We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value for money”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really good value for money”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Really enjoyable stay couldn't believe some of the reviews we have read it seems some people pay for what is a budget holiday and expect the Dorchester ! We found the hotel real value for money the room was good and the bed comfortable . the night entertainment was brilliant and the staff very friendly. The food was good with a varied choice. The only one minor complaint we had was that the service at mealtimes was quite slow otherwise we would have given 5 stars ! Well done and we would have no hesitation in returning in the future .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hissyfitLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    196
    91
    30
    11
See reviews for
46
305
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I travelled to Torquay with my husband and daughter we had a triple room at the Torpark.
The room was clean and well decorated and the little added touch of the towels made into the shape of swans was nice. The main public rooms were in the need of decoration. The staff in the dinningroom were friendly,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topseyr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

great hotel food great and staff nothing to much trouble a speical thanks to mandy the chamber maid and sharron the waiteress was great well done from a national driver yes a driver

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank paulfleming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.yorks
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Just returned from a five day stay at this hotel and we have a fantastic time. We were on a National Holiday tour and the service we received was excellant. The staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Some of the comments made by other people were very harsh. Alright the hotel might have "tired" deco but it did not affect the level of service. The previous horrible comments made about the bar staff led us to believe they must have been trying to abuse the one glass one drink system. For what we paid for this tour i defy anyone to try to get the same service for the same money anywhere else. Some people want to pay peanuts and get caviar service. The entertainment was good and the free bar was well stocked the bedding and daily fresh towels were alway clean and on a good day were often sculptured into swans (well done Sheila). You can't please everybody all of the time but the staff had a good try. It is conveniently situated on a frequent bus route no12 and if you still pay for your travel may i suggest a £4.50 day explorer which you can buy from the driver which will take you on a circular route from outside the hotel to anywhere between Brixham, Paignton, Torquay and Newton Abbott and on which you can hop on and off all day. My suggestion would be to put a small canopy outside on the back terrace for smokers for if it is raining.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choccoW_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby north yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

just returned from tor park with national holidays the hotel was a bit dated but what do you expect for the money(the ritz).After reading other reviews i was very wary,but we have not had a problem at all ,overall it has been a brill week ,good company,very friendly staff,two inclusive trips out ,free 3hour bar(no queuing)evening entertianment including Fred the lion tamer.Looking forward to travelling with National again,value 4 money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambretta70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

If everyone took any notice of the bad reviews hotels would be emtpy i have read reviews before on a few shearings hotels which were not very good but when staying in the hotels myself could not fault them at all i sugest the moaners and the groaners stay at home i am due to stay at the tor park no worries i have faith

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

wow, returned, yesterday 15th march, after 4 days of value!!!!!!!!! nothing is too much for this dedicated team of people. the staff are superb!!!, they are ALL brilliant , we got 5 star treatment from entering the hotel, to leaving,
We paid nothing virtually for the long weekend, stay
the staff work there (sock's off) to please,
BUT SHEARINGS< WA / NATIONAL HOLIDAYS what ever you want to call them will NOT spend money to make this a truly SUPERB HOTEL DESTINATION

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OWLMEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Property: Bay Tor Park Hotel
Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing