We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
97
49
27
26
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
49
27
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool family break family suite sunday lunch hotel is great family run hotel excellent value for money great weekend excellent breakfast pleasant stay feel very welcome jacuzzi facilities stuart sofa
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 213 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

As a busy working mum, I don't usually have time to review anything, but feel this little gem deserves some credit as we are regular visitors to the Red House (we live in Torquay, so often pop in just for dinner or a drink). My husband stayed there the night before our wedding, with our sons and his best man, and he found the room to be very comfortable and had a perfect nights sleep there. We would have liked to have had our reception there, but we had a really big wedding so that wasn't possible. The staff are so helpful and friendly - they really put themselves out to help you and make such a fuss of our little girl when we're there - she loves the place! The indoor pool is perfect for us to take her swimming. It's always warm and everywhere is very clean. We've had the pool to ourselves many times, which has been great and we've enjoyed the outdoor pool during summer visits. We have been there at all times of the year and visited with and without our children. The food is fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Best of all is the location. It's a short distance from the beach, in a pretty tree-lined area, very close to Cockington country park, so lots to do that's fun and FREE (handy when you have a big family). You can walk into town too, or there is a bus stop nearby, and only 5/10 min walk from the train station. The owners put on lots of events and we've been to several. The NYE party they put on was brilliant - great music, lovely buffet and lots of games for the kids. They also do a sunday roast which is great value, so we often pop down as a family when I can't be bothered to cook. There's plenty of parking too. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about the hotel or its staff. Thank you Red House!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Thank you to all the staff at the Red House for making our stay so enjoyable, greeted on arrival nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the newly converted family suite, room 9, and would definitely recommend this to all families! The kids loved the swimming pool so being able to use this for free was fantastic, the price was very good for what was on offer. Although we didn't eat at the hotel every night, on the occasions we did the food was good value for what we got. We shall definitely be back next time we're in Torquay!

Room Tip: Room 9 is brilliant for families, a large room with separate adult and child bedrooms and a lovely bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Torquay and they serve great food and staff are very friendly. It's great value for your money and the rooms are comfortable. Our family can't wait to go back thanks to all the staff we have already booked our next stay. In the summer the outdoor pool is a great place to be. See you all soon the Lane family :))

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrrnlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

- good location with views over Torquay
- efficient friendly staff
- very clean
- lovely indoor swimming pool
- bus into town/seafront very close to hotel
- breakfast good but maybe upgrade sausages !
- excellent venue for a small wedding party which we attended

Room Tip: room 6 is nice
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbaylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just spent a great weekend at friends daughters wedding, The hotel arranged a wonderful reception for the bride and groom, so no complaints there. However the owners seem oblivious to the fact that a well rested guest is a happy guest by clearly not considering or caring whether they were comfortable in their rooms. Mattress was clearly very old and completely flat and with only broken springs sticking in your back to suspend you away from the base of the bed. We made a reasonable polite complaint, only to have it shrugged off by manager(s). By previous reviews on this site they have obviously known about problem for several years which can only suggest to me they don't care.
We had to book a room at B & B a short walk away in order to get a nights sleep on 2nd night of weekend. No apology whatsoever, not prepared to look at room and discuss, no refund for night. If you value your sleep or back in any way don't stay in room 2, you will regret it.

Room Tip: Park bench would be most comfortable option? If you get room 2 and they tell you they weren't aware of problem now you know they do ! Other guests complained of similar problems in their rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and are encouraged that you enjoyed the family wedding.We were not informed of your medical condition prior to arrival,and as we were fully booked ,over a bank holiday period ,with the wedding in full swing we aimed to rectify the situation to the best of our ability . I personally apologised and had I known you spent a nights stay elsewhere I would naturally have offered you a refund and will do so if you wish to email me .I have ordered a new mattress following your comments on check -out .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews