We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top guest house in and around Devon.”
Review of Avenue Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Had a fantastic weekend away in this guest house with the mother and father in law and my partner for his birthday. The rooms were spacious and newly decorated with that cleanliness touch. Our rooms were always clean for when we came back with more tea, coffee etc... The breakfast was mouthwatering and filled us for the day and if needed Keith and Sandra where happy for us to bring our evening meals back to eat in the guest house. The view outside of the guest house was picturesque and Keith and Sandra themselves are 110% friendly. I very highly recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a weekend break. Look forward to seeing Keith and Sandra alot more in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2009

Recently stayed at the hotel and had a great welcome with handy tips on where to visit and eat.

Great location with clean and comfortable rooms.

We had fantastic leisurely breakfasts in sunny room overlooking the park...not stuck in some basement like most places we've stayed in!...set us up for the rest of the day!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

my partner and i have stayed at this guest house twice now, and each time gets better if possible ! both Keith & Sandra are the best hosts we have encountered in a long time, nothing is too much trouble.
We went this weekend as it was my sons 18th birthday! i mentioned that i needed a cake and they took that worry away from me by arranging it using there own judgement and it was wonderfull, they even decorated the dining room with birthday balloons/banners, my son had the best time/birthday ever and this is thanks and credit to them both.Thank you Keith and Sandra for a truly enjoyable weekend we will see you soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassi2Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

This was a nice place to stay but found keith and sandra to be a bit intrusive also was very upset when we had a shower and went out and come back to SAME towles put to dry for us to use again. This put me off wanting to go back to this hotel as think clean towels are not a lot to ask for.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzyjukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

our 4th visit in 2 years, always a warm friendly welcome. Hotel is always clean & tidy, and the breakfast is 'out of this world'
Keith & Sandra make every guest feel special and most welcome.
This is our home from home in Torquay.

Stayed: February 2009
Thank cruachan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We booked our stay following the reviews on here and we weren't disappointed. We decided to have superior room 9 and it was wonderful; peaceful and elegant decor, spotlessly clean throughout including the lovely, modern en-suite. There was a full sized TV and plenty of tea, coffee, soup, water and biscuits to keep us going. The view from our room and the dining room across the green was stunning on the sunny mornings. The location was perfect with plenty of parking and just a pleasant 5 minutes to the seafront.

Sandra and Keith really gave us the best welcome ever and couldn't have been more helpful with their tips on the best places to visit and where to eat. Sandra's breakfasts were absolutely delicious and my fussy vegetarian diet was catered for - check out the veggie sausages! My partner enjoyed his beautifully cooked full English too and it was all washed down with lashings of fresh tea and coffee served by the very cheerful Keith.

We had such a relaxing time in Torquay that we can't wait to go back and we'll definitely be making the wonderful Avenue Park our choice in future.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BrightonDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We arrived at Avenue Park Guest House to find the house being in a lovely elevated position. On entering we were warmly greeted shown to our room which as experienced worldly travellers we can highly recommend that you could not fault this guest house for its great for value, home from home luxuries nice and quiet location we walked five minutes to the beach five minutes to the local park for anyone coming with families a swimming pool complex just around the corner. We noticed that there was busses around the corner which went to all the local spots which could all be accessed easily for day trips. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We have travelled to many five star hotels around the world all we can say is that many people go through many reviews looking for the right place with the right attitude and the right location. Can I just say is that we have done your homework for you all you need to do is just book and enjoy your stay in Torquay. p.s. don't forget we went in November; what this looks like in the summer must be fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jersey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#45 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Park

Address: Villa and Apartment 3 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range: $165 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Park 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Self Catering Accommodation 5 minutes walk from sea front and beach. A Large 3 bedroomed Villa with views over parkland and garden, and a luxury 2 bedroom Apartment both with free Hi Speed WiFi and large Smart Tv's and sound systems. The ideal location and home from home comfort for any holiday. Open all year for winter and Christmas breaks too. The Villa and Apartment are newly designed and refurbished. Avenue Park Villa can sleep up to 7 people plus a travel cot as required. The Apartment can sleep up to 4 people. Both have fully fitted kitchens and everything is provided including linen and towels. Pets can be accommodated on enquiry at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Park Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing