We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Patricia Guest House
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Clean, comfortable, friendly couple who own the business. Excellent breakfast and adequate parking. I would certainly stay again and would recommend this accomodation

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abn400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

On arrival we were welcomed by Roy who explained there wasn't any parking spaces left for the hotel but we could park at another hotel for £3 per day, we agreed to do this.
We were suprised to be asked for full payment on arrival!
We booked a superior room which was on the first floor at the front of the hotel. Small bathroom with nice towels. The tea making facilities were poor only had biscuits 1 day out of 4 & were only 2 sachets coffee left each day if you wanted more you have to pay 25p each also we had 1 milk that was well out of date!
Breakfast you choose what you want the night before fruitjuice,yoghurt,cereals, full English, muffins, croisants etc.
Lovely breakfast as much tea/coffee toast as u want.
2nd morning we were one of the 1st down for breakfast but last to be served! 3rd morning I'd asked for scrambled eggs with muffins I was given scrambled eggs on lightly done well buttered toast & told they'd run out of muffins... It would have been nice to have been told this & given another choice 1st I also heard others been told they'd run out of chocolate croisants so had plain.
Patricia is a nice friendly hotel great location near harbour shops bars resturants but I think a few little improvements could be made.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186402Elaine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were greated by Roy & Kath and shown to our "superior room" broadsands, this was a pleasant, clean, well presented room, it had flat screen tv, tea & coffee facilities, and bathroom supplies, fresh clean towels, after a comfortable nights sleep, we awoke to a " full english" breakfast, (which I can highly recommend) we particually liked the bacon, very tasty! although we were given lots of other breakfast options, to start there was a excellent selection of cereals, (quality brands, not cheap alternatives!) which for me a must, tea & coffee in abundance and as much toast as we wanted, preserves etc, nothing was too much trouble, from this friendly professional couple, we went for the day to discover the delights of Torquay, we had a early family holiday here 18 years previous (unfortunately not at the patricia!) and we returned to our eveing meal, again we were not disappointed, 3 courses all home made, fresh vegetables and home-made, we had a bottle of wine, from the suprisingly small but well-stocked bar, after our eveing in Torquay we returned to sample the delights of the lounge/bar and the hospitality of Roy & Kath, this hotel is a "jewel in the crown" and I am surprised at the standard of this compact, but well run hotel - a must for any future travellers, we will definately return! Thank you Roy & Kath.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldManGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Roy and Kath are excellent hosts and provide a wonderful service. I chose to stay here due to the high recommendation of other guests on trip advisor, and due to its proximity to the conference centre. After my stay, I can say that I fully understand why they have recieved such high praise, that I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others or choosing to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldManGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Our stay at the Patricia was first class. We where welcomed warmly and made to feel relaxed straight away. The breakfast is cooked just how you want it with plenty of choice and served bang on time. The room was very clean with great on suit facilities and had plenty of room to kick back and relax after a day of sight seeing and shopping. The hotel itself is just a short 3-4 minute walk from the sea front and only 10-15 minute walk from Torquay town centre. There is loads to do in the local area to much to mention realy, but we took out a day saver on the local bus route for the day which takes you up and down the coast for £4.50/person, you can see Paignton.Brixham, Babbacombe etc until 11pm at night all on the same ticket and a bus comes buy each stop every 10-15 mins !easy . A great way to see all the local sights and have a beer in each town !!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Lovely little Guest House/B&B. Clean and tidy throughout. Nice little touches with the decor. Our room was on the 1st floor and at the back of the hotel so was lovely and quiet!
The breakfast was delicious and the whole experience was great! A short walk to the Princess Theatre and Sea Front. A couple of great pubs close by too! Kath and Roy are really friendly and welcoming too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Roy and Kath were very welcoming. Nice clean room of a good size. Lovely breakfasts with a good choice to suit all appetites. The hotel is well-located, just a short walk down to the seafront and Torre Abbey Sands. Shops and pubs nearby. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjnmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
141 reviews
0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 85 in Torquay
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#51 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashurst Lodge
Ashurst Lodge
#70 of 85 in Torquay
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patricia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patricia Guest House

Address: 64 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $51 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Patricia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patricia Guest House is a charming Victorian town house built Circa 1871 and retains many period features, We are ideally situated in a central position within Torquay with the Town Centre and Sea front being approximately a 6 minute walk away, Tor Abbey and The Riviera Centre is approximately a 3 minute walk. Paignton, Babbacombe, Teignmouth, and Brixham are a short drive or bus journey away. We have a large comfortable guest lounge available with a Licenced Bar, you can also sit relax and read one of our many books which you are welcome to loan or play a board game. All of our comfortable guest rooms are en-suite and benefit from Tea and Coffee making facilities, Flat Screen Freeview TV's, and Hair Dryers. Our Superior and family rooms have 32" Flat Screen Freeview TV's with built in DVD player and are larger, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Patricia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patricia Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing