We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good.”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #6 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a gem of a place.
We only stayed one night on a flying visit to Torquay, but we liked it so much that we have booked to go back for a few days next summer. The owners were excellent hosts and very welcoming. The bedroom was a good size and well decorated and the breakfast was top notch - (great sausages). There is a comfortable and welcoming lounge with good views and they have a terrace overlooking a pretty garden that will be lovely in the summer to sit with a glass of something chilled in hand (it is licensed) after a day enjoying all that Torquay has to offer (which is a lot - I think we may need more than 4 days in the summer, what with the mackerel fishing , the Zoo, the Coastal path walk, the beaches and the boat trips!). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essjayelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 386 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have to agree with all the positive comments regarding The Cleveland, Torquay.
Only downside- the size of room 4. Bijou would be an appropriate description as in spite of it's cramped facility, the room was spotless and the bed comfortable.
This downside was more than compensated for with an overall welcoming ambiance and excellence of service offered by the owners.
The breakfast was a comprehensive offer based upon quality ingredients and consumed with relish!
Would be happy to recommend to all

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagumbaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this B & B and it was marvellous. Lissane and Matt are first class hosts, it is like home from home with nothing too much trouble. Being greeted with tea and cake on arrival in the very cosy residents lounge with a lovely view. The bedroom and en-suite was of very high standard and we had a very good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. The food is of a very high standard obviously using first class ingredients. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. Whenever we revisit Torquay we would always return here.

Thank you both and all the best for your future in Torquay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had not book to stay at cleveland and arrived late evening, Matt and Lissanne were very accommodating and gave us the double suite. This was beautiful with lots of room for the three of us and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was lovely with a great choose.
We had a great stay and would recommend this guest house to anyone. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem2012uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This guesthouse is family-run by Lissanne and Matt, who have only taken it over about a month ago, and who cannot do enough to help you, being friendly and chatty. It seems that they have also refurbished the property, the building and rooms are all lovely as well as spotlessly clean. There are ample tea & coffee supplies, with the promise of more should you ask and free Wifi that actually works. Breakfast was also more than ample, with a good choice and beautifully cooked - service with a smile!
The guesthouse is about a 10 minute stroll from the beach and another 5-10 to the main town centre. If the weather's bad there's also a decent Indian restaurant about 2 minutes walk in the other direction.
Bookings were quiet when we were there (although it was October), but this is not deserved, if there's any justice they will be full to the brim all next summer. Given that they are also excellent value, I'd get in quick if I were you - you could miss out!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staying here has changed my opinion of B&Bs. As close to a quality hotel as you will find, excellent stay and recommended. A quiet location but not off the beaten track. The owners are very pleasant and personable and have a genuine interest in you enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Owner at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to meet you all and we are really pleased we managed to change your view of B&B's. Having a genuine interest in our guests and ensuring they enjoy their stay in our home is something we hope to always achieve. We are so happy you had a lovely stay and once again, thank you for your comments - we are truly very appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend in October, Going with high expectations following previous reviews, We were not disappointed.
The new owners greeted us on arrival and could not of been more pleasant, they were happy friendly and would have done anything to make our stay as good as possible.
The property was of good standard immaculate through out. We stayed in a deluxe double room which was fresh, modern and had all the facilities you would expect. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep followed by a lovely cooked breakfast.
This B and B comes with high recommendation the service you will receive is second to none! Thanks again guys for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Owner at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We had only been here a couple of weeks when you came to stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. It's lovely to receive such positive feedback and to hear we're doing something right! Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $57 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing