We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
573
96
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
96
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk honesty bar lovely hotel biscuits bottled water on arrival cup of tea warm welcome full english little extras first class top floor nothing is too much trouble enjoyable stay perfect hosts lovely room second to none
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 679 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a place! We came here just to look at the room. As we didnt have a booked room. We got the best room in the house. Along with a great welcome from Garry!!

You couldn't ask for more at this B&B the rooms where spotless. And the whole hotel was! Great location. Great breakfast, great welcome.
You'd be mad to fault it! Just read all theses reviews! They speak for the place so well!!!
Richard & Chris. 15/02/2013 - 17/02/2013

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review. We are pleased that we were able to step into the breach and save your weekend for you. hopefully it won't be too long before we see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A murder mystery weekend with enhanced service. We brought our guest from Japan with us from Cambridge for this event and had a fabulous time. Garry and Debbie were excellent hosts and went the extra mile to make us all welcome. The local points of interest were given to us and Torquay with its Agatha Christie link will make us return again this year.
The Hotel was very clean and confortable and superbly placed for attractions. The meals were very good with extensive local produce-excellent stay!
Peter,Hiroko,Adam,Erika,&Kimie

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind and thoughtful review. We do occasionally hold Murder Mysteries out of season and this was our fifth. We have had really positive feedback and we are glad that yourself and your guests enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you all again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here one night and would like to return in the future.
The owners made us and the kids really welcome from the start and throughout.
Bed was comfy and really clean all over.
Breakfast was really nice not greasy - and they ensured it was exactly to our requirements.
It was handy short walk to shops and harbour and living coasts and dinosaur place so good spot. Private car park.
Lovely lounge area.
Would def. recommend.

Room Tip: The room was dead quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words. we are so very happy that you all had a great time, especially the children. We are ideally placed for all of the attractions that Torquay offers in abundance on both fine and wet days. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at The Shirley for just one night and wished it could have been longer. The hotel is in a great location and the room and en suite was spotlessly clean. The welcome on arrival made me feel right at home. Debbie and Garry could not have done more for me. I will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are so pleased that you feel that you want to return. We do spend time ensuring that all of our rooms are spotless at all times and it's nice to see that our efforts aren't in vain. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything was nice from our arrival to our departure. a friendly greeting and a nice pot of coffee, lovely hosts, a very nice room, a convenient location and a great breakfast. WHO COULD ASK FOR MORE. We will be back again. Paddy & Julia

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddypons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We would really love to thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed looking after you both and look forward to being able to do so again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews