We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, spotless, excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariners Guest House - Torquay
Ranked #54 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

As the previous reviews have stated, you couldn't find a better place to stay for £55 p/n ! The rooms were spotless & contemporary which makes a nice change from guesthouses we've previously stayed in ! Nice attention to detail like the fluffy white towels changed daily & quality toiletries in the gleaming bathroom. Again, not wishing to repeat previous reviews but I can only reiterate the breakfasts were excellent, good choice of fruit, cereral, juices, fresh tea, coffee & of course the full English. Everything also spotless in the dining room !
We were lucky with parking as there are only 3 spaces ( which are a bit of a squeeze after the full english ) but obviously this is through no fault of the owners & like most places now parking is at a premium. Highly recommended for a stay in Torquay !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjwdmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have just arrived back from a very enjoyable stay in Torquay at the Mariner's. Arriving to a warm and very helpful welcome on Monday, we were showed to our very clean, nicely furnished en-suite room. We were lucky that there was a space left in the parking bays round the back of the hotel. We didn't really use the car during our stay so could keep our space (only 3 available). The guesthouse was around a 15-20 min walk to town, taking 2 different routes. During the day we tended to walk left from the guesthouse throught the town centre, and in the evenings, straight down Belgrave Road and across the bridge to the marina. Breakfast, as the person said below, was excellent. We opted for the hot, fresh and tasty fry up. Lots of other choice available. We had wi fi in our room and fresh towels each day. The owners were only too helpful, with tourist info and offering to help us to the car with luggage. With its central location, excellent service and comfort, The Mariner's is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We decided upon this b&b after considering other reviews and the affordable price. At £55 a night, including a substantial breakfast, this guesthouse represents excellent value. However, just because it was decidely cheaper than the bigger hotels on the front, didn't mean that it lacked the luxuries that help make your break special- such as a generous beverages tray, fluffy white towels and luxury hand soap. The cleanliness of everything was second to none - room was spotless and breakfast cutlery, bowls etc were immaculate. I feel that the owners take pride in their guesthouse and care about their guests.
The breakfast selection was oustanding, with a choice of about ten branded cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, a lovely full cooked breakfast and plenty of toast. Freshly brewed coffee and tea in a pot were nice touches.
Only one slight niggle, our room smoke alarm went off twice! It seemed to be set off by either my hairdryer or the shower and was certainly not intentional or caused by any 'misuse' of any equipment or smoking. The owner became frustrated with me saying that it had never happened before, so in fear of frustrating him further, I resorted to trailing my hairdryer into the bathroom from the TV plug to avoid this. I also kept all windows open and put the fan on as I was so scared of setting it off again. This did add a certain level of anxiety to my stay, especially since as I was only carrying out a normal activity. Maybe no-one else dries their hair?
Parking can be a bit of a nightmare. Mariner's has three spaces (not that this is their fault- the guesthouse was built before cars were!) which were too tight for our car. Belgrave Road has restricted parking. The owner advised us to use Bridge Street which was a 5 minute walk away, where we could USUALLY find a space. Although we coped fine with the walking and parking, I can see that this may be a problem for people with mobility difficulties.
Despite these slight discomforts, every other aspect of our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. Location was great for us; a 25 minute walk into Torquay town centre was close enough to not become a chore but far away enough to leave the action behind at the end of the night.
I would recommend the Mariner's Guest House for an enjoyable, affordable stay with a touch of luxury that you may not find at other B&Bs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miandma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed here August 2011, the couple were very freindly and helpfull. The room was small but immaculate. The breakfast was amazing with good options if you didn"t want "The Full English" ( its a must though ! ) I would highly reccoment this guest house and would definately stay again. Many thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and i have just spent a week at Roger and Nigels guest house,what a very friendly couple nothing too much or too little to help your stay in Torquay be what you want,rooms very clean facilities good; breakfast excellent does the perfect poached egg,not to say that all breakfast was well presented,would recomend with the blink of an eye we will deffinatley stop again. Alex and Viv Sheffield

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1teabag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights - and everything was perfect . The room and bathroom were spotless. The breakfasts were amazing- so much to eat !! The location is perfect too. Just around the corner to catch a bus into town , or the pleasant walk into town takes around 15 to 20 minutes . The owners explained all this ,and more , before I arrived, so there were no surprises- apart from just how good it is here !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the mariners from the moment you arrive you are made most welcome The rooms are clean with nice touches to just give you those little extras The breakfast menu can accomdate any options again with lots of extras and squeezy marmite a luxury Your hosts let you settle in but are always there to help definetly one to vist

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblue87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#69 of 149 in Torquay
155 reviews
0 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#40 of 149 in Torquay
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.9 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Guest House - Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Guest House - Torquay

Address: 35 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $68 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariners Guest House - Torquay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for the major tourist attractions Torquay has to offer (around 400 metres from the Seafront) and within a mile of Torquay Railway/Coach Stations, Harbour & Marina, Riviera International Centre, Torre Abbey, Princess Theatre, Town Centre, Bars and Restaurants. Our 7 stylish rooms, (two on the ground floor) include two Family rooms, King, Double, Twin & Single room options, and for our guests comfort, they are all serviced daily. All rooms have full shower en-suite facilities (Agatha Christie & Torre Abbey rooms also have a bath) plus WIFI - Complimentary Toiletries - Flat Screen Freeview TVs - Hospitality Tray - Radio Alarm Clock - Hair Dryer and Ironing Facilities on request. We also have a front patio seating area. A full Mariners English/vegetarian breakfast, plus lighter options and buffet, are served in our stylish ground floor Breakfast Room at the front of the building, between 08.30am-09.30am Monday-Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mariners Guest House - Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Guest House - Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing