We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RETURN OF SMITH@ JONES”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“RETURN OF SMITH@ JONES”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Once again the Hosts and staff of the Coppice excelled in making this a great holiday,the first of 2013,we will be returning soon.the weather was not good but the hotel and location helps you forget about the weather.the indoor pool is an asset,have been brave enough in the past to use the outdoor pool,but sat on the patio with a drink taking in all the surrounding garden helps you forget your in England,could be anywhere abroad.
Thanks once again. 2 Barbs,Tony @ Steve.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 ground floor rooms over the years,all suites are very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thesmudger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    69
    20
    15
    2
See reviews for
64
195
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We first found this delightful hotel while on a coach trip last year and were so pleased with just about everything here we vowed to return again hoping it would be as good. Glad to say we have just returned from this 5 day stay using our own transport and it was even better this time. The proprieters, Syd and Jenny and their small staff work so hard to make sure their guests stay is memorable, the food and presentation, the immaculate rooms valeted daily to a high standard and the friendly, happy atmosphere certainly works for us. Although very busy, (they seemed to work a 15 hour day x 7), they always found time to come and sit and have a chat in the lounge with you making sure you were ok, sharing a joke or two which made you feel valued and not just a room number.
As soon as we got home we worked out (looking at our almost full calendar) when we could book again as we'd felt thoroughly spoilt for the week and we will be doing that today, can't wait to go back. There is so much to do in the area, we will never tire of returning to Torbay and so glad we have found such a pleasing, reasonably priced hotel as a base.
It was pretty significant that there were 2 other couples staying that had also discovered The Coppice while on a coach trip and had returned again as they enjoyed the experience so much. Wise people!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet at night, most on ground floor but some up stairs so advise if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I arrived home today after a coach trip staying at The Coppice for 4 nights: The place was extremely clean, comfortable, and had a great atmosphere. Syd & Jenny (the proprietors) are very welcoming, friendly very hard-working as are their staff, for whom nothing wa ever too much trouble. The room was serviced every day, always plenty of tea & coffee and fresh towels, I would definitely stay here again. The only thing I would say (which is only observation really ) complimentary toiletries at least on arrival would be the perfect touch. Though I always have my own stuff I am just being picky as I could not think of anything else to pick fault with

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room facing east - lovely morning sunshine in through large window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elesjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on a coach holiday recently,
We had a lovely time, the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and the food was great. The spa and indoor pool facilities were good and a nice added bonus too.
Our suite was excellent and very clean, tea and coffee hospitality tray replenished daily, our room also had a nice terrace over looking the outdoor pool and gardens and a lovely large bathroom.
Evening entertainment was good and a nice friendly bar atmosphere.
Thanks to Sid and Jenny for all their help and a lovely stay, we hope to come back in the future.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has a nice large bathroom with full size bath and shower and lovely high ceilings wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Delightful hotel located in torquay, enjoyable and relaxing holiday. I will consider returning next year. Hotel and staff are friendly and any requests were promptly attended to. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank retired o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for several years in the past with an expanding group of friends that started with six of us,and this year reached nineteen and we're all certain to be going again.Hotel is spotlessly clean,warm,with well appointed and fitted out bedrooms,and the food is excellent,what more do you need when away.There was two nights on our stay with excellent entertainment,and good bar which is reasonably priced into the bargain.Thanks Syd Jenny and all the staff for a great stay again.Excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coachman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folkestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed for a long weekend rooms were clean and well equipped. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for fussy eaters. We had a really enjoyable weekend and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stroller153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing