We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jackie & john- what a lovely hotel”
Review of Abbeyfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbeyfield Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on 27th and 28th May. Jeff and Sandra were both very welcoming and informative. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast was superb. Bedroom extremely clean and comfortable, as was the hotel throughout. Excellent stay, immaculate property, a definite 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 551 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed over the late May bank holiday weekend 2013. Very welcoming on arrival, sat in the lounge with a cup of tea while Jeff explained local area & attractions. Room was bigger than expected and suited us perfectly as we had the junior suite which was split with an arch (with pull across curtain) so our little one slept in one side in his travel cot (which has a pull out sofa bed for older children) and we had our own space. The bed was extremely comfy and the room was well decorated and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the B&B. The breakfast was good with plenty to choose from and it was all very tasty and the fry up was always lovely and hot. Overall a good location and very quiet, slight walk into town but away from all the night-life so a good nights sleep had by all.

It was a lovely anniversary break and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Junior suite (room 3) ideal for families with small children as you can all have your own space (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good sides: good service, great value, bed is very comfortable and clean. 5 minutes walking distance to the beech. We had one family on-suite and one single double bed room. The family on-suite is suitable for family with up to two kids. Breakfast is ok.
Bad sides: TV receiver for the kids room does not work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alaneric04271231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel. The hosts were lovely. When we arrived they made us a drink and then told us about the area and local attractions. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were well equipped, well decorated and very comfortable. The food was delicious. We had evening meals as well as breakfast. One of us is a vegetarian and great care and attention was taken as to what food we liked. The hotel is located in a nice quiet area and the town and sea front are only a few minutes away. We thoroughly enjoyed our week and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona_O325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Superb stay at the Abbeyfield. Jeff and Sandra were extremely accommodating and helpful. Always will to answer questions and provide assistance. Clean, tidy and breakfast was amazing!! They were incredibly accommodating to my little boy. Thank you guys. Dave

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dave k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here recently whilst working at the Conference Centre. It was a very quick walk there, which was very handy. The owners made us very welcome and the facilities and food were excellent. I haven't got any complaints at all!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clovetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great room, lovely bathroom, courteous and thoughtful service, excellent breakfast, a real understanding of what a guest wants. I am often away overnight and have not stayed in a better B&B in this price range anywhere in the UK

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the super king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfield Hotel

Address: Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Business Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbeyfield Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyfield hotel is a 6 bedroom,4 star licensed family hotel. Situated in one of Torquay's most favored locations, set within its own south-facing garden, with private parking. 400 Yards from seafront, train station, Riviera centre and within easy walking distance of harbour and town. Torbay offers a wide choice of quality attractions and is well served by good road, bus, ferry and rail links. For keen walkers, there are beautiful coastal walks and country parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbeyfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfield Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing