We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hosts, great breakfast and great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbacombe Guest House
Ranked #55 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great hosts, great breakfast and great rooms”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 for 3 nights in the family room. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and cosy. The breakfast was outstanding and enjoyed by everyone in the family - varied choices were available as well.

Great hosts (Tony and Pauline), very friendly, knowledgable about the area and eager to help. The guest house itself felt like a welcoming home.

Very practical location, very close to Babbacombe and Odicombe beach - stunning views only 2 minute walk from the guest house.

We definitely recommend the guest house to anyone - fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jane K, thank you for reviewing your stay in our family room. We are really pleased you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    29
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
113
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved the friendly welcome, great service and superb breakfasts. Our room and en suite had everything we required. The bed was particularly comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The car parking was off the street. It was a little tight but adequate. We will definitely return to this first class B&B.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IMAK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear IMAK1000, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a lovely welcome you get. It is like being at home. The rooms are spotless and nothing is too much troubled. The breakfast is out of this world, cooked to order and so tasty. I hope that my mother is in good health next year, so we can return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa50Beeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lisa50Beeks, it was a pleasure to have you with us as a returning guest this year. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you liked our new breakfast menu, and because of this we were awarded with a Breakfast Award in addition to the Silver Award by Visit England. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We holidayed in July 2013. Accommodation perfect , food first class. Will definitely go back again
Tony and Pauline were very friendly.We had been to this guest house before when it was under different owners. The difference now was amazing, clean and more spacious.We had the downstairs double room. could not find fault.

Room Tip: not neccessary all rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivancfoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ivancfoates, we were really pleased to hear that you like the changes we have made to the property since your previous visit under different owners. That kind of feedback makes our hard work worth while. We also received the Visit England Silver Award and Breakfast Award last week. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A very clean and comfortable guest house, with quality toiletries and personal touches in room. A first class breakfast too.
I had a single attic room which was hot in a heatwave, so the owner offered me a double room if it was too hot for me!
The room cooled down so I did not take up the offer. Nice gesture though.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear RobertD, Thank you for your review and to take the time to tell others about our hospitality. We hope you will visit us again. We were recently awared the Visit England Silver Award and Breakfast Award.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from the 12th July to 16th July. What a lovely place. Tony and Pauline are very welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are in tip top condition, you can see the amount of hard work that has gone into them. Comfortable beds, extremely clean and modern. Everything in place that should be. Such a delight. The breakfasts are fantastic. Well done Pauline !!!! I loved the homemade bread which I had every morning. Tony is attentive to the guests at breakfast.
Tony and Pauline know the local area so if you want a nice place for evening meal they will direct you to the right place like they did for us, we had a fantastic Italian meal. Even through the guest house is a non smoking. We were accommodated in the pleasant patio garden and we thank them for that. We have already recommended this little gem of a place to our friends. The car parking available made it easy for us and there is a bus stop just outside which is only a 10 minute ride to the seafront shops and resturants so we left the car majority of our stay.
We adore Torquay and staying at this bed and breakfast just added to the fantastic time my husband and I had this summer. We hopefully going to return next year with my mother ..So once again a big Thanks to Tony and Pauline. We would rate this guest house 10 out 10

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same standard and all rooms have bathroom facilities and have tea and coffee m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulabelle37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear lulabelle37, Thank you for such a detailed and positive review. What can we say when you have said it all? We were recently awadred the Visit England Silver Award and Breakfast Award and your comments are testament to that. We hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After trawling the web for somewhere to stay we came across this little place. Tony and Pauline should be extremely proud of the Babbacombe Guesthouse. The whole place is immaculate, breakfast was fab and Tony and Pauline extremely welcoming. We will definitely return in the future. I would absolutely recommend this lovely place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEA1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Babbacombe Guest House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear LEA1961, we really appreciate it when guests take the time to leave us a review and this is no exception. Thank you for telling us, and others that we are doing things right. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#50 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#45 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#71 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Guest House

Property: Babbacombe Guest House
Address: 53 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England 4* SILVER AWARD with BREAKFAST AWARD Guest House ideally situated on the picturesque boundary of Babbacombe and St Marychurch. The spectacular views from Babbacombe Downs are just 300 yards away, St Marychurch's popular shopping precinct is just a 5 minutes walk away, and the main town centre of Torquay is just a few minutes drive away. Free off road parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Babbacombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing