We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, a bit of a walk from centre”
Review of Bay Tor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly. Entertainment was good. Not unusually for Shearing's hotels, the rooms were a little tired, but good value for money and we had no complaints. The evening entertainment was good. A bit of a walk from the centre of Torquay, so not recommended for those not up to a bit of exercise. Only complaint was the temperature of the food. Lovely hot plates, with stone cold food on them. Can recommend nonetheless.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EtoileSanderstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Etoilesanderstead

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel,
Its always pleasing to hear how highly our staff are rated by visiting guests and I shall certainly pass on your comments to them. thank you for raising the issue with your food and I shall certainly investigate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 515 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff were great , lovely waitress in the dining area always chatting , hotel rooms are basic but clean and room service each day , would define fly reccomend hotel for a short break not keen on the resort on the whole but nothing to do with the hotel,

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wollywonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear wollywonker!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Tor Park Hotel. I am surprised that you didn't like Torquay as there are many different facets to this area and I'm sure if I had been asked I would have been able to guide you to something you would have enjoyed. However, I'm really pleased that this didn't spoil your enjoyment of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the bay tor park. Having been to many shearings hotels, this was by far, one of the best.really enjoyed our five days..entertainment excellent, staff do a great job. My only complaint, as with all shearings hotels, the food, while plenty and varied, well it is never hot. The veg is barely warm at all times. As are the cooked breakfasts.. but good service by dining staff.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Jenny Wren

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park hotel. It's really pleasing that you rate our hotel so highly and that you had such a great time in Torquay. I shall take a look into the matter you have raised and really appreciate your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned back home from our first Shearings holiday, which was at the Tor Park Hotel and what great value, would definitely use this company again.
The Hotel Staff are its redeeming feature of your stay, all hard working people who make your stay a great experience.

It would be wrong for us to pick out certain personal staff members for all were working towards giving the best holiday for us from the manager to the room cleaning staff. Just one downside to our room 62 was that the room above had very noisy floor boards which woke us up around 5am, every morning perhaps the people moving above around to the toilet.

As for the entertainment and food its all been said before EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear UKC0uple

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your FIRST stay in a shearings hotel. I am very glad that your holiday experience was good and sincerely hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just been to The Tor Park Hotel in Torquay. Best holiday in a Shearings hotel we have had. We enjoyed it from the moment we walked into the hotel until we left. The staff were so pleasant and obliging. Enjoyed the banter with Fran and Trina. The entertainment was first rate and the food was excellent too. A plus factor was the service buses on either side of the road (we were self drive) so we were able to see surrounding areas. Only thing I would have liked was a bath (our room only had a shower) I don't know if they are all showers. Will certainly go again.
Marilyn and Stuart Johnson

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Marilyn & Stuart
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Tor Park Hotel. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and our staff exceeded your expectations. The local bus service is excellent and the drivers are very friendly and helpful. Approximately 50% of our rooms have baths (with showers over) and if you return it is now possible (for a small charge) to book a particular room by calling our reservations line or direct at the hotel . We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just back from the Tor Park. We love Torquay. Lots to see, coastal walks with lovely views, and the harbour. We were very lucky with the weather too.
Now, the Hotel.Not the best looking place from the outside and the inside is like a maze,- rooms everywhere on lots of levels.Ours (54) was comfortable and spacious. Shame about the old TV though.The bathroom seemed to be quite new , very clean, lots of white towels and plenty of hot water.
Food, as in most Shearings Hotels is predictable. However, there is enough to choose from and plenty of it, plus, all served with panache and a smile by Robert. The staff are very friendly indeed.
The two ladies who run the bar , sisters , Fran and Trina are rays of sunshine. Both assets to the Hotel .
Well done all at Tor Park!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBrownWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear msbrownwarrington

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Tor Park Hotel. I really appreciate your praise for our staff and I shall certainly pass on your compliments to Robert,Trina and Fran.i am glad you liked your room and facilities and I do hope you will return to visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Rather than write reams simply read Molie 61s excellent review it sums up our feelings exactly ref Shearings and Tor Park, for what we paid great value, ideal location, we will come again.
Could it be improved YES-- extend the breakfast to 7:30 to 09:00 each day rather than 0800-to 0900 it was evident the staff could not cope with the mass influx of diners but did their cheerful best and for me a full english is not a full engls without "Mushrooms" but now i am being picky.
Have to say the Multi Instrumentalist was worthy of bigger venues very talented

One last tip the outside of the Hotel looks a bit utility in appearnce DO NOT judge a book by its cover , get in relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Lower Ground floor to rear or side , yes a little dark but quiet but even the front being off road i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aneta E, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear agednicely!

Thank you for writing a review of your.recent stay at our hotel. Our staff do indeed work very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. I will pass on your suggestions with regards to breakfasts as we always aim to improve what we are offering. I do hope you will return to visit the hotel again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.8 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
796 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,314 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.4 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tor Park Hotel

Address: 24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $119 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tor Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Bay Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. There are comfortable lounge areas in which to sit and relax in and the ever-popular sun terrace, which is a perfect place to unwind with a drink on a balmy summer’s eve! Inside, the entertainment suite has a dance floor and bar. The hotel is very popular for all inclusive breaks and prides itself on having many repeat customers year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Tor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Park Torquay
Bay Tor Park Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing