We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #5 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had not book to stay at cleveland and arrived late evening, Matt and Lissanne were very accommodating and gave us the double suite. This was beautiful with lots of room for the three of us and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was lovely with a great choose.
We had a great stay and would recommend this guest house to anyone. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem2012uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
188
24
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This guesthouse is family-run by Lissanne and Matt, who have only taken it over about a month ago, and who cannot do enough to help you, being friendly and chatty. It seems that they have also refurbished the property, the building and rooms are all lovely as well as spotlessly clean. There are ample tea & coffee supplies, with the promise of more should you ask and free Wifi that actually works. Breakfast was also more than ample, with a good choice and beautifully cooked - service with a smile!
The guesthouse is about a 10 minute stroll from the beach and another 5-10 to the main town centre. If the weather's bad there's also a decent Indian restaurant about 2 minutes walk in the other direction.
Bookings were quiet when we were there (although it was October), but this is not deserved, if there's any justice they will be full to the brim all next summer. Given that they are also excellent value, I'd get in quick if I were you - you could miss out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staying here has changed my opinion of B&Bs. As close to a quality hotel as you will find, excellent stay and recommended. A quiet location but not off the beaten track. The owners are very pleasant and personable and have a genuine interest in you enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Owner at The Cleveland, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to meet you all and we are really pleased we managed to change your view of B&B's. Having a genuine interest in our guests and ensuring they enjoy their stay in our home is something we hope to always achieve. We are so happy you had a lovely stay and once again, thank you for your comments - we are truly very appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend in October, Going with high expectations following previous reviews, We were not disappointed.
The new owners greeted us on arrival and could not of been more pleasant, they were happy friendly and would have done anything to make our stay as good as possible.
The property was of good standard immaculate through out. We stayed in a deluxe double room which was fresh, modern and had all the facilities you would expect. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep followed by a lovely cooked breakfast.
This B and B comes with high recommendation the service you will receive is second to none! Thanks again guys for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Owner at The Cleveland, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We had only been here a couple of weeks when you came to stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. It's lovely to receive such positive feedback and to hear we're doing something right! Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent 4 night stay in September, we stayed in Room 5 which was a large double suite with seperate seating area and bathroom. Breakfast was first class with ample choice on menu and also extras such as cereals, yoghurt and fruit. Ideally located within a pleasant 10 min walk to the seafront and town center. Clear to see why previous reviews were so positive, overall a perfect stay

Room Tip: Room 5, double suite has a good outlook across Torquay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emlagabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although I have known Lissanne for a number of years, I had never met Matt before the weekend, when my wife and I were fortunate enough to get their last available room for the Saturday night, as we had decided to go for Dinner to the Elephant restaurant in Torquay.

It was very nice of Lissanne, first to E-mail me and then to ring my mobile, on the Friday, to see if we needed help on how to get to their place, but having lived in Devon for a number of years between the middle 70's and middle 80's, we were OK. On getting out of our car, even before Lissanne could get to the front door, we heard Thomas, (their 5 years old son), little foot steps running from the back of the house to see who was arriving. It was very nice to see Lissanne again and she was charming and relaxed in welcoming us to Torquay and then showing us to our room. Taking advantage of a balmy October afternoon, we drove, (you can easily walk!) down to town and just relaxed by walking around the Marina and then enjoying a drink or two!..
We did consider having a Devonshire Cream Tea, but then decided it wasn't a good idea as we were going for the 10 courses Tasting Menu at the Elephant. As we were quite late in returning to The Cleveland after dinner, we did not see Matt and Lissanne until the following morning, when we came down for Breakfast. Again, they were the most charming hosts; Lissanne looking after front of house and Matt taking care of Breakfast.

I first met Lissanne in 1998, (I hope she doesn't mind me saying this!..), when working with Gary Rhode at City Rhode Restaurants in London, she was the recipient of the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts,"Award of Excellence" for restaurant service, (one of the most prestigious award for young people working in the catering industry), and I was one of the judges. Then, kept seeing each other regularly when Lissanne was working at the Academy.

As we were having our breakfast on Sunday morning, my wife asked me if I knew what Matt's job was before moving to Devon?.. My replay was: I don't know, but judging from the quality of my Scrambled Eggs... not only, he must have been a Chef, but also working at a very, very good standard. Later chatting to Matt, I was very pleased to discover that, I was correct on both counts!

As a couple of other reviews have already mentioned, (although, they have only been at The Cleveland for a short time!), Matt and Lissanne are doing a "BRILLIANT...BRILLIANT.. JOB..."

In an industry where offering and maintaining very high standards of hospitality, is getting increasingly difficult, I am sure that Matt and Lissanne will do a fantastic job with their new venture and they will be a credit to hotel-keeping of the highest standard!

My wife and I are already looking forward to returning to The Cleveland and we sincerely wish Matt and Lissanne all the very best for the future.

On a personal note, I felt that the room we had, it was a snip at £ 80.00, including breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Owner at The Cleveland, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
How do we respond to such an wonderful review? Thank you so much for your comments and for sharing your experience of The Cleveland Guest House with others. We are both so grateful to receive such positive responses from happy, satisfied guests and can assure you we will endeavour to continue in this vein. We really are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wmborne
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here following the great reviews. Upon arrival, discovered that the hosts had recently taken over the hotel. This was far from worrying as they were absolutely delightful! The welcome we received at check in could not have been nicer and friendlier. The hotel is immaculate and looks fresh and clean. The room was really nice. Clean and well fitted with ample facilities. A comfy and peaceful sleep and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Thank you guys, I'm sure we'll meet again. Sill can't believe you only took over and moved in a couple of weeks ago! All the best for the future.
Mike & Jo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Owner at The Cleveland, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is great to receive such positive feedback after being here for only a short time. It was more than a pleasure to meet you and to look after you and we do hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing