We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant family run hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
essex
1 review
“Brilliant family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

We decided to go to torquay for a few days following our wedding and booked the Shirley via the internet mainly for its closeness to the harbour and amenities. What a brilliant choice! We had our 2 year old daughter Lily with us and the website we booked through said it was a family friendly place - what an understatement! Debbie, Gary and Adam were all fantastic with her and did everything they could to make our stay with them as comfortable as possible.
The cooked breakfasts in the morning were delicious and set us up for the day. There was a wide choice of other breakfast foods available and they even offered to buy strawberries for my fussy daughter! They recommended loads of places that were great for Lily and really helped us keep her busy and make the most of our time in Torquay.
We will definately be visiting The Shirley again, we had a brilliant holiday and can't thank them enough for all they did for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    92
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
404
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hook
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

My friends and I went away to get away from it all and relax, and thats what we did! Debbie, Garry and Adam were so welcoming and made you feel "at home" from the minute you walk through the door. The rooms are clean, fresh and very relaxing the best nights sleep I have had in a long time.
I am recommending it to my family and friends, I may treat my husband and children to a week there next year if they behave!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThequietoneHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Save yourself at least £20 an book direct if you want to top quality B&B in Torquay. I don't think I've stayed in a more impressive B&B anywhere, boasting high ceiling, lovely decor, a lounge/bar, dining area, not to mention the excellent room we stayed in.

The hosts Debbie & Gary were like old friends, and all of their staff were the same, they couldn't have made our stay any better. I'm definitely going back, though for longer!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Lovely hosts who gave just the right amount of attention. Our room was spotless and very comfy with wonderful linens. We slept like babies! Virtualy no street noise although only a short walk down to all the shops and restaurants, very well located. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order with fresh fruit salad avaiable and even veggie sausages if wanted.
We came to relax and unwind, and our hosts provided the perfect spot to do just that! We will be recommending to all we know that will be visiting the area and plan to return ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethics64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

People say you should never return to somewhere, the memories are neverthe same as the reality. This hotel proves the exception. Another excellent stay was had by my husband and I.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

The owners are warm, welcoming and excellent hosts. The room was immaculate and very comfortable - I had a great nights kip. Breakfast was great fun and set me up for the day. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in Torquay.

Highly recommended 5/5.......... I'll definitely stay there again when I go back to Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

My wife and I have just enjoyed a short three nights stay at the Shirley hotel where I had first visited on a business trip last year.

The fact that we enjoyed the stay so much was down to the super hospitality of our hosts, Debbie, Gary, and Adam(My wife's favourite), The hotel has continued to be improved and was very clean and fresh.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staffs and everyone is made to feel very welcome and at home. The excellent breakfast sets you up for the day.

Highly recommended and excellent value again.

Ian & Steph

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steplulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing