We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay at the Montana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montana Guest House Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Montana Guest House Torquay
Ranked #60 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
south wales, uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great stay at the Montana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a great stay here recently. Karen was a perfect host making shure we had everything we needed. She also had a variety wealth of knowledge, not just of Torquay, but, of surrounding areas too. Fabulous tips of excellent restaurants to eat at. We only stayed for two nights, but will stay longer next time. The breakfast food is of excellent quality and variety cooked to perfection by her marvellous husband. We would also like to give 10 out of ten for the hard work that was put in by Pippa, Karen's daughter. A real treat of a holiday for us, maximised by the care and attention to Karen and her family. Thank you all. We will be back soon.
Mike and Julie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 217michaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

my daughter and I aged 7 visited the montana for a 5 day b & b break. We were met at the train station by a complimentary taxi and on arrival were greeted at the hotel by Karen the owner and I knew straight away this was going to be alovely place. I was right the b & b was spotlessly clean and I am very fussy, we had been upgraded to a bigger room at no extra cost, I a coeliac and my needs were catered for from breakfast to the homemade cakes left out ever afternoon to places to visit. The breakfast was a choice of cereal,fruit,pastries a full cooked english,yogurt juice or tea and coffee, the breakfast was hot and very yummy. My daughter and I felt like we were staying with friends and not a b & b we had never been to before nothing was to much trouble and phillipa the ladies daughter who served us at breakfast time was fabulous and very helpful. We plan to go back in the next month with my husband and this will be a new holiday destination for us well done to the montana words cannot express how lovely this stay was thank you.

Room Tip: all the rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaluday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I came here to stay with my girlfriend for our first weekend away with each other, it was a great stay, the room we had was perfect for us,the room was spotless could tell they take pride in apperance, pleasently greeted on arrival by owner Karen, she made sure everything was ok and catered for all our needs, breakfast was at a reasonable time,and was cooked well ( can see why they were awarded a breakfast award),it was served by karens daughter who was polite and made a good first impression!, Karen couldnt do more for us it was great, will definatly stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulsdon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

we had booked a superior room on arrival we was told due to a water leak our room was not
available.we was given a smaller room which was clean and tidy but no offer of a refund.as we had
paid an extra £30.00 for the superior room.also there was no bar maybe due to the water leak?not happy small, room no bar, dinning room closed, had to eat in a small lounge. Now the good points mother and daughter were very nice and helpful good food free home made cake. and good location 5 mins walk to the beach and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Owner at The Montana Guest House Torquay, responded to this review, June 15, 2015
We were extremely disappointed to read your comments as we did explain on your arrival that just that very morning there had been a burst pipe which had caused significant damage to both our dining room and the room you should have occupied.

Instead of cancelling your holiday which we could have done at extremely short notice, we were able to rearrange other bookings and you were given a room of equal size albeit not as nicely decorated which we also explained.

The water damage also meant we had to use our bar/lounge as a temporary dining facility which was also explained.

However, we're glad you enjoyed the home cooking, freshly baked cake and our hospitality which we endeavor to provide to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

my husband and i have just returned from a 3 day stay. karen made us feel very welcome upgraded our room to a bigger one without us requesting it. was so helpful with local information. breakfast was extremely good there is a menu choice which is excellent and caters for all tastes. the hotel was extremely clean carnt wait for our next stay. keep up the excellent work karen and glen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very friendly atmosphere, excellent cooking. Very clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble to make our stay so enjoyable. Such a good location for bowlers playing at Torquay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

couple in late 50s stayed 3 nights may 2012 made to feel welcome, food excellent, rooms clean,facilities good. all round score 9.5 out of 10

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#76 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#81 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montana Guest House Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montana Guest House Torquay

Property: The Montana Guest House Torquay
Address: 21 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montana Guest House Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Reviews, Great Food , Great Place. we could be just what you're looking for. The Princess Theatre is also just a short stroll away & offers many of the latest Musicals, Comedians and pre-theatre dining. A warm welcome always awaits you. The Montana is a beautiful Victorian building offering quality bed and breakfast accommodation, situated 500 metres from Torquay's beachfront, and one of the closest establishments to the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre, and a short stroll to the harbour with its many cafes, restaurants and bars. It is an ideal base for exploring any of the attractions of The English Riviera. We could be just what you're looking for. The Princess Theatre is also just a short stroll away & offers many of the latest Musicals, Comedians and pre-theatre dining. A warm welcome always awaits you. We are also only 500 metres from the South West Coastal Path for the more energetic among you. We offer FREE pick up and drop off to rail/coach stations. There is FREE on road parking available in the surrounding area, and a reasonably priced pay & display car park within a few yards. Enjoy one of our delicious Award Winning full english breakfasts or for the smaller appetite we have many more options available. We are delighted to be able to comfortably cater for those with Gluten Free Breakfast requirements and this has seen us recommended on the Coeliac UK website by guests who have been especially happy with what we can offer. Special offers always available especially mid September - December & January - March, check our pages or if you can't find what you are looking for we are always happy to accept e-mail or telephone enquiries. Our philosophy is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and offer all of those extra personal touches. We are a completely family run business, and pride ourselves on good home cooking, using fresh locally sourced produce where available. Whether you need a relaxing break for the two of you or coming on holiday with the children, we can provide what you're looking for, with Standard Double Rooms, spacious Superior Rooms, with some rooms big enough to accommodate an extra bed or travel cot. The Montana retains many of its original features, and we are continually refurbishing all areas of the building whilst retaining some of its original charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Montana Guest House Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montana Guest House Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing