We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Guest House
Ranked #67 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value, ideal location”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked the Mariners Guesthouse for a three day business trip based on customer reviews and we were not disappointed.
The location is excellent, within a short distance of the town and the sea front. My wife came with me and she was able to walk to the shops etc during the day to pass the time away! The pub which is 50 yards away from Mariners serves real ale and very good evening meals, and the Indian restaurant across the road is one of the best I've ever eaten in with very good service and value!
Breakfast at Mariners is plentiful and would keep you going all day.
The only negative comment worth making is that rooms 1 and 2 are at the front of the hotel which is on a busy road, and they are very, very noisy! Double glazing would sort that as otherwise, the room was comfortable, cleaned each day, fresh towels daily and the resident proprietors are very friendly and helpful. Would we stay again and recommend to others....Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul11553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you want , a lovley guest house you need to book here .we were welcomed and our luggage was taken to our rooms. We were given information about the local area and discount vouchers ! The rooms were immaculate and cleaned on a daily basis to high standard ! The breakfast was lovley there is ample choice , they also catered for younger children such as offering frosties and co-co pops ect.. Witch went down well with my little boy ! The last day of my stay it was my birthday and the owners made me a birthday cake , which reflected their kind and friendly personalities .a great guest house I definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

arrived for 4 nights on 1st aug.was welcomed and showed to our room.nice bed very clean.breakfast you cant complain at all.lots of choice vegatarian available.top breakfast. from fruit to yogarts to a full english fresh fruit juice tea coffee.and about 10 choices of cerial as well .best ive had.room cleaned every day to a high standered .5 mins from the riviara centre 5 mins from the sea front and 5 mins from top of the shopping centre.the hotel is on a main road and you will hear a little road noise.we have been going to torquay for 13 years and this is the best guest house we have stopped in. there is a paper shop across the road ,a pub 100 yards up the road that sells real ale and a taxi office a little further past the pub.perfect location.for us.we will be booking again for next summer why go anywhere else..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jultimatewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent two nights at the Mariners - family of four and our elderly mum. Could not fault anything at all about the Mariners. Breakfast was absolutely brilliant - spoilt for choice and we probably over indulged so we didn't need anything else to eat until the evening. Accommodation was spotless - ground floor double was brilliant for those who couldn't do the stairs and our deluxe room was exactly that. Our teenage daughters had the ground floor twin room which was also lovely. I am unsure as to how Roger and Co., could do anything to improve the whole experience. Just wish we had been staying longer but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just stayed at the marina guest house. Exceptionally clean and modern. Hosts were very welcoming. Thanks for making our stay so relaxing and comfortable. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonlhowatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Immaculate accomodation, very friendly hosts. Made myself and hubby and three yr old son very welcome. Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice. Hosts gave us discount voucher booklet for local ammenities which was great as saved us a few pounds! Ground floor family room lovely and quiet with beautiful en suite. I love those tiles!! As a family we would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house for your stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

HOW WERE YOUR HOSTS- 10 very pleasent and helpfull

HOW CLEAN WAS MARINERS- 10 spotless cleaned and tidied daily

HOW WHERE THE FACILITIES -10 lots of extra bits for guests

HOW DID YOU SLEEP - 2 bed was to small lumpy mattress very noisy road needs double glazzing

HOW WAS BREAKFAST - 10 excelent lots of choice and good hot food on hot plates

WOULD WE STAY AGAIN - maybe if we had another room and a better bed, no sleep in our case was the problem.

Room Tip: ask for back room away from main road small double is like a large single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#66 of 149 in Torquay
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#29 of 149 in Torquay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Trouville
The Trouville
#89 of 149 in Torquay
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#87 of 149 in Torquay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Guest House

Property: Mariners Guest House
Address: 35 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariners Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for the major tourist attractions Torquay has to offer (around 400 metres from the Seafront) and within a mile of Torquay Railway/Coach Stations, Harbour & Marina, Riviera International Centre, Torre Abbey, Princess Theatre, Town Centre, Bars and Restaurants. Our 7 stylish rooms, (two on the ground floor) include two Family rooms, King, Double, Twin & Single room options, and for our guests comfort, they are all serviced daily. All rooms have full shower en-suite facilities (Agatha Christie & Torre Abbey rooms also have a bath) plus WIFI - Complimentary Toiletries - Flat Screen Freeview TVs - Hospitality Tray - Radio Alarm Clock - Hair Dryer and Ironing Facilities on request. We also have a front patio seating area. A full Mariners English/vegetarian breakfast, plus lighter options and buffet, are served in our stylish ground floor Breakfast Room at the front of the building, between 08.30am-09.30am Monday-Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mariners Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing