We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Absolutely superb. Cooked breakfast done to order using quality ingredients was a highlight. Jeff and Sandra make you feel totally at home from the moment you arrive. They'll help you with finding local attractions. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank harpoon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 546 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Jeff and Sandra are very warm hosts and extremely helpful. Excellent family room and spotless throughout. Superb venue and attention to detail was second to none. Would recommend to anyone looking for a venue you can rely on. Very quiet location, with a very good Indian restaurant nearby and not much else of note.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent two nights at Abbeyfield Hotel. The couple who run the place are very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and coffee and tea was available. The breakfast was very good. Internet access was a bit unreliable, but this was not a problem for us. Definately a place we would consider to vist again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sverre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay and Jeff & Sandra are the perfect hosts, great breakfast
with very comfortable rooms,excellent decor and very homely. Good location for
visiting seafront, restuarants & shops, would definitely recommend. Thanks Jeff & Sandra for all your attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Once again, we had a lovely stay with Jeff and Sandra, who looked after us very well. They are a very friendly couple, who are most welcoming. The breakfast was so plentiful, with something to suit everyone, and the cooked breakfast was perfection!!!!!
We will be back.
Ron and Janice

Room Tip: Our room had a full bathroom which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friend & I spent just one night (I had a gift voucher) at the Abbeyfield and Jeff & Sandra couldn't have been more flexible & welcoming, allowing us to check in early because we were going to be late in that evening. The room & rest of hotel was spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds and a superb & varied breakfast which satisfied us until supper time! It is in a very quiet location with ample off-road parking for guests, and within minutes' walking distance of the sea. I would recommend this hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here on a last minute booking through Late Deals in August 13. Guest House is very clean and well decorated, The couple who own and run the guest house are very welcoming and hospitable, plus the owner is a chief. Bonus! Excellent breakfast. The guest house is ideally located; central to most activities offered throughout the town. Would recommend this place and will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank natasha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing