We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised service and immaculate accommodation”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I returned from a weeks stay in Abbeyfield last Friday. The attention to detail of the hosts, Jeff and Sandra was first class. Jess gave an overview of places to visit and took us to our room and explained how everything worked. He had even supplied two fans as the weather was very hot during our stay. Our room was number 3 which has a lounge with separate TV. The view from this room was quiet and looked over the garden which was beautifully kept and residents could use the chairs and tables to relax with a drink. The car park was secure and safe. Torre Abbey, the station, the bus stop, the town, restaurants and sea front were all a 5 minute walk away. Cockington =- the picturesque thatched village was just a 20 minute walk away or accessible by a short car or bus journey. I could not think of anything that I could possibly have wanted for breakfast that was not on offer. Our stay was truly 5 star!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidejemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent 4 days at this delightful hotel. The bed was huge - super king size - and very comfortable. Plenty of storage space and a decent sized shower cubicle. Jeff recommended places to eat and even gave us discount vouchers for 2 of the restaurants we ate in. Also recommended a local pub that was 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Wrote down directions for us for places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dsc12310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Jeff and Sandra were the perfect hosts for our stay in this great little hotel in Torquay. Very clean
and nicely decorated rooms our comfortable bed was made for a good sleep which was only reduced by the noisy seagulls which were determined to have their say. visitors in possession of a bus pass will find Abbeyfield an excellent base to make good use of Torquay's services. Our mistake was to stay for just four nights - it should have been for at least a week jean and ron (orpington)

Room Tip: any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

had first weekend away with girlfriend and 18 month old daughter since she was born. chose a very nice hotel with very welcoming owners. we were able to check in at 10am instead of the 2.30 normal time. owner knew all of the tourist hotspots and was able to direct us there. breakfast was superb with fruit and yoghurt to start (if wanted) followed by a good choice of cereal (if wanted) then followed by a full English (if wanted) washed down with coffee or a choice of tea's and toast. all in all a great place to stay. would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a fantastic little hotel, we couldn't fault it at all. We were met by Jeff and Sandra upon arrival and were looked after impeccably until we left, what fantastic hosts nothing was too much trouble and they went the extra mile to make sure our stay was one to remember.
The room was spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated, the bed was a super king size and we had 3 very good nights sleep.
The breakfasts were the best we have had ever in any hotel and set us up for the day, a credit to Jeff.
All in all a fantastic hotel and hosts and we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The super king size bed is the one for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardb2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Couldnt fault this hotel. Jeff and Sandra were the perfect hosts; felt more like family or friends. Tastefully furnished, quiet location and best breakfast ever. Stayed 6 nights and didnt want to leave. They went the extra mile; nothing was too much trouble and so helpful. As 70 year olds we used our bus passes to go everywhere. The bus stop was few yards away so we left the car outside the hotel and relaxed! Wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else in Torquay. You will not be disappointed and glad you went.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hosts have a wonderful way of making you feel at home from the moment you step in the reception room of the Abbeyfield Hotel. I was travelling solo and both Jeff and Sandra did everything to make me feel comfortable. Their humor and attention to the needs of their guests was outstanding.They assisted me with identifying the sights that I would enjoy, locating these, as well as making tour arrangements while I was in the area. Breakfast was superb. I kept extending my stay in Torquey and this was in large measure due to the warm welcome I received from Jeff and Sandra.I would return to the Abbeyfield Hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joyce554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#6 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing