We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shirley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$140
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
$170
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$119
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
558
95
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
95
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkhonesty barlovely hotelbiscuitsbottled waterb bon arrivalcup of teawarm welcomefull englishlittle extrastop floorshort walkgreat hostsnothing is too much troublelots of choiceenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 662 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked in with my Mum into the Shirley for 3 nights in July. We were greeted by Garry who was very welcoming and chatty. Garry made us a nice pot of tea when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room was lovely with twin beds and the Bathroom immaculate with lovely fluffy towels and we even had gowns and slippers. Garry makes his guests feel welcome and the Hotel is very Homely. The Breakfast was lovely and served fresh, made to order when ready. The staff were very sweet and always smiling. Garry liked to ensure he spoke to all his guests over breakfast and would pop out of a room when we were entering or leaving to check we were ok. There is a lovely gift cabinet in the hotel and in particular if visiting ensure you ask about the Con the bottom shelf who desperately needs a home. There is a lovely little pool which is heated and guest can enjoy a bit of sunshine. Biancos restaurant 5 minute walk away we found lovely and Garry had given us a voucher for a buy one get one free main course.
We have some friends staying in Torquay this week, and it is their wedding anniversary, so Garry if you have any vouchers for Biancos please let me know. We look forward to visiting again and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody stopping in Torquay. Thanks Julie and Jackie from up North who still do not know whether more than once computer mouse is mouses or mice. Bye for Now

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolsgorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're so very glad that you both had a nice time whilst you were here. We try to make 'The Shirley' home from home.

Just to let you know there is also no correct answer to 'mice or mouses' as far as a computer mouse is concerned. Next question.................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée stay at the Shirley Hotel for 3 nights from 16th July. We were made to feel very welcome straight away by Garry and showed around and helped take our bags to our room.
The room was comfortable and furnished very well and the double bed was comfy. The only negative about the room would be that there was no ceiling fan or air con and with the weather being so hot and sunny it made the room very warm.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided when required.
Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was great and very quick. Lots of choice on the breakfast menu - I personally had the award winning full English breakfast each morning and it was absolutely delicious and definitely deserves the "award winning" title! There is also cold water dispensers on each floor that are very handy.

The hotel has a lovely little outdoor pool and terrace area too and with the weather being so good we enjoyed a refreshing afternoon dip in the pool and a couple of drinks out on the sun terrace.

Garry was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and gave us some discount vouchers for Paignton Zoo.

The hotel is in a good location and only a 10 minute walk away from the harbour and shops, bars and restaurants although it is up quite a steep hill. Parking at the hotel was ok, although only room for approx 6 cars on a very steep driveway. However there is parking on the road outside the hotel.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and the Shirley and would highly recommend it to people.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We go out of our way to ensure that when you stay with us at 'The Shirley' you are both fed well and have clean and pleasant surroundings.

The comfort and wellbeing of our guests is and always will be our prime concern. I think that everyone will agree that we have had some really spectacular and unusually hot weather over the last few weeks so I agree that the building was exceedingly warm.

We're really pleased that you want to visit us again. We really look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found Debbie and Gary to be absolutely wonderful hosts. They served a fantastic breakfast menu and as a vegetarian they were extremely accommodating. The rooms are clean and well proportioned, with the added benefit of a swimming pool. The hotel is ideally located for all local attractions and is just a ten minute stroll from the harbour. Well recommended and if we ever visit Torquay, it will be top of my list for places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love what we do and really get a buzz when we know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We have always had a 'can do attitude' and are always able to accommodate the wishes of those guests who require a vegetarian diet.

We are glad that you managed to use the pool. The weather certainly warranted it. It's such a sun trap there and is so ideal for relaxing after a day of touring our many local attractions. Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from a three day stay. We were made to feel instantly welcomed by Garry with a cup of tea. There was room to park our car in the car park. Our room was outstandingly clean and the breakfast was excellent. The swimming pool was lovely and a great place to relax. The hotel was five minutes walk from the harbour. A huge thank you to Garry and Debbie who make this hotel so great.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and I'm sorry that it's taken a little longer to answer than I normally do. debbie and I are pleased that you had such a good time. The pool is lovely and I managed to take my first dip in it for a year last week.

We are especially proud of the cleanliness at 'The Shirley'. Our staff are excellent and it's down to their supreme efforts that we have such a clean establishment. Hopefully you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Shirley B&B in June. Gary was the perfect host and was happy to store our bags until our room was ready [as we arrived very early 10am!]. Comfortable room. Bed comfortable with feather pillows :-) Good selection of bathroom toiletries. Great to have fresh milk available from the fridge on the landing.
Breakfast was of an excellent standard with plenty of choices from the menu as well as fresh fruit/ cereal/yoghurts available. Fried breakfast was non greasy and delicious. I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on a GF muffin – beautifully cooked. There are numerous B&Bs in Torquay but The Shirley stands out because of Gary and his genuine interest in his guests and his passion to ensure we enjoyed our stay [albeit one night] which we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSK085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to know that even though you were only with us for one night you did enjoy yourselves. At 'The Shirley' we do try to cater for specialist diets where possible nand we have many returning guests who require a gluten free breakfast menu. We also have started to provide gluten free biscuits for our guest rooms.

Although you travelled some distance we do hope that if you ever come back to Torquay that you will come and see us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews