We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babbacombe Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #65 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Babbacombe Guest House”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

First Class Guest House and I must say that it was the best I have ever stayed in. A warm welcome and exceptionally clean throughout. My room was warm, cosy, with everything I needed for my stay including dressing gown, slippers and a wide selection of toiletries, plus coffee, tea, biscuits etc. At breakfast I was greeted with a big smile and the most scrummy breakfast I have had in years. Would recommend this Guest House to any holidaymaker who is in need of the very best quality available in the Babbacombe area.

Room Tip: Small guest house situated in a convenient area close, but not too close to the sea front. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtaylor686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear rtaylor86, what can we say! Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
116
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Babbacombe Guest House is to be highly recommended.
Tony & Pauline offered us a warm welcome on our arrival.
The rooms were spotlessly clean .Breakfast was excellent with so much choice.
Paulines soda bread was the best just like Mother used to make.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Tony & Glennis, we are happy you enjoyed the homemade bread served at breakfast and thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone,Kent United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with friends. The owners Tony & Pauline made it feel like home from home, Room spotlessly clean and tidy,Breakfast more than enough food on the plate. Able to choose what you wanted. Highly recommend this B&B Centrally placed for theatre and places to eat evening meals

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3, ample room for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear George and Jill, thank you for the review. It is very kind and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a very lovely stay with Tony and Pauline for eight wintery days whilst visiting with Karen's grandmother. Both Tony and Pauline went above and beyond expectations as they were a great help with Karen's stolen wallet in Paris with use of phone and fax facilities to report the theft and make the necessary claims whilst there. The breakfasts were outstanding and very filling.
Thanks Tony and Pauline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Karen and Phillip, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we were only more than happy to help you out with the troubles you faced on your trip to Europe. We hope it is not long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed in this lovely Guest House in the middle of September. The owners, Pauline and Tony, gave us nice warm welcome and shown us to our room. We had a twin room which was good size room and always spotless clean.
The breakfast was excellent, a lot to choose from. There was a buffet with selection of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh orange juice, cheese and ham and the best part of it was home made bread. As well as continental breakfast we had a cooked one as well. You can choose anything you like from the menu. It was so tasty and lovely cooked I had to have it every day. It's not surprising they have Breakfast Award.
By and large it was an amazing stay and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Pluco, thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently had a very pleasant short stay at Babbacombe Guest House. We had not booked in advance, but Tony and Pauline made us feel welcome and at ease from the outset. The room we had was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished and equipped with all we needed for a stay away from home. Breakfast comprised of a wide selection, with something available to suit all tastes; we opted for a full English breakfast which was cooked to order and very enjoyable. The guest house has it's own car park, which we found very useful as we were able to leave the car behind and walk to most of the places we wanted to visit. Babbacombe Guest House is only a few minutes easy walk away from Shops, Restaurants, Babbacombe Downs, the brilliant little Theatre, Model Village, Victorian Museum, Cliff Railway etc, so no need to take the car out to visit these attractions. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Joe, thank you for the review. As you mention, we have very handy off-road parking for free which enables you to leave the car behind and see all that Babbacombe has to offer on foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

G.
Our second stay here this year and another relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Pauline and Tony are ideal hosts, providing a top notch standard and an attention to detail that is first rate.You would only expect this quality and selection for breakfast at a top hotel, so it is no surprise that their breakfast award has been achieved this year. Also, I don't think I have ever seen so many things on a tea/coffee tray in a room before anywhere. If you check the location, you will see that this Victorian house is located on a main road. However the rooms are very quiet because no one has messed about with false walls to double the number of rooms. We thought we were the only people staying last time and were amazed to meet 3 other couples at breakfast. The other fact about the location is that although it it not on the coast, you just cross the road and in 2 mins you see the bay and enter the magical 30s world of Babbacombe Downs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GES777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear GES777, thank you for your detailed review, it is very kind of you to take the time to leave such great comments for other guests to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#42 of 149 in Torquay
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#51 of 149 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbacombe Hall
Babbacombe Hall
#70 of 149 in Torquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing