We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brass Band Contest Weekend”
Review of The Westgate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westgate
Ranked #11 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 9, 2014

As a brass band we took over the whole hotel. Paul and Mike made us all feel so welcome. They made room for our various musical instruments and enabled us to celebrate our success in style. They go out of their way to make sure everyone is happy and enjoying their stay. They really couldn't have done more! They are friendly, attentive and always smiling! Thank you Paul and Mike, we are already looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

It was great that you made best use of space at The Westgate. Congratulations on your band's success and we hope to see you next year - if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 330 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Took over the whole hotel for valentines weekend to celebrate a 70th Birthday... Paul worked with me in advance to ensure the weekend was fun, full of surprises and felt like we were celebrating in our own home. The rooms were spotless and warm and the breakfast very good. Would thoroughly recommend staying as a group, couple, family or on business - any reason really!!

We had a party on the saturday night at the hotel and Paul let us use the whole hotel to make it a happy and relaxed occasion to suit the mix of guests , he also put together a great buffet!!

I would like to thank Paul, Mike and Roger for helping us give my mum and all of the party a weekend we will remember for a very long time!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ianthornebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was great to see The Westgate full of people enjoying themselves and just having fun - we certainly enjoyed being with such nice people. It's good to know we got it right for you and that the weekend will live on in your family's memories. Please do visit again if you thinking of a getting away to the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 wonderful nights in this warm wonderful hotel with a group of friends attending a special birthday celebration. Our hosts, Paul and Mike were exceptional and couldn"t have done more to accommodate us . Recommended

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julesypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your weekend and made best use of the space at The Westgate. It was wonderful meeting you and if you are heading to Torbay again it would be great if you stayed again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Paul and Mike made my stay very enjoyable. So should you be considering a stay in Torquay I would definitely recommend The Westgate. We had a lovely four poster bed and a very delicious breakfast. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our luxury four-poster room with its beautiful burr-walnut furniture. Thank you for your great review and do stay with us again if you are coming to the English Riviera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here on new years eve the wlcome we recived was lovely the owners were warm and welcome the room we stayed in was fab with its four poster bed and you can not fault how clean it was breakfast was great and the coffee they served was one of the best i have had thankyou foe a lovely stay we will be back soon

Room Tip: cant imagine this place has a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank madlad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of The Westgate. We would love to welcome you again to The Westgate if you are visiting Torquay. Glad you enjoyed your New Year's eve stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is just lovely, spacious room with own en-suite, breakfast is yummy, all areas of hotel are very clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel if visiting Torquay and we will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vem06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We are so pleased you like the big family room. Thank you for your review and please do stay with us again if you are holidaying in Torquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here, the room was spacious, bed extremely comfortable and everything so clean! In a perfect location for everything that we wanted to so also. Paul & Mike are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. I'm so pleased that we chose to stay here, and will certainly be retuning shortly!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sfm1234556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westgate01, Owner at The Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We do hope to see you again at The Westgate soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#13 of 149 in Torquay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westgate

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $64 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westgate is an elegant Victorian villa that retains many original features. Ample free parking on site. With a Visit England assessed 4 Star with silver award guest accommodation, it's superbly located in a leafy conservation area by Torre Abbey in walking distance to the beach, harbour, town centre shopping, railway station and one of the closest to the Riviera Conference & Leisure Centre. There is a bus stop outside. There's a selection of tastefully decorated all en-suite family, double, super king, twin and single rooms together with an elegant guests' lounge, licensed bar and home cooked breakfast with hand - made Torquay sausages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Hotel Torquay
The Westgate Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing