We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westgate
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belmont(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Marstan(Torquay)
$103
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$103
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
318
22
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
22
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul mikeon arrivalmick birminghamoffered tea or coffeegreat hostsfour posterbus routesriviera centrecooked to perfectiontorre abbeynothing too much troubletorquay arearooms are lovelymany thanksporridgelocal attractionsfantastic breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 345 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Paul & Mike could not have been more helpful and charming. The rooms were spotless and warm.
The breakfast was good and plentiful.

Hospitality and bar service were very good.

They even re-heated and served my brought in curry!

We all had a really good weekend

Room Tip: Read all the reviews
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We are thrilled that you and the band loved their weekend with us and we are looking forward to seeing you all again next year, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay this weekend. The new owners provided a warm welcome and were really helpful. The breakfast was lovely We would recommend the Westgate Hotel and will stay there again. Location ideal for Riveria Centre and choice of places to eat. Bus stop outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 3Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We're happy that you had such a nice weekend with us and at the other venues close to us in Torquay. Looking forward to next year - but do stay with us if you are this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

As a brass band we took over the whole hotel. Paul and Mike made us all feel so welcome. They made room for our various musical instruments and enabled us to celebrate our success in style. They go out of their way to make sure everyone is happy and enjoying their stay. They really couldn't have done more! They are friendly, attentive and always smiling! Thank you Paul and Mike, we are already looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

It was great that you made best use of space at The Westgate. Congratulations on your band's success and we hope to see you next year - if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Took over the whole hotel for valentines weekend to celebrate a 70th Birthday... Paul worked with me in advance to ensure the weekend was fun, full of surprises and felt like we were celebrating in our own home. The rooms were spotless and warm and the breakfast very good. Would thoroughly recommend staying as a group, couple, family or on business - any reason really!!

We had a party on the saturday night at the hotel and Paul let us use the whole hotel to make it a happy and relaxed occasion to suit the mix of guests , he also put together a great buffet!!

I would like to thank Paul, Mike and Roger for helping us give my mum and all of the party a weekend we will remember for a very long time!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ianthornebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was great to see The Westgate full of people enjoying themselves and just having fun - we certainly enjoyed being with such nice people. It's good to know we got it right for you and that the weekend will live on in your family's memories. Please do visit again if you thinking of a getting away to the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 wonderful nights in this warm wonderful hotel with a group of friends attending a special birthday celebration. Our hosts, Paul and Mike were exceptional and couldn"t have done more to accommodate us . Recommended

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julesypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend and made best use of the space at The Westgate. It was wonderful meeting you and if you are heading to Torbay again it would be great if you stayed again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews