We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous stay in the charismatic Coppice!”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A marvellous stay in the charismatic Coppice!”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We recently stayed at the Coppice in apartments adjacent to the main hotel. They were very clean, tidy and modern. The staff were very friendly and the owners more than welcoming.

The indoor pool was great and also the steam room. Unfortunately we could not get the jacuzzi to warm up but that was a minor problem. The gym was very basic but we did not expect much more. Food was of a very good standard especially the breakfast and deserts!

Overall beautiful hotel in a very nice location (apart from the big hill) would recommend and would return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyboykop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    69
    20
    15
    2
See reviews for
64
193
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

excelent hotel staff very helpful good entertanment program laid on never had a dull night rooms very clean food good large choise would recomend it to anyone cant wait to go back carol and david scottish borders

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallacecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from an exellent week at the Coppice hotel.
From arrival to departure we couldn't find a fault Rooms clean, serviced daily, food, good choice and good value. The only down side is you may put on a couple of pounds with the Puddings. There are 2 swimming pools one outside and the other indoors where there is also a steam room and spa.
Within easy reach of Torquay/Babbacome there is always something to do. We would not hesitate to reccomend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdmanNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Having just returned from a weeks Coach holiday with my wife
staying at the Coppice we can only say that we had an exellent time.
The hotel in general and particularly our room was very clean and light.
The food was good and meal times ran like clockwork. Jenny, Sid and all the staff go out of their way to make it a pleasure to be there.
We would certainly go back Couldn't ask for more!
David & Patsy Kent Backworth Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidskent009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My family and i were so looking forward to this long awaited trip . Sid and Jenny gave us a warm and friendly welcome to the Coppice Hotel. My parents are elderly (in their 90s) and my husband is disabled . We requested ground floor rooms together ,by which we were not disappointed . The rooms were larger than average ( going by previous hotels we have stayed in ) The decor is recent and exceptionally clean . The light in the room is hindered slightly by the trees outside , however this did not affect our stay whatsoever ,the lighting in the room was more than adequate .Besides which, we made the most of our stay and spent little time in our room, as we were out enjoying our holiday !!! The staff are friendly and will do anything to make your trip memorable,the food is excellent and the evening entertainment finishes the day nicely. My family and i are hoping to return next year (can't wait !!!! ).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelly187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Jen and Sid gave us a warm welcome. Food was excellent. Room clean and tidy and well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Have just returned from staying a week at the Coppice. Syd and Jenny could not have been more friendly and helpful, as were the rest of the staff. The evening entertainment was very good, especially Jilli (not to be missed). I would not think of staying anywhere else in Torquay now.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#45 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing