We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly hotel”
Review of Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red House Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We have just got back from a lovely 3 day stay at The Red House Hotel. We actually stayed here 13 years ago having seen an advert in Teletext. We were just a young married couple then and loved the warm and friendly atmosphere so much we returned pretty much every year for long weekends. When our daughter was born, we decided to use Maxton Lodge instead and again, we have returned again and again and, in the past couple of years, more than just once a year. The best thing about the hotel is all the staff are very friendly, very welcoming and when asked for either advice about the local area or just something extra that you need to make your stay more enjoyable, they are very eager to oblige. As returning guests, we often bump into other returning guests and feel that we have an extended group of friends in Torquay. The hotel is within an easy 10 minute walk of the beach (even with a small child) and offers easy access to a wide range of very nice cafes, historic buildings and leisure facilities, as well as a nice walk to the picturesque village of Cockington. Having driven for around 4 hours to get to Torquay, it is so nice to leave the car in the hotel car park and not walk too far for entertainment. The breakfasts are lovely and there is always more toast and coffee available on request although it is usually the staff who ask if more is required. In all the rooms we have stayed in we have either had a view of the sea or been beside the outside pool. The indoor pool is always lovely and warm and although it is used as a leisure club by local people, on the whole they are generally friendly natives! Although the deep end is not as deep as it once was, owing to an accident in a nearby pool, it is still adequate for serious swimmers. There is also a bar situated next to the pool which offers bar meals which is great after a swim as you don't have to venture out if you don't need to. The bar meals are always well prepared and very filling. The bar area itself is very cosy and inviting and has a good selection of drinks at very reasonable prices. This last visit to the Red House was to celebrate my father's 70th and my daughter's 10th as well as my husband's birthday. It was really nice to share such a celebration and introduce my parents and brother and his family to the Red House. Thank you to Mark, David, Tina, Karen and all the staff for putting up with us all and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    22
    21
    11
See reviews for
64
56
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

As many have said, the decor isn't modern and the layout is very higglty-pigglty, but the room was adequate and comfortable enough. However, the evening meals will remind you of school dinners and our meat needed Hyena's jaws to be able to chew it. You certainly won't be staying here for the food. The breakfast was OK although not always hot but I wouldn't have an evening meal here again.

Another complaint and it's not really a fault of the hotel I suppose is that it is miles from the nearest decent pub, the hotel bar is OK if you want over-priced wine or fizzy beer but real ale drinkers will need to factor in taxi fares.

The sports facilities were OK although the spa pool didn't work, but they are used by the locals (who deem it to be their health club) so expect to be made to feel like an interloper in a private club if you decide on a dip

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headmixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Where do I start? First room we were given, No.3 was disgusting. It needed a chain and padlock putting across the door with "enter at your peril " written across it! To be fair the owners did move us to a slightly better room after my hubby complained, something he has never done before. This room was bigger and had better decor but once again had a noisy sliding door to the bathroom. Plus the room was on a tilt so you felt like you slept at an angle and lets just say your left leg got slightly wet in the bathroom!!!
We stayed on a DBB break and to be fair the food wasnt too bad, although hubby had an extra in his bacon and eggs one morning,a nice long brown hair!!! Until the last night we were the only ones eating in the restaurant so that should've told us something.
Also on our first morning they allowed guests to bring their dogs into where we were eating, not something that should be encouraged as some people are frightened of dogs.
Then one day after a long and tiring trip we returned at 7.30pm to find our room had not been made up.The owner confessed it was his fault ,he forgot, but gave us a free drink each to make up for it.
One plus was the use of the small pool although its not very deep.
To be honest I think if the owners spent some money on refurbishing the rooms it could be a nice place to stay. Until they do we wont be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed in the appartments attached to the main hotel whilst other family members stayed in the hotel. Appartment was clean but old fashioned. The shower didn't work properly and the walls were very thin. There was also people on ladders outside the appartments doing work. When we left we were forced to pay an inflated price having agreed a 3 day 'deal' over the phone. Having never been sent a receipt or confirmation of booking we were powerless to act - particularly when the owner became agitated. As for the hotel, it is in need of a revamp - check out the 70s carpet! Altogether a disappointing experience - particularly given the quality of the hotel up the road our friends stayed in for less money!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have just come back from a long weekend in torquay and stayed at the Red House Hotel. I would say it is well worth the money, it may be a bit dated but its clean and the staff are very friendly. The pool was a little cold at times but nothing to moan about. The room we had was a nice size and was very clean and had all what you needed,if there was anything you didnt though i.e iron the staff were happy to help. The breakfast was cooked fresh every morning as you orderd what you wanted, there was also cereal, fruit and yogurts. My partner and i thought the location was just right, as you wernt right in the main hussel and bussel of the other b&b's, just off the main strip in a nice quite road, but near enough to walk down to torquay seafront. I would definatley recommend this B&B/Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexHobit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Only just returned from a couple of days stay at Red House Hotel. Got to be honest and say "Thank goodness we were only her for a maximum of 2 nights".

We stayed in a family room for 3. This was in the main part of the hotel. Unfortunately the room wasn't big enough to swing a cat around, and the decor very dated. Almost reminded me of a dormatory I once stayed in whilst on a school trip at Filey. Very claustrophobic with an overpowering smell of some cheap cleaning fluid they had used to clean the bathroomtoilet. A bit like toilet duck smell, but the problem being it seemed to cling to the room.

Breakfast was very average, and a couple we met who had paid for DB&B stated the evening meal was rubbish.

Overall decor quite simply needed good makeover.

Used the indorr pool once. Again just average, nothing special,

I personally would rather pay a bit more money for a better standard of accomodation.

I will make sure I do this next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linny0153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

just returned.had a lovely week.weather was excellent! the. the red house staff were helpful & friendly.the bedrooms were very clean although decor was rather dated some simple inexpensive improvements could so easily be achieved.the ammenitives were good the indoor pool very hot & jaccuzi quite a few complaints about this although it didnt bother me too much!! i thought the outside pool area was lovely but could have done with abit of a tidy up with the broom & sun beds.tables & chairs to be jet washed. a few colourful hanging baskets & pool to be cleared from leaves at regular intervals,A nice idea also would have been to have a waitress or waiter to attend external pool from time to time offering to get drinks from the bar not only would it make money for the hotel & tips for the staff but provide guests with more time to relax. im sorry to say we didnt rate the quality of the food the menu bland but breakfasts starters & desserts ok but more time spent on presentation of the dishes a must!! { a prawn coctail should always be served in a nice shiny clear glass bowl not on a tea plate sorry!} even the veg & accompiants good nicely cooked & hot it was just the main meal lasagne or curry not appealng.nor was the fish in lemon sauce. all in all this is a nice comfortable hotel it has a great location good staff it is great value for money it just needs abit more tlc to turn this into a fab 3plus star hotel we will definately return & give it another go in the near future but only for b&b!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 87 in Torquay
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Property: Red House Hotel
Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing