We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carol and graham the wonderfull shirley hotel”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #22 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“carol and graham the wonderfull shirley hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we stayed at the shirley for 4 nights over a very cold easter,but there is certainly nothing cold about the shirley it is warm in every sense, as soon as you walk through the door you are at home.the rooms are very nice,clean, comfortable and quiet. breakfasts were always to look forward to, debbies scrummy cooking and garry's banter was allways a highlight in the morning,we spent the late evenings in the lovely lounge with a drink a nice end to the day.hotel is in a nice quiet location with good parking and only 10mins walk to the town. we could have not chosen better than the shirley, hats off to garry and debbie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahams781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your wonderful review and I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to reply.

'The Shirley' is a lovely building and radiates a wonderful warm atmosphere. We also try to make breakfasts a fun time for everyone. What's the point of being miserable even on a wet day. We hope that the food helps! We are also very lucky to have such a large lounge. It's a nice relaxing setting we've had some lively discussions on many evenings with our guests over a drink or two. Hopefully it won't be long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    93
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
410
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for a short break over the easter weekend. We were made to feel very welcome from the time that we arrived and walked through the door. Nothing was too much trouble and the Easter Egg at breakfast on Sunday morning was a nice personal touch.
The room was very comfortable, with nice touches like robes and slippers and the quality, choice and service at breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your special break away witjh us at 'The Shirley.

At Easter we always give each couple who are staying with us an Easter Egg. It's just a nice little gesture and is especially wonderful if there are children staying. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with the Shirley Hotel for a long weekend over Easter. As always, the welcome was first class, the rooms very clean and well prepared. Breakfast remains one of my favourite luxuries when visiting Shirley Hotel. It's a treat. Garry and Debbie are two incredibly attentive people, who make running a hotel look easy, owing to their natural abilities with people of all ages!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherThackray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks again for another sparkling review. Once again it was great to see that you enjoyed Debbie's breakfasts so much. She seems to have a great knack of coming up with the goods on every occasion. Many of our regular guests say that this is a contributary factor as to the reason for their return visits to us. See you again soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A most enjoyable stay and made very welcome by Debbi and Garry. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. A good breakfast with lots of choice and freshly cooked to order. They made suggestions of where to eat dinner and even made a reservation at Man Friday on our behalf. The weather at the time of our visit was very cold and wet but the rooom was very warm and cosy at all times. We would certainly come again in the future and would recommend to friends if they wished to visit Torquay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. God the weather was unseasonally cold wasn't it? We're really pleased that you found 'The Shirley' to be cosy and having a warm welcome. it's also nice to know that you were pleased with our restaurant recommendation. We do look forward to seeing you both again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything a small hotel should be.Very friendly,clean & comfortable.Excellent breakfasts,probably
the best poached eggs in the western world!Many nice touches with this hotel,cup of tea on arrival,water cooler & fresh milk on landing,well stocked tea & coffee in room,(even biscuits!)Garry
went to the trouble of reserving us a table at the excellent Man Friday fish restaurant by the harbour.This hotel is run by people who know what they are doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Wow.... 'The best poached eggs in the western world'. Thank you so much. Debbie was so pleased that you thought that much of her breakfast ! We do try very hard to ensure that everyone has a good breakfast everyday and we do get a lot of guests who visit us again and again purely because of this.

Hopefully you won't leave it too long before your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we went to this hotel to celebrate my 21st birthday. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly, even arranging a place for us to enjoy a lovely meal at the best restaurant in town!! lovely clean room with gorgeous furniture, we had an excellent time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that we were able to make your birthday even more of a special occasion for you.

As accommodation providers we are always very careful to only recommend places to eat that we have visited ourselves. Bianco's is one such place and was perfect as it is only a short walk from us. We do hope that you won't leave it too long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were anxious to attend football Torquay v Oxford and upon checking reviews on the internet we came across the delightful Shirley Hotel. It was obvious from the numerous reviews that the Shirley stood out from the rest. We booked. On arrival its outside appearance did not impress, but park up and go inside and it all falls into place. Met by Debbie we were made so welcome it seemed unreal, we then met Gary who met us on the stairs and we were all friends within seconds. Gary, poor soul, is a Torquay supporter. Singing off the same football hymn sheet he suggested we share his taxi to the match and return, we accepted. Now for the hotel, it is spotlessly clean, bed comfortable, fellow guests enjoying it, immaculate dining room and a breakfast to die for. You cannot fail to be impressed. Ron S

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. As you know we are going through a spot of building maintenance and painting on the outside of the side of the building and the patio area in readiness for the summer. Unfortunately due to bad weather the scaffolding has been up a tad longer than we anticipated but is due to be removed just as I'm writing this response.

We are great supporters of our local Torquay team and so it's really nice when we are able to entertain and welcome supporters from rival clubs as we do all guests to 'The Shirley'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 149 in Torquay
1,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing