We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the west”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #22 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best in the west”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I only had a need to be in Torquay for one overnight stay but found the owners of the Shirley hotel gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival and our room was comfortable to being quite luxurious and supplied everything needed to make our stay special.In an excellent position to the restaurants and shops being in walking distance to the centre of the town.Breakfast was really nice with locally sourced foods and a variety of choices on the menu.We thought for the experience we had at this hotel we had a very good deal.Brian and Maureen Finka.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a very nice view including a partial view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We take great pride in what we do and would dearly love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    93
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
410
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Don't bother looking for a better value, a nicer place or a more pleasant welcome. This Is where you stop. Lovey people lovely surroundings. Breakfast choice is wide ranging and coos perfectly. The Shirley will make your stay in Torquay complete

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and lovely review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just spent a lovely three night stay at the Shirley - and what a gem! Owners Debbie and Gary go out of their way to make you feel welcome right from the outset and treat you like old friends rather than first time visitors. Location is great - only an easy 5 to 10 minute walk from the centre of Torquay and a range of local restaurants. Our room was spotless and extremely comfortable with what seemed like a brand new bathroom. Great spread for breakfast with a superb full English cooked to order by Debbie which we couldn't resist having every day! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely and thoughtful review. The Shirley is in such a great location and within easy reach of all the local shops, restaurants etc.

We do like to take the time to get to know our guests when they arrive. By doing that it helps us to know what they want from their stay with us and also enables us to give advise on where to eat or go for day trips etc.

Breakfast is probably the most important meal of the day so we do like to make sure that all of our guests are suitably fed and watered before they leave for the day.

So thank you again for your wonderful words and we hope that we shall see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

First time stay at this superior hotel. We were greeted by the owner Gary and his wife Debbie who made us feel extremely welcome and went out their way to make our stay more enjoyable. It is in a fantastic location to local bars, restaurants and the beach. The hotel itself is extremely clean, very well maintained and very homely! We would highly recommend this hotel and we both look forward to revisiting it in the future. Many thanks again to you both. David and Kerry.

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped with all essentials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butler1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that it won't be too long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

we visited the Shirley on Sunday 23rd March and stayed till Wed 26th March, and we enjoyed every minute of it, the owners Gary and Debbie were very helpful with my wife `s needs as we needed to come down from the top floor due to her breathing they couldn`t do enough for us, the food was excellent and very hot, and plenty of it, the second room we were offered was also excellent, and very clean and tidy, Gary and his wife are very friendly and knows the area of Torquay excellent, always advised us of good restaurants to eat in, we recommend this B&B to anyone in the world, you was be amazed. top marks. We will be returning in June 2014. Chris and Annie Taylor Bristol

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are really pleased that that we were able to look after you both and we really look forward to looking after you again in June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales, U.K
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived early, and was immediately given a very warm welcome by Gary. The room was very clean quite spacious and well decorated. The bed linen and towels were of a very superb quality. Little touches such as boiled sweets and fresh milk were gratefully received. We slept well on our 3 night break. bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was compact but was extremely clean, well decorated and with very good fittings. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day.
Position of the hotel for us was perfect as we enjoyed the short stroll down into the town. Our hosts Gary and Debbie are the without doubt the most friendly and welcoming people we have come across on our travels. Very sincere very knowledgeable and most of all friendly. All in all a fantastic hotel with a fantastic hosts in a place we love. Whenever we return to Torquay The Shirley will be our No1 hotel on our list. Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lintzel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We do pride ourselves on providing the best as far as we can for our guests from the time they arrive until the time they leave. Local knowledge is so important and we do like to make our guests aware of the local amenities that are available to them. This is especially important as far as restaurants etc are concerned. A little knowledge goes a long way. Also friendliness costs nothing and it was a delight being able to look after you both. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wonderful hosts, warm welcome, comfortable bed, high quality linens (I'd like to have some like that in my own home), beautiful room, hearty breakfast, very good price, what else can you ask for... a few more days maybe?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndg540510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Right from the time each guest arrives until the time they leave we strive to ensure that their stay is both enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 149 in Torquay
1,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing