We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're under 25.”
Review of Ashurst Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashurst Lodge
Ranked #70 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Couple that run the place couldn't be nicer, rooms couldn't be cleaner and the bed was amazing to sleep in. The location is great, 5 mins walk to shops and harbour and Torquay is a nice place. However, the interior has seen better days, looking like something from the 1930s. The lounge is a big room full of old armchairs with one of the walls covered in old books. It does smell a bit musty but is totally clean throughout. Our room had an old box tv above the door, you would have to squint to see anything on it. Finally breakfast is served quite early (early for us) for one hour and was quite nice. Overall would recommend to older couples but is just too old fashioned for us I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrnadiapowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

stayed in the ground floor single room,small clean and comfortable and good value if i got a breakfast with that,but when you serve breakfast for only one hour 8:30-9:30 there's a good chance your gonna miss it,i find this totally unacceptable ,your on holiday you shouldn't have to set your alarm clock or worry u won't get up in time,i also found this room a bit noisy as i could hear the door bell and the opening and closing of doors and i didn't close the window fully my fault and had the noise from the street.so i'm afraid it's a negative review which would most likely would have been positive if i had breakfast and thus experienced the hospitality that other reviews have commended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Having booked a week's summer holiday in Torquay with our two older children, we were very happy to find a place that offers single rooms at a good rate. When we checked in, the landlord, Norman, confessed to us that they were actually double rooms that were charged as single...

This is a wonderful B&B. Norman and Nena made us feel at home during our stay in Torquay. The full English breakfast was always delicious with Norman and Nena taking good care that we got enough to eat, and always helping out with any questions we had. They'll even pick you up from the station or take you to it if needed.

The B&B is located close to the shopping area and close to the sea, the location is just perfect. It was very nice to have a parking place for our rental car, so we didn't have to worry about that. There's free wireless internet, cable TV and insuite bathrooms in every room.
The place is very clean, the bathrooms are professionally installed and work perfectly. It's a shame we had to leave after a week...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sierk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Having researched where to stay over August Bank Holiday in Torquay, have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ashurst Lodge.
Nice to have off road parking...one less thing to worry about if arriving by car.
Yes, decor may be a little dated to some, but the attention to comfort & cleanliness was of a high standard. We had the family room. Adequate for our needs with lovely comfortable beds. Serviced daily. Good hearty breakfast too. Thoroughly good value for money.
Walking distance to the shops & beach.
Ideal base for exploring the English Riviera. Easy driving distance to some lovely beaches, harbours and various tourist attractions.
Will certainly recommend Ashurst to my friends & family.
Hope to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snaphappy_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is a genuine, honest, old fashioned B&B. The hosts make you feel at home and very very welcome. The atmosphere is truly lovely! This in particular makes the B&B very good value for money and old carpets, electric showers, frilly decor etc. pale into insignificance or might even contribute to the old charm. I travelled on my own, felt very safe and slept like a log.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank wuselmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

excellent hotel. norma and nena made our stay really memorable. the room was fantastic and serviced daily. breakfast was a feast with everything you could want. the english breakfast was superb. can't praise this hotel enough and it is ideally situated with the town a short walk one day and the gardens and the sea a short walk the other way. book this and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank segaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshurstLodge, Owner at Ashurst Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the stay at Ashurst Lodge and we hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The hotel was very clean and fresh smelling, the bathrooms are modern and very clean. Decor slightly dated but the cleanliness made up for that. My room was on the small size but was cleaned everyday, I stayed for the three nights. The only downside was that my single room was next to the dining room and there was noise early in the morning from the other Guests.

As a solo traveller I was made to feel very welcome and given a map of the area by the owner Nena, at £20.00 per night including breakfast it was very good value. It was nice to stay at a hotel that obviously prides itself on good standards of hygene and friendliness. Also when checking out the owner Nena noted that I had a lot of bags (I had bought alot of stuff while in Torquay !) And very kindly offered to run me up to the coach station in her car, how nice is that !!!!!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammysam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#30 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#26 of 85 in Torquay
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.9 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashurst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashurst Lodge

Address: 2-4 St. Efrides Road, Torquay TQ2 5SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $80 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashurst Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashurst Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashurst Hotel Torquay
Ashurst Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing