We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea, cake and good people”
Review of Abingdon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abingdon House
Ranked #52 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

After 100 miles of driving along the coast the first thing you hear is would you like some tea and cake. Whilst we unpacked Janet served tea. The house oozes charm and so do Janet and Andrew. The rooms are big, clean, well equiped and charming and the breakfast is great.
I can recommend the Abingdon house to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martijn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you ever so much for the lovely review. It was great to meet you too and thanks for choosing to stay with us. All the very best. Janet & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent New Year at the wonderful Abingdon House. Andrew, Janet and Catherine really made us feel at home in a wonderful setting. The rooms were spacious, immaculate and very comfortable, we will definitely be returning ...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

What a fab time over New Year. It was great looking after you all. Such un !!! See you all again very soon and thanks for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Returned for a late break after having a wonderful stay in June. You are greeted very warmly and that nothing is too much trouble. Janet &Andrew go out of their way to make you feel at home. The home cooking is a feature that alone would make you want to return again. Looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for the really ice comments. It was fab seeing you again and we are so pleased to have been of service and to have shared a few good laughs with you during your stay !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent our late summer holiday at Abingdon House after having a lovely nine days back in June. From when you step into the door until you say goodbye, our holiday was great. Good hosts with great food comfortable accomodation, immaculate rooms, comfy bed, Nothing too much trouble. Not Ceoliacs ourselves but have a friend who is and says he is in Ceoliac heaven when staying at Abingdon House. Needless to say, we have booked for next year !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Andrew, Janet and Catherine made you feel extremely welcome as soon as you walked through the door. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The cooked meals were exceptional and there was plenty of choice.

We will be returning again and have already made a booking for next September. We thoroughly recommend this guest house and its superb hosts.

Hon C V H and Mrs L Plant

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew c, Owner at Abingdon House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. It was lovely looking after you both and look forward to seeing you again next year. Enjoy the Grandchildren!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently stayed with Janet,Andrew and Catherine at the Abingdon House Hotel Torquay for our family holiday. What a wonderful time we had.Nothing was too much trouble,from tea and cake on arrival, to the first of our superb evening meals,an option well worth taking! Andrew is a marvellous chef and Janet's puddings (with homegrown fruit) are to die for!
The rooms are of an exceptional standard, with flat screen TVs,complimentary tea,coffee and biscuits and even a chocolate each day.
Janet and Andrew are a mine of information about Torquay and the local area. A lovely day out recommended by them, was a bus trip to Shaldon, a lovely village, then the ferry across to Teignmouth.
This is not the first time we have stayed with Janet and Andrew, although the first time at Abingdon House, which they have just taken over this year, but it certainly won't be the last.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndzlizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just had a wonderful 10 day holiday down in Torquay staying with Janet and Andrew.You are made to feel welcome as soon as you walk in the door with a cup of tea and a slice of home made cake.Both Andrew and Janet were exceptional hosts. The rooms were an excellent standard and very comfortable.What can i say about the food.....the food was out of this world some of the best we have ever had.Nothing was too much trouble for them.They gave us good advice on where to go and what sights to see,going to Berry Head and sitting on the cliff top with fantastic views was one of my favourite.Their daughter Catherine was also on hand to help out,she is such a lovely girl and a credit to her parents.We had such a great holiday we have booked to go stay with them again next year and we cant wait. From Yvonne and Stewart w.

Room Tip: Just up the road from sea front, a nice walk to front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon House

Address: 104 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $62 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abingdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon House, owned and run by Janet and Andrew, offers Stylish Accommodation offering Comfort and Luxury. relaxed atmosphere, beautifully furnished en-suite accommodation, ample car parking & free Wifi. Extensive breakfast menu's with both Full English and a variety of Light Options helps to get you started each morning. Abingdon House is ideally situated within the traditional holiday accommodation area. A short level walk will take you to Torre Abbey Gardens, Riviera Centre and Seafront Promenade. Ideal for exploring South Devon. Lots of nice "Little Extra Touches" ensure that the Abingdon will provide you with all your needs and ensure you feel welcome and have a most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing