We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malcolm & Jean”
Review of Abingdon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abingdon House
Ranked #40 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have just spent a weeks holiday at Torquay (19th -26th May) where we stayed at Abingdon House. From the moment we arrived we found everything beyond our expectation. The welcome we recieved assured my wife and myself that we had made a good choice of accomodation. Janet and Andrew along with daughter Catherine were excellent hosts. The tea and cake on arrival was most welcome, our room was tastefully decorated and had ample storage for our clothes etc. The shower room was newly refurbished and of a good size, and the food! we have not had better choice or quality, on any previous holiday, thanks to Andrew and Janet's cooking. As a Coeliac I was so pleased to find that I had no fear about gluton content in the meals. Andrew and Janet were also very helpful on advising us on local walks in the area. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Abingdon House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 205 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at Abingdon House in Torquay. We were looked after exceptionally well and made to feel very welcome by Janet and Andrew. The decoration and cleanliness was first class and our room was comfortable and modern and equipped with many extras. We didn't experience the evening menu but if the breakfast was to go by you will be in for a treat. We would strongly recommend this hotel and intend to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend at Abingdon House which was not long enough ! Our welcome from Jan was warm and friendly and our bedroom was very comfortable with a modern and immaculate bathroom.

Breakfasts were superbly cooked by Andrew, with a wide variety of hot and cold choices . An excellent dinner menu was available daily . The House is conveniently situated close to Torre Abbey and the seafront, and within walking distance of the towncentre.

We would happily recommend this Hotel to our friends and plan to return ourselves in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_maguire321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Abingdon House Torquay. We were welcomed by Janet & Andrew who are very friendly and helpful had tea & home made cake for us on arrival. Our room was clean bright and freshly decorated and the beds were very comfortable.The Breakfast & Evening meals were delicious and my wife who has Coeliac was well catered for
Torbay is a fantastic place with so many places to see and things to do. We particularly liked Paignton Zoo, The Dart Valley Steam Railway and Brixham

Room Tip: room 2 is on the side of the house
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffJoan190760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and i have recently stayed in the Abingdon House on arrival we were made most welcome from Janet co owner with not just a smile but tea and home made cake Our room was bright clean and very comfortable with its own dressing room The food was superb and plentiful i would recommend this Hotel to all who are looking for great value and home from home comfort So again we would like to thank Andrew Janet and Catherine for a most wonderful stay to celebrate my 65 birthday Ps look forward to going again

Room Tip: ask for room 2 great on the back of the building very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Not only are you welcomed with the offer of tea or coffee and home made cake, you are encouraged to feel like you're at home. Although I did say I don't get this service at home! The rooms are very comfortable, clean and bright and I loved the fact I had a dressing room, an all time dream of mine. The food was delicious, the breakfast plentiful with varied options on offer. We had an evening meal once and wished we'd had more. As a non-meat eater, Andrew offered to cook me alternatives so I had as much to choose from. I have never stayed anywhere so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere they create resulted with everyone enjoying a chat while eating. Very pleasant stay, I would certainly recommend it. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at Abingdon House. We were made very welcome from the start by Andrew and Janet and had coffee and homemade cake on arrival. The rooms are lovely and clean, bright and welcoming. The food is absolutely superb and plentiful. The breakfast consists of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit and a huge full English breakfast with toast, tea or coffee. Evening meal was a wonderful three course meal with lots of different choices followed by tea/coffee and mints. They cater for coeliacs and you can relax in the knowledge that the food is gluten free and the homemade puddings are wonderful. Andrew and Janet are excellent hosts and cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#4 of 149 in Torquay
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#27 of 149 in Torquay
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#8 of 149 in Torquay
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#18 of 149 in Torquay
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#20 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon House

Address: 104 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $84 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abingdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon House, owned and run by Janet and Andrew, offers Stylish Accommodation offering Comfort and Luxury. relaxed atmosphere, beautifully furnished en-suite accommodation, ample car parking & free Wifi. Extensive breakfast menu's with both Full English and a variety of Light Options helps to get you started each morning. Abingdon House is ideally situated within the traditional holiday accommodation area. A short level walk will take you to Torre Abbey Gardens, Riviera Centre and Seafront Promenade. Ideal for exploring South Devon. Lots of nice "Little Extra Touches" ensure that the Abingdon will provide you with all your needs and ensure you feel welcome and have a most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Abingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing