We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
573
96
9
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
96
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkhonesty barlovely hotelbiscuitsbottled wateron arrivalcup of teawarm welcomefull englishlittle extrasfirst classtop floornothing is too much troubleenjoyable stayperfect hostslovely roomsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 679 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here one night and would like to return in the future.
The owners made us and the kids really welcome from the start and throughout.
Bed was comfy and really clean all over.
Breakfast was really nice not greasy - and they ensured it was exactly to our requirements.
It was handy short walk to shops and harbour and living coasts and dinosaur place so good spot. Private car park.
Lovely lounge area.
Would def. recommend.

Room Tip: The room was dead quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words. we are so very happy that you all had a great time, especially the children. We are ideally placed for all of the attractions that Torquay offers in abundance on both fine and wet days. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at The Shirley for just one night and wished it could have been longer. The hotel is in a great location and the room and en suite was spotlessly clean. The welcome on arrival made me feel right at home. Debbie and Garry could not have done more for me. I will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are so pleased that you feel that you want to return. We do spend time ensuring that all of our rooms are spotless at all times and it's nice to see that our efforts aren't in vain. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything was nice from our arrival to our departure. a friendly greeting and a nice pot of coffee, lovely hosts, a very nice room, a convenient location and a great breakfast. WHO COULD ASK FOR MORE. We will be back again. Paddy & Julia

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddypons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We would really love to thank you for your kind review. We really enjoyed looking after you both and look forward to being able to do so again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Shirley and it was a nice stay. Couple running the hotel were very friendly and helpful giving advice on the places to eat etc. Room very clean and great standard and the hotel is excellent inside with pleasant grand Victorian interior. Nice picture of steam Engine on the stairs wall, but need more !

Cooked breakfast was tasty and nice choice of breakfast items. Hotel is just 10 minutes walk down the hill into the center. Road is quiet but only a small amount of parking onsite. Would stay there again if going to Torquay.

Finally remember Vote UKIP for Britain to leave the EUSSR ! James and Olga

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your great review. It was nice that you wanted to spend your special weekend with us and we are thrilled that you had such a great weekend. Moo the cat is especially missing Olga !!!!! We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have recently come back from yet another stay at the Shirley and it was as good if not better than the first visit. Debbie and Garry both remembered our names and welcomed us as if we were old friends.
The room was lovely and clean the breakfast was very well presented and tasted lovely. Garry was very helpful with advise and info on local attractions and buses. I am looking forward to booking again in the spring for yet another bit of heaven.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for you kind review. It's really nice when guests choose to return and see us once again. We are very proud of our reputation at 'The Shirley' and we always strive to make everyone's stay a pleasing and enjoyable experience. It will be great to welcome you both back again this coming Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews