centre, seafront and restaurants. It is a very quiet location with sufficient off road parking for guests only. The guest house it self is spotless and nicely decorated, very modern and bright. From arrival to leaving you couldn’t ask for more from your hosts both Jeff and Sandra were ever so welcoming and helpful ensuring that your stay is an enjoyable stay.
Would definitely recommend and most definitely be staying again.
Abbi & Steve

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbilea o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Sandra and Jeff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. We had a lovely room, in which we slept very comfortably. The breakfast was simply wonderful, with plenty of choice all freshly prepared. We will definitely be visiting again next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay rooms were spotlessly clean and with fresh decor. Parking outside was a bonus and the hosts jeff & sandra made us feel very welcome during the whole stay, the pot of tea on arrival very welcome! 5 minute walk from the seafront & not far from the train station either. We have a 17 month old and they had travel cot & hi chair for him which was fab and they made a real fuss of him! I always check reviews on tripadvisor and these were spot on about Abbeyfield..breakfast was wonderful & filled us up for the whole day. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Read the other reviews and would say If you need a ground floor room then say..am certain they will do all they can to accomodate...place is great would recommend & we will be back! Thank u!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazbo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit this year.
As always warm reception by Jeff and Sandra.
Facilities first class and breakfast just as perfect.

Just trying to arrange for next years visits and will be taking our grand daughter 7 years of age for one on the visits.

Thank you Jeff and Sandra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,758 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Property: Abbeyfield Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing