We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!!”
Review of Newton House

Newton House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton House
Ranked #110 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had great experience at this lovely B&B. The rooms were so clean. John (the owner) was very helpful and nice to us as well. I would really recommend this place to people visiting Torquay and we'd definitely come back to this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ligatsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi Mr Ligatsa and Family. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was very short, so we had little time to get to know you all. Next time perhaps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

went to torquay for a few days with family and previously stayed here a good few years back. Service was great, rooms were very clean and organized, breakfast was lovely.

couldn't complain and would defo go back again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimitra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thanks for your nice comments Dimitra. We hope you and your family will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned home after staying here for 1 week. It was a great B & B, the hosts are very friendly, it was extremely clean and had everything we needed and more. The breakfasts were excellent, very filling with a good choice too.
Our room was a good size for the 3 of us and was homely.
Newton House is ideally situated for all amenities and a short drive to other locations if you want to venture further afield.
We would definitely recommend Newton House and we would return here too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi Sarah C,
Thank you for your nice comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your week with us in Newton House. Your time here went very quickly, too quickly for us, enjoying your company but also very busy with sun-seeking guests. You are a lovely family. We hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arriving the friendliness was apparent right from the word go..the room was a lot bigger than i exspected with everything anyone could want ie
A fan an iron plus ironing board even a shoe cleaning kit shampoos body lotions kettle with choice of tea coffee hot chocolate biscuits and even sweets
Breakfasts were beautiful
Best week ever thanks ever so much
Dave and Tylisha

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelsonLancslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks "NelsonLancsLad". We are glad you two had a great time at Newton House B&B, Torquay. The super weather was by "special order". Welcome back again both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped at Newton House for one night as we needed to book a family room, our daughter had decided she would join us.. We were comfortable and found our room to be traditionally furnished and very clean with everything we required. The owner was friendly and helpful, finding a map to give us directions so we could find a restaurant we had booked. Breakfast was good and as my daughter and I do not eat meat, we had egg, beans, hash brown and mushrooms. Everything was nicely cooked with cereal/fruit available. This is one bed and breakfast I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had a family room which was a double bed and bunk beds at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlinroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi "Merlinwroth", thank you for your comments. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay and welcome you back again, anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first stay at Newton House but it won't be my last. The very best B&B I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many over the years. I highly recommend it - if you can get in!!! Big choice of breakfasts - whatever you wish, its there! and Mine hosts are so friendly and helpful

Room Tip: As long as are not asking to be beside the sea, this is the best there is. Its like living in the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daygrow_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi "Daygrow", Thank you for your glowing comments. We enjoyed your stay too. Hope you can come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After ringing around trying to find 2 rooms for the night. We came upon Newton House. The owner was lovely and very accommodating. He allowed us to setup our sons camp bed in a double room, as there were no family rooms available.
Rooms are very clean and have everything you could need, We only stayed the 1 nihgt but breakfast was freshly cooked and there was plenty on offer.
Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewtonHouseTorquay, Owner at Newton House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you Alex B for your kind remarks. We enjoyed having such nice guests. Welcome again any time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 31 Newton Road | Torre, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $62 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guest House with 9 clean luxury en-suite rooms, digital TV, tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits/sweets, large car park, Comfortable Guest Lounge & Dining Room, CCTV Security, walking distance to town & seafront, generous Continental and English breakfast. Totally non-smoking bed and breakfast. Discounts offered to children and long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing