We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and Welcoming place to stay”
Review of Kings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Lodge
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed for 1 week with 2 children 10 and 8.  Lovely room, clean towels whenever we needed them and fabulous Breakfasts - especially the poached eggs.  Paul and Sharon made us feel at home as soon as we arrived, would definately go back. Had a good supply of Games and Books to which kept the kids amused. Good Location about 10/15 min walk into the town with several beaches nearby and a swimming pool. Couldnt fault the accomodation or the people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyHalesowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 430 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

Excellent accommodation with all the finishing touches such as tea making facilities and biscuits, excellent breakfast, very friendly and welcoming. Very toddler friedly, our little boy loved it. Loved Torquay very cosmopolitan. Third visit to Torquay, many more to come.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsCNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our familly has just returned from staying at the Kings Lodge for the weekend and have had a lovely stay. Paul and Sharon are two lovely people and made our stay with them a very relaxing and positve experience. They were both great with our three children, the breakfast was very tasty, our room was very much adiquate sleeping all five of us including a cot which was supplied by them. Altogether we have had a very pleasurable stay with them and would deffinatly be considering a return in the summer holidays.
A big thankyou to you both x

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAndrewsFamilyX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at Kings Lodge last year (and will be returning this year) partly on Business and partly leisure and found it a comfortable friendly hotel with excellent care given to us all

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

After an eventful journey, typical of a bank holiday weekend we were warmly welcomed to the B & B. Our room was comfortable and clean with plenty of room for clothes for 3 people for a weeks stay. We started most mornings with a tasty full english breakfast with a local delicacy, hoggs pudding. This kept us full until evening. Trips out included one to Drago Castle, lovely place with friendly staff willing to pass on their knowledge, however the toilets were not pleasant but these are in the process of being improved. Living Coast, penguins galore, this seemed a very small place at first but there is more to see than meets the eye, more suited for visitors with smaller children and you can come and go as many times in the day as you like, this would ensure you see more of the feeding of the animals. Cockington, we walked into Cockington on a lovely sunny day, a beautiful little village with a few shops and some craft places in Cockington Court, a nice place for a picnic. We also took a steam train ride from Paignton to Kingswear and then a ferry across to Dartmouth, short of time we decided to take a small boat up the river to the castle. If you decide this trip is for you I would recommend you start out earlier in the day. All in all we had a terrific holiday, well looked after, even in the bar well into the night on a couple of occassions. We will be returning if not later this year definitely next.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Service was outstanding from the second we arrived. They were very helpfull and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. Nothing seemed to be a problem and were always asked if we needed anything in our very clean room. The breakfasts were simply fantastic to set you up for the day. We will definatly stay here again and cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Thank you for contributing to the reviews for Kings Lodge. Whilst some time ago, this review still contributes to our performance rating. Amanda & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,116 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Kings Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing