We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from a four day trip to Torquay and can't say enough about our wonderful stay at the Coppice. It's location is out of the town, but that makes it more appealing as it is quieter.
The room we had was a good size, had lovely beds and was downstairs next to the indoor pool and dining room. No noise from anywhere, so slept very well. Everything was changed daily to a very good standard.The food from the breakfast and dinner had a great choice, was really delicious and all freshly cooked. So fresh in fact, that I couldn't believe how they done it so quick from the ordering time. Entertainment was fun, even more so after a few lovely tasty pints.
No complaints, excellent all round value for the money. Many thanks Jenny & Sid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    69
    18
    15
    2
See reviews for
62
187
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Sometimes in life one comes across something very special. When it comes to a hotel, the Coppice at Torquay is simply in a class of it's own, absolutely superb in all departments.
You cannot be more impressed with the wonderful friendliness accorded to one by Jenny and Syd, the proprietors.
The rooms are very comfy and clean with all the facilities you would expect. The food reminds one of the very best home cooking, really nicely cooked and appetising. My wife and I are Coeliacs and Jenny was able to offer us gluten free choices at every meal which is always a blessing. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly and I came away feeling we had a very special stay indeed !

Room Tip: There are family rooms available as well as the usual choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikemorfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

As many before me have commented this Hotel lives up to its ratings.
From the backroom team that spruce up your room every day to the wonderful front of house and restaurant staff, all combine to achieve their aim---to make your stay as memorable as possible which will have you wanting to go back as soon as possible.
Torquay and surrounding resorts are a pleasure anyway, but to have somewhere to stay that provides comfort, good food and great company and entertainment, is just the icing on the cake.
I just hope that when I can go next that not too many people have read my review and there is no room available for me!!!!

Room Tip: Rely on the owners, all the rooms have something to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd holiday at the Coppice this year along with 2 friends we meet every year, the food ,cleanliness, and comfort was first class,Syd And Jenny really make you welcome,can`t wait for 2014 to come so we enjoy our breaks with them.

Room Tip: We always have a gound level room,but we have seen a selection of upper rooms which all offer the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmudger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just left the hotel after a lovely week break. The service is fabulous, the food is amazing and the staff are always welcoming and friendly. As I am only 20, I didn't expect there to be much available for me at the hotel but I found that it was a better experience than I had expected it to be. There is entertainment at the hotel most nights of the week, which is fun for everyone. The hotel is clean and the staff are always available to help if there is ever any problems. I can honestly say that this is the best hotel I have stayed at. The hotel is set a bit further back from the town but I found this was better as you did not have to put up with the hustle and bustle of the town centre. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody. Thank you Jenny, Sid and staff for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just come home after a weeks stay at this gorgeous hotel, the food, the entertainment (although cheesy at times), the pool, the rooms but most of all the service were absolutely fantastic. This Hotel is also not just for older people I am 22 and have never stayed in a more comfortable friendly hotel. We cant wait to return soon for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Along with two friends we have just returned from our tenth visit to this hotel.Once again we have had a superb time. The rooms as always were spotless and comfortable. The food was delicious and certainly did not come from 'Iceland' as a previous review suggested.
I assume that people who write these reviews, also read them so know what to expect. Yes, it is on a hill but the bus stops right outside .Yes, the car park is quite small, but it is adequate . We bring two cars and have never failed to park.
Negative comments that single out members of the management or staff make it very personal. Constructive criticism is good but some comments are not only unfair but inaccurate. Things aren't always perfect, but some people go on trips just to moan and should be ashamed of themselves. This is not 'The Ritz' they need to get a life.
To the lady who said she will stop at The Gleneagles next time..... She will pay a lot more for the privilege and I doubt whether their price includes an evening meal.
Thanks Syd and Jen.
See you in May.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbiehelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing