We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic treat”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This establishment is so close to perfection that it demonstrates how hard Garry and Debbie work at the same time they afforded the time to make us feel at home and extremely welcome.

Breakfast, on the other hand was also perfection and they showed how good a "full English" can be, working extremely well together as a team and offer any alternative desired. As a diabetic and choosing to eat a full English, it was so very good that there was no ill-effect whatsoever. Alternative breakfasts had also been offered to me. Garry and Debbie remained friendly, charming and vibrant throughout our stay while during this time nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

Cleanliness is important and this wonderful place was certainly clean and fresh to an exceptional standard, yet this couple have dreams and work to improve even more - though we can't see how it can be improved!

This hotel is only a short distance to walk down to town and harbour too - a fine way to walk away any over-eating!!

Thank you Garry and Debbie, your attention to the smallest detail is amazing and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris and Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 659 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at this charming hotel just the other evening for one night as a treat for my partner finding a new job. We were not dissapointed. On arrival we were greeted warmly with a choice of Tea or Coffee and a chat with the owners Gary & Debbie. They are not your regular 'hotel checker inners' and really do make that extra effort in making your stay a pleasant one. After a lengthy chat about the history of the building, the surrounding area and travels, Gary escorted us to our room. On the way he politely pointed out a choice of books that were free for us to borrow and drinking facilities that could be found on the landing.

On entering the room I found it to be reasonably small but very clean and well furnished with cute touches such as a heart decorated biscuit box and complimentary toiletries. Before staying here I was made aware that some rooms have been fully re-decorated and others are to be shortly. Although we were both happy with the room, I imagine it was one that is up for decoration shortly (the only aspect stopping a 5* review). The bed was extremely comfortable and towels etc were of high quality.

Breakfast in the morning was superb with an array of cereals, fruits and juices to choose from before the main course. The food was of top quality and we both thouroughly enjoyed are full english's. We both agreed it was a shame to only be staying for one night and really wished it could have been longer. I rarely write reviews but The Shirley deserves one. If you like a cozy feel with a warm service, great food and quality facilities then take my advice...stay here. We will again one day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam-Jam-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

If you want to feel relaxed and know that you are being thought of, and not just a guest, then this place is THE place to stay. Even offered a cup of tea after our long journey/day without prompt and not even booked in! Debbie and Gerry are the epitomey of how hotels should be run.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Lovely hotel, very warm welcome from owner, for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Beautiful old large building with a cosy homely feel.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

On arrival, we were offered tea or coffee in the lounge whilst checking in, which was very thoughtful and well received. The proprietors, Garry and Debbie were extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was great, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked, with lots of choice. Debbie and Garry were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was second to none. We will definitely be staying again, you would find it hard to get friendlier or better service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Shirley for 2 nights at the end of October. We booked on the Wed night after a long search for a family room sleeping 4 for the Thurs & Fri. The hotel did not dissapoint. A warm welcome, tea or coffee in the lounge, a friendly chat with Debbie whilst booking in and then the room which, luckily for us, had just had a new carpet fitted and was decorated thoughtfully throughout. The location was great, being very close to the marina and all other amenities, so we could walk off the excellent breakfast. All in all a fantastic find and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Family room was great for us however it was on the top floor which may not suit some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

On arrival, the proprietors made us feel very welcome and offered us a pot of tea after a long drive. They had excellent knowledge of the local area and recommended the most exquisite Italian restaurant for dinner. The accommodation was very comfortable, attention to detail had been taken into consideration. Breakfast was delicious and served efficiently. Nothing was ever any trouble and all questions were answered. A really fantastic stay. Certainly somewhere we would visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#18 of 86 in Torquay
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
792 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Robin Hill Hotel
The Robin Hill Hotel
#37 of 150 in Torquay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 150 in Torquay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing